See other Budapest properties

Carpe Noctem Vitae

Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 92% from 13 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a most incredible time at this hostel. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, and it really made my stay. The hostel also offers great evening activities so make sure you get involved!
  • 91%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Amazing is the first word that comes to mind. Every time I visit these hostels get better and better and harder and harder to leave. The staff knows everything there is to know about Budapest and they'll cook you dinner every night for cheap so you don't have to dine alone. Also, they take you out to bars and ensure you have a good time. This place is truly a single travelers dream place to stay. Doesn't hurt that it's located right on the main tram line in between the two railway stations.
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This place is awesome. I compared all my other hostels to the standards at this one and they are were found lacking. Its run by mostly Australians, they party every night, but If you feel like sleeping the dorms are quite. Just awesome experience.
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Chris USA
  • This is the perfect place to stay if you're a solo traveler. The staff is welcoming and they have parties every night starting at 8:30, which make it really easy to meet other people. It's also fairly quiet and calm at nighttime, so it's easy to fall asleep at night. However, the activities do kind of encourage binge drinking at student bars, so if you're not into that, expect to find a different thing to do in the evenings.
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Easily one of the coolest and best hostel experiences I've had. The staff is really interested in you having a good time and enjoying Budapest and they're all travellers too so they know their stuff. There's a lower level if you want to get some sleep but the upstairs is a super friendly place. Great parties every night! The facilities were really good too, full kitchen with everything you might need and the bathrooms, as well as every common space, were kept totally spotless. GREAT PLACE!
  • 100%
  • 27 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • I got a cough from the nasty ass bed. However, that place is ridiculous and will be back. Instant friends, instant scene's, amazing social environment.
  • 94%
  • 03 Sep 2013 Grant USA
  • actually if u r party animal,then is super for u coz they hv party almost every nite.price is bit high even not far from attractions.area is kinda bit dirty.sometimes is hard to ask something due to reception closed for staffs organisin stuffs.locker is narrow.
  • 54%
  • 06 Aug 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Good hostel in Budapest, with an ideal location to see the sights. The setup of the hostel is good, as you can party hard at night but relax during the day. The vibe of the hostel is hit and miss. Sometimes it feels like you are staying at someone's place, rather than at a hostel you have paid for. The staff (and their 'click') at times take over the common room areas, making it hard for others to relax in places other than their rooms!
  • 74%
  • 12 Jul 2013 Ben Australia
  • If C3 has started wearing his one direction shirt, maybe he should be called 1D
  • 100%
  • 09 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This is perhaps one of the best hostels I have stayed at. It's easy going, welcoming, couch filled environment ,and cordial staff make for what you know just will end up being a great time. The Staff work hard to organize great times, low cost dinner, and make your stay as fun as possible. They are informed, helpful and a delight. The Carpe has left me with nothing short of great memories and many new friends. I'm 100% satisfied with this safe, clean, and friendly hostel.
  • 100%
  • 07 Jun 2013 Doug Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »