See other New York properties

Carlton Arms Hotel

160 E. 25th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 81% from 12 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hotel is not for everyone, but if it's your kind of place you'll love it. Con: No elevator, no TV, rooms are 1 to 4 flights above the street. All rooms have a sink; toilet and showers are shared. The sink in my room had no lighting, which made shaving an adventure. Pro: The paintings covering the walls of each room and the hallways are striking, one-of-a-kind works unlike any other hotel. The rooms and shared baths are clean. Location and price couldn't be better. I'll definitely go back!
  • 89%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It has a great location, the staff was quite welcome. Although the lack of breakfast was a little inconvenient but the art on the rooms compensated everything
  • 97%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Juan USA
  • It was very cold in the room, while the windows where closed.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Ovanes Georgia
  • I'm very happy with the ho(s)tel! They let me check in very early morning, and check out late afternoon (hotel was not full, but it still showed flexibility!). Private room was inexpensive, had a window and all I needed. Breakfast was not included.
  • 89%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Lars Finland
  • The painted walls are quite unique and very beautiful. Very friendly staff, great location. Did not have any safe or lockers (but did have an extra lock for the door after request, as the normal lock at the door does not seem very robust).
  • 89%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Maria Austria
  • The Carlton Arms is more than a hotel. It's a trip in itself. If you have an artistic side, enjoy good company and love cats (there are two of them wondering around the premises) this is the place for you. The atmosphere is relaxed, the staff cool, and the guests usually include unique characters. The rooms are painted from roof to ceiling by talented artists, and don't be surprised if some friday evening you find the place converted into an Art Gallery, with free wine and live music. A beauty.
  • 89%
  • 26 Jan 2015 Alberto Jose Argentina
  • Loved the cool artsy vibe and the location--close to shops, restaurants, and the subway. My only complaint was the difficulty in getting hot water--it was there, but sometimes took a while.
  • 97%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Erin Canada
  • I have to end my vacation, because my father died. Because that i couldn´t stay in this hostel. But even i booked the hostel, i didn´t have to pay the cost. That was really customer-friendly.
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2014 David Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »