See other New York properties

Carlton Arms Hotel

160 E. 25th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 85% from 13 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Carlton Arms is more than a hotel. It's a trip in itself. If you have an artistic side, enjoy good company and love cats (there are two of them wondering around the premises) this is the place for you. The atmosphere is relaxed, the staff cool, and the guests usually include unique characters. The rooms are painted from roof to ceiling by talented artists, and don't be surprised if some friday evening you find the place converted into an Art Gallery, with free wine and live music. A beauty.
  • 89%
  • 26 Jan 2015 Alberto Jose Argentina
  • Loved the cool artsy vibe and the location--close to shops, restaurants, and the subway. My only complaint was the difficulty in getting hot water--it was there, but sometimes took a while.
  • 97%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Erin Canada
  • I have to end my vacation, because my father died. Because that i couldn´t stay in this hostel. But even i booked the hostel, i didn´t have to pay the cost. That was really customer-friendly.
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2014 David Germany
  • Would stay again. Very hipster kinda space 20 minutes walking to Times Square. There's a Chinese restaurant downstairs and a diner with the best bagels on the block. And there are two adorable cats that walk around.
  • 89%
  • 24 Sep 2014 Devon USA
  • Very good situated. Nice staff. Not very clean and very noisy area if you get a corner room.
  • 60%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Camilla Denmark
  • Stayed for multiple nights. Overall this was one of the best experiences I've had in hostels. One negative thing though, which could be a problem to some. The bed was quite terrible. I could actually feel the springs. Very noisy too. I got used to it quickly because I generally sleep well anywhere. But I realize this may be a problem, if you need a perfect bed to fall asleep... Putting a couple of extra blankets under the sheets (available at the office) made a big difference. Otherwise, GREAT!
  • 86%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Elias Finland
  • Had a great stay at your hotel. It had such personality, beds were comfortable. and it was so worth the shared bathrooms just to stay in a building with such spectacular creativity! Thank you!
  • 91%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Ashley Canada
  • The location is in an area I never visited so it was new to me. I found a great place nearby for dinner and I loved it. The cats were a nice touch. All in all it was great, out of my normal "stomping grounds" but really very nice area and experience.
  • 91%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff was helpful and let us stay a little over the usual check out time. Each room had a different theme and the paintings on the walls were very cool. But they all had carpet, which regardless of how much you clean always leave that carpet smell in the air. We had some choices of rooms, but the ones that didn't face a very busy street, faced some sort of venting system from another building which made all of them a little noisy inside. Another downside was: only one shower per floor.
  • 83%
  • 12 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »