See other Budapest properties

Carpe Noctem Vitae

Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 93% from 13 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Bloody brilliant hostel. Staff were really friendly and the organised events in the evening were always great fun and a brilliant way to meet the other guests at the hostel. 10/10. The shower I used was always freezing, but my friends tell me the ones they used were fine so who knows.
  • 97%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • What could I ever say that could possibly correctly capture how absolutely amazing this place is. I came for a 3 night stay and I extended my stay TWICE! This hostel is the best one I've ever stayed at in my life. It's located on the main road in Budapest and the facilities are a real plus. But more than anything it was the staff that made me fall in love with Vitae. Every night they take the whole hostel out and really make you feel like part of something great. I can't wait to come back soon!
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I booked a single room. it is clean and cozy. it feels safe, too. Even i did not attend any of the events hold by this hostel, it is still a good place to live. All young people.
  • 89%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous China
  • I stayed with my girlfriend in a private room for 8 days. Had a total blast. The only thing that was less than perfect was that this hostel is in a residential building and as such you have to be really quiet after 10, so even though it's a "party hostel" you have to go elsewhere to party. That's fine though, every night there's awesome stuff to go out and do. Staff is super cool, and they'll love you forever if you make them breakfast :)
  • 97%
  • 17 Jun 2014 David USA
  • Best hostel experience i've ever had! The staff makes you feel like a part of the family from the moment you walk in, theres endless activities that you can do through the hostel (caving, beer bike, sparty, etc.), such a fun atmosphere, everything about it was perfect! I don't think I met one person while I was there who wasn't extending their stay, because its so fun you basically have to. If you're looking for an awesome place to party and awesome people to party with, this is your place! :)
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I had a most incredible time at this hostel. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, and it really made my stay. The hostel also offers great evening activities so make sure you get involved!
  • 91%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Amazing is the first word that comes to mind. Every time I visit these hostels get better and better and harder and harder to leave. The staff knows everything there is to know about Budapest and they'll cook you dinner every night for cheap so you don't have to dine alone. Also, they take you out to bars and ensure you have a good time. This place is truly a single travelers dream place to stay. Doesn't hurt that it's located right on the main tram line in between the two railway stations.
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This place is awesome. I compared all my other hostels to the standards at this one and they are were found lacking. Its run by mostly Australians, they party every night, but If you feel like sleeping the dorms are quite. Just awesome experience.
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Chris USA
  • This is the perfect place to stay if you're a solo traveler. The staff is welcoming and they have parties every night starting at 8:30, which make it really easy to meet other people. It's also fairly quiet and calm at nighttime, so it's easy to fall asleep at night. However, the activities do kind of encourage binge drinking at student bars, so if you're not into that, expect to find a different thing to do in the evenings.
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Easily one of the coolest and best hostel experiences I've had. The staff is really interested in you having a good time and enjoying Budapest and they're all travellers too so they know their stuff. There's a lower level if you want to get some sleep but the upstairs is a super friendly place. Great parties every night! The facilities were really good too, full kitchen with everything you might need and the bathrooms, as well as every common space, were kept totally spotless. GREAT PLACE!
  • 100%
  • 27 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »