See other Stockholm properties

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Kindstugatan 1, Old Town, Stockholm, Sweden, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 88% from 22 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very friendly and welcoming girl in the reception. Stop charging for the linnen though, considering the already high price (for a hostel), charging for linnen just seems greedy. Other than that; we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this hostel to others.
  • 77%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Thomas Sweden
  • Very high standard hostel. Loved everything: the location, the room, useful tips on the board in the common room, kitchen equipment. There are also some nice places to eat nearby. The only downside of the hostel is thin walls — it could get a bit noisy at night if neighbours were being loud.
  • 100%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • The location is awesome approx. 200 meters of the royal palace in the centre of the city.
  • 83%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Carlos Mexico
  • I like here sooooo much!! It is quite near to the royal palace of Sweden and have cafés and restuarants nearby. Located in old town you can enjoy the special peaceful atmosphere there in Stockholm. The room is really lovely and clean, at least my single private is. The shared bathroom and toilet is also tidy and clean. Highly recommended!!
  • 100%
  • 13 Oct 2013 ZHONGZHE China
  • The staff was very friendly! When I return to Stockholm, I will definitely stay here again.
  • 97%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Hannah USA
  • Castanea Old Town Hostel has very good location, nice rooms and good service. You can buy breakfast at a reduced price in a nice café next to the hostel. Visiting our friends in Stockholm it turned out that this café was their favourite coffee place in Stockholm. People who worked in a hostel were friendly and smiling and helpful. I will recommend the hostel to my friends and use it again the next time I will be in Stockholm.
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Kroot Estonia
  • perfect location, I'm sure you can't find a better one. If I visit Stockholm once again, I would probably stay there again. but be sure to take your linen and towel with you, because they care about money and rent everything; that's the only bad side of the hostel.
  • 91%
  • 17 Aug 2013 Anonymous Turkey
  • Thank you very much for the nice time I had at your hostel! I really liked the atmosphere and your kitchen system with the leftovers. A very good idea!!
  • 97%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Inga Germany
  • Where is the staff? I had to quit one trip I was doing in the middle of it, just because reception works with limited time. If I had not left my trip, I would not find any staff member in a three days stay! Location is pretty good. Not a party hostel.
  • 71%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great staff! Very clean and nice hostel. Because of the 'come and going' rain, I'll suggest the owner to put some strings or wires on the windowsill in the room.
  • 89%
  • 11 Aug 2013 Oran Israel
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »