See other Budapest properties

Carpe Noctem Vitae

Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 90% from 10 reviews

  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 98%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is amazing, I had the time of my life staying here. If you're Canadian you will meet lots of fellow countrymen, namely my boy Cosmo who is a God amongst men. The staff is great at getting everyone to interact with each other and they are more then willing to set up cool activities for you to do. I'll definitely be returning to this hostel. Cosmo, I'll see you and the rest of the staff when I return! Matt
  • 100%
  • 29 May 2015 Matthew Canada
  • A party hostel, with crazy events every night, but one you'll be able to get a good sleep at (it's in a residential building, so there are quiet hours starting around 10pm). The staff are hilarious and helpful. Location is great, right in the heart of Pest, though it is a pain having to climb 4 flights of stairs to get to the hostel (there is a lift, but it seems to break every other day). Kitchen was clean and well stocked, bathrooms could be cleaner. Overall, though, we loved it!
  • 83%
  • 25 May 2015 Vanessa Canada
  • Great staff amazing people. A lot of fun
  • 100%
  • 21 Apr 2015 Matthew
  • I wish someday I visit this hostel again with my friends. I would like to recommend this place to them :)
  • 89%
  • 19 Apr 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great staff, super friendly and helpful! Location is great, you can walk everywhere, The facilities are perfect, and even though it is in the center of the city, there is no noise in the hostel and you can rest very well. Bathrooms were ok. The key system is super useful and efficient!!!! I will definitely recommend my friends to stay here!
  • 97%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Ana Regina Spain
  • Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Immediately after walking in, the staff seem to take you in as part of some strange family. the rooms are clean and nice, the facilities are great and it's located in the best possible spot Be prepared for a lot of fun if you choose to stay at this magnificent hostel. Love Tom
  • 94%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Thomas
  • +: The overall vibe of the hostel is great. The guests and staff are all welcoming and friendly, and its extremely easy to meet people especially at the night events. -: Cleanliness was lacking. particularly in the bathrooms and fridge. Even properly labelled food gets stolen. A lot of the guests and staff were sick, and it seems like sickness is a regular occurrence there. Partying was focused more on getting drunk and hooking up, and less on having fun and experiencing the city's nightlife
  • 63%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I had been recommended this hostel by a friend who said that if I went to Budapest and didn't stay at Carpe Noctem Vitae, he would not speak to me again! And I'm so glad I followed his advise - the staff were so lovely and helpfull and would always made you feel at home. And the actual hostel in itself is really cool with lots of common areas full of travellers who are always up for a chat! The events organised were also AWESOME: boat party, ruin bar crawl, sparty, open-mic night etc. BRILLIANT!
  • 91%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Carpe Noctum Vitae was the reason why my stay in Budapest was the BEST part of my trip so far. Not only did I fall in love with the city (thanks to the amazing recommendations of where to go and what to see/eat from the staff), but the people staying there made my trip too. Although I was travelling alone, not once did I ever feel lonely. Special shout out to Emily, Cyclops, Pup and Danika for being my BFFLs- I seriously love you guys. Thanks for the memories (or lack thereof). I'll be back!!
  • 91%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Febe Australia
  • Bloody brilliant hostel. Staff were really friendly and the organised events in the evening were always great fun and a brilliant way to meet the other guests at the hostel. 10/10. The shower I used was always freezing, but my friends tell me the ones they used were fine so who knows.
  • 97%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »