See other New York properties

Carlton Arms Hotel

160 E. 25th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 80% from 12 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Convenient location Nice staff, Expensive for a small 2 bedroom room, with shared bathroom. However, everything in NY is out of control... The room was noisy, because of outside noises. Coffee and tea available. 2 resident cats, quite nice if you like cats (which we do), one adopted us for the duration of our stay. Interesting surroundings, artists decorated, gives it a hostel feel instead of a boring hotel look.
  • 69%
  • 01 Dec 2016 Anne USA
  • This hotel trashed talked going through a third party, it I was Hostel.com I would take them of the list. After seeing this place I am worried about other places I booked on Hostel.com. This place is not safe, not clean, not friendly, it is not cheaper then staying at a nice hotel in the city. I actually found a hotel that was clean, friendly and safe for 20.00 less a night. Go to a museum to see great art and have an experience find a nice hotel that is clean and safe don't waste money here
  • 26%
  • 29 Oct 2016 Crystal USA
  • This is the second time I've stayed at the Carlton Arms, and I will go back. The atmosphere is like nothing else in NYC. Although the place looks funky, the beds are great, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, and the staff are very pleasant to deal with. Very convenient location -- you can walk to Times Square or to the Village, and the bagel shop across the street has good breakfasts.
  • 91%
  • 06 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Very very nice & friendly staff ! :) Very clean, great atmosphere, loved it.
  • 89%
  • 05 Oct 2016 Greta Germany
  • Great artistic feel! Location is great- close to a park, and a subway station. Shared bathroom on our floor was a bit run-down, but certainly functional. The owner(s) does have cats, maybe 2 or 3, and they wonder the hallways. If you are extremely allergic to cats, you may need to look for another location. Besides that, I would recommend!
  • 89%
  • 15 Aug 2016 Robert USA
  • If you need a bed (firm mattress) for the night; an unbelievably quiet setting (at least in the back); small wooden chairs, no cushions, and one or two small tables, used though sturdy; a bathroom down the hallway, always clean, and always empty when I needed it; a window A/C that's tightly fitted and preset for turning off and on and that kept me cool enough in the night during a heat wave, and a fair sized mirror hanging on the wall, and friendly onsite staff, it's all here.
  • 91%
  • 20 Jul 2016 Jeffrey USA
  • This place was simply beautiful. The art everywhere was so inviting and fun, and the two cats were really cute :) One thing that did suck was not having a bathroom in the actual room we stayed in, but we did have a sink which helped tremendously with the morning routine.
  • 91%
  • 22 Apr 2016 Jessica USA
  • Prisvärt hotell med mycket trevlig personal. Ett hotell med kul atmosfär! Vi bodde i ett rum med regnbågens alla färger :-) ligger vid en skola och ett bibliotek, så man slipper mycket av stadens alla ljud under natten! Många bra indiska restauranger i närheten dessutom!
  • 69%
  • 14 Apr 2016 Andreas Sweden
  • The location and vibe of Carlton Arms was perfect. I have accepted trips to New York as part of my life, and will return to Carlton Arms as long as they stay open.
  • 100%
  • 05 Mar 2016 Erin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »