See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 91% from 71 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Castle Rock Hostel is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Wonderful staff, clean, and great location! A+
  • 100%
  • 09 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The atmosphere, the location, the facilities- all FANTASTIC and so worth it. I made so many more friends than I expected (partly thanks to the huge Christmas feast they planned for all the travelers staying for the holidays). My favorite part was the laundry services - it's only 3 pounds 50 and they wash, fold, and deliver your clothing to you by the end of the day?? That's a better deal than my apartment building at home. Thanks Castle Rock!!
  • 91%
  • 20 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was a really lovely place with great decorations and a funny atmosphere. The facilities were okay, I guess but that's okay because the prices are great and the location is really excellent. We're just in front of the castle and within walking distance of the main attraction of the city so I highly recommend the place. The staff is nice and really helpful.
  • 77%
  • 02 Dec 2015 Lisa France
  • Friendly staff -nice breakfast -ecelent location
  • 86%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Tasawar Pakistan
  • Very good hostel!
  • 100%
  • 05 Nov 2015 Taisa Brazil
  • Was only here 1 night, honestly really didn't sleep. We got there about 3pm, checked in, dropped off our things and went out to see the city. We came back after dinner to hang out for a bit. They have a huge social room, a kitchen, and a quiet room. Definitely a variety of places to hang out. We played some pool then went out on the town. When we came back, she went to sleep in the room and I sort of hung out til we had to leave for our flight.
  • 94%
  • 01 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Best hostel I've ever stayed! Totally reccomend! I stayed just one night, and it was awesome. Very huge rooms, with plenty of space for everyone, nice bathrooms, looots of comum areas in the hostel (huge kitchen, movie room, get together room, chill room, piano room). And the best: Very good price, and the best location in the city.
  • 100%
  • 27 Oct 2015 André Luís Brazil
  • Good location, not in the heart of the Royal Mile but close enough. Very comfortable lounges - pretty cool to chill and meet other people. Room was small but OK, with a very nice view of the city, but it smelled bad - I don't know if it was just unlucky of my part, but the fact is that it is a little bit annoying after 2 days.
  • 86%
  • 25 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • When I was in my bed I was bitten, so maybe it would be better if the mattresses were checked out.
  • 80%
  • 19 Oct 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • Close to everything- clean and hot drinks for free- Nice and helpful stuffs members- hot water in the showers… Very nice hostel!
  • 97%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Anonymous Costa Rica
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »