See other Washington DC properties

Capitol City Hostel

2411 Benning Road NE, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.4km

Rating: 79% from 28 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 68%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We liked it! Bill is a good Guy.
  • 91%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • I loved staying at Bill's place, he is friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is good. The beds are big and a bit old but ok. One of the bathrooms could use some cleaning. Bus stops nearby. Good value for money.
  • 83%
  • 08 May 2014 Loes Netherlands
  • Had a good stay at the Capitol City. Initially the area seemed far out but connections to all the sights are made easily and quickly with a single bus. Walking distance to H-Street District and a quick bus ride to the Capitol Mall. Value for money, clean beds, clean bathrooms though would like to have seen a better equipped, working kitchen in the house.
  • 74%
  • 03 May 2014 Kieran Australia
  • Very easy to reach (Astoria Blv. subway stop and bus M60), really deluxe for a hostel, rooms with 4 bunk beds and bathroom ensuite, excellent value for money.
  • 94%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Great value in DC. It's near to anywhere by X2 or subway.
  • 77%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • Really nice staff, but very far from the City Center.
  • 60%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Bill was a very nice host who made us feel welcome from the get go. However there were a lack of toilet facilities and the kitchen is rather small. But other than that a great and cheap place to stay in DC. It is very easy to get into centrum, just one bus.
  • 71%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Signe Kristine Denmark
  • Pretty good little place. I felt safe and welcome, and Bill (the owner) was very accomodating of my needs and requests. I would recommend this place.
  • 77%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Roland USA
  • The landlord is pretty nice! You would want to try this hostel.
  • 80%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • Accommodations were very inexpensive, however, there was no locker so you could safeguard valuables. Also, the washrooms were not clean and there was visible mold in areas like the mirror (probably due to the lack of exhaust fan in the washroom).
  • 60%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »