See other Budapest properties

Carpe Noctem Vitae

Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 89% from 12 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Immediately after walking in, the staff seem to take you in as part of some strange family. the rooms are clean and nice, the facilities are great and it's located in the best possible spot Be prepared for a lot of fun if you choose to stay at this magnificent hostel. Love Tom
  • 94%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Thomas
  • +: The overall vibe of the hostel is great. The guests and staff are all welcoming and friendly, and its extremely easy to meet people especially at the night events. -: Cleanliness was lacking. particularly in the bathrooms and fridge. Even properly labelled food gets stolen. A lot of the guests and staff were sick, and it seems like sickness is a regular occurrence there. Partying was focused more on getting drunk and hooking up, and less on having fun and experiencing the city's nightlife
  • 63%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I had been recommended this hostel by a friend who said that if I went to Budapest and didn't stay at Carpe Noctem Vitae, he would not speak to me again! And I'm so glad I followed his advise - the staff were so lovely and helpfull and would always made you feel at home. And the actual hostel in itself is really cool with lots of common areas full of travellers who are always up for a chat! The events organised were also AWESOME: boat party, ruin bar crawl, sparty, open-mic night etc. BRILLIANT!
  • 91%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Carpe Noctum Vitae was the reason why my stay in Budapest was the BEST part of my trip so far. Not only did I fall in love with the city (thanks to the amazing recommendations of where to go and what to see/eat from the staff), but the people staying there made my trip too. Although I was travelling alone, not once did I ever feel lonely. Special shout out to Emily, Cyclops, Pup and Danika for being my BFFLs- I seriously love you guys. Thanks for the memories (or lack thereof). I'll be back!!
  • 91%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Febe Australia
  • Bloody brilliant hostel. Staff were really friendly and the organised events in the evening were always great fun and a brilliant way to meet the other guests at the hostel. 10/10. The shower I used was always freezing, but my friends tell me the ones they used were fine so who knows.
  • 97%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • What could I ever say that could possibly correctly capture how absolutely amazing this place is. I came for a 3 night stay and I extended my stay TWICE! This hostel is the best one I've ever stayed at in my life. It's located on the main road in Budapest and the facilities are a real plus. But more than anything it was the staff that made me fall in love with Vitae. Every night they take the whole hostel out and really make you feel like part of something great. I can't wait to come back soon!
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I booked a single room. it is clean and cozy. it feels safe, too. Even i did not attend any of the events hold by this hostel, it is still a good place to live. All young people.
  • 89%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous China
  • I stayed with my girlfriend in a private room for 8 days. Had a total blast. The only thing that was less than perfect was that this hostel is in a residential building and as such you have to be really quiet after 10, so even though it's a "party hostel" you have to go elsewhere to party. That's fine though, every night there's awesome stuff to go out and do. Staff is super cool, and they'll love you forever if you make them breakfast :)
  • 97%
  • 17 Jun 2014 David USA
  • Best hostel experience i've ever had! The staff makes you feel like a part of the family from the moment you walk in, theres endless activities that you can do through the hostel (caving, beer bike, sparty, etc.), such a fun atmosphere, everything about it was perfect! I don't think I met one person while I was there who wasn't extending their stay, because its so fun you basically have to. If you're looking for an awesome place to party and awesome people to party with, this is your place! :)
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I had a most incredible time at this hostel. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, and it really made my stay. The hostel also offers great evening activities so make sure you get involved!
  • 91%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

15 fantastic Irish bars you can party in on St. Patrick's Day

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »