See other Tokyo properties

Capsule Hotel Asakusa River Side

2-20-4-B Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.8km

Rating: 72% from 11 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Just awful, please don't waste your time and money here. Everything is broken and dirty and old. Mattresses are so thin that they're hard. There are no power plugs or wifi in the capsules, you need to go to the common room to receive wifi where they literally have one power strip. Lockers cost 400Y for every 12 hours. The cleaner kicks you out of your bed to make it at 10AM even if you're staying multiple nights. No private showers. Women's bathroom does not have a view like the mens. Terrible.
  • 34%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Rebecca Canada
  • This was my first capsule hotel so I wasn't sure what to expect. The location is very convenient since it is steps away from the Asakusa subway stop and right across the river from Skytree. The facilities were ok for the price although you have to pay to use the lockers and that can get expensive. The capsules are very clean and relatively quiet. However, the showers are communal so there is very little privacy. Overall, this is a decent budget hotel.
  • 80%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, very comfy accomodations, nice spa/shower area, very clean & safe feeling; you just can't beat the price. There was good A/C as well which was very appreciated in the summer heat. The staff speak very little english but it's easy to get your point across. The location is somewhat deceiving tho as the front entrance to the hostel is actually a hotel called Hotel Gyornsan or something like that, but both entrances meet the same reception. Definitely recommend! Cheers from Canada!
  • 94%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Graham Canada
  • FOR THE EXPERIENCE! You get a locker to for small-size valuables and your coats. Other than that, there's only a curtain to cover the door in front of you. The location is half good half not so good if you plan to travel by JR only. There's a subway station 5 minutes away though. The shower is what may concern some as it is the public shower room with a big tub. The washrooms are totally new and clean though. Not the best deals you can get in the area as Khoasan has better prices and facilities.
  • 69%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Smells like cigarette smoke, honestly i think its chinese owned.
  • 60%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great view from the spa space. Especially at night. Close proximity to Tokyo tower and Senso-ji. Overall impression is just okay. But still the great view, which despite the not so good atmosphere at the place, makes it a nice place to stay for a night. The staff's english is limited but enough to handle the basic questions.
  • 66%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Its everything you would expect for a capsule hotel. However the sauna and onsen on the 9th floor for men is a major plus. Want simple and a resonably priced capsule hotel? Check this place out
  • 69%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • OK. It's a Capsule, if you go to Japan, you should get the experience. Very cheap, good location, staff very helpful. You can enjoy the water area, with sauna and hot water. For me perfect. Asakusa is one of the more interesting areas of Tokyo. Remember, you can't stay in the Capsule during a few hours (more less 11.00 am to 16.00-17.00 pm)
  • 94%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I am a 25 year old Canadian, I stayed in this place for 5 nights. What I can say is that its in a great location is Asakusa, very close to the rail station. The staff speak English, it's not perfect English but come on people this is Asia. The staff are very helpful as well. All of the whiners who wrote reviews complaining about the shower situation, thin mattress, and cleanliness are clearly just spoiled travellers who expect the Hilton when you are paying 25$ a night. Great Place!
  • 91%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Mike Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »