See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 88% from 41 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed in Castle Rock for 3 nights, and I honestly wish I had stayed longer. The location is prime, and the staff was wonderfully friendly and very helpful. The place itself is enormous, and they are able to provide a lot of space for their guests. They have multiple lounges and common rooms to hang out in, and great wifi. Clean bathrooms, clean dorms, & 2 big kitchens with plenty of space. (All I say is: fix the record player please!) I will definitely always stay here when in Edinburgh
  • 94%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Maria USA
  • We had bed bugs luckily none came home with us but woke up with bites working for insurance in the U.S for Hotels we pay out huge amounts and bed bugs can break a whole an entire hotel I suggest you throw away and buy all new beds for the virgin room before you come away with more problems or lawsuits.
  • 69%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Nathan USA
  • This is one of the best hostels I've stayed at throughout my extensive travels in Europe. The location is perfect- right near Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile- and the staff couldn't be friendlier and more helpful. My room was clean, the facilities are nice, and the breakfast was an excellent value and very tasty too. There are multiple social rooms for hanging out or just using your computer. I'll definitely book this hostel the next time I'm back in Edinburgh.
  • 100%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Matthew USA
  • The whole place just felt very dirty. Stereotypical hostel where everything is gross. I wouldn't recommend this hostel unless you are just looking for a place to stay for maybe one night close to the center. Beside the place being disgusting the people (which I know is something the hostel doesn't control) were extremely rude. In one of the lounges there was a girl sitting on a couch clipping her toenails.
  • 63%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Tiarra USA
  • One of the best hostels I have stayed in great location just a stone throw from the castle . It also very close to all the nite life the staff where very friendly and helpful and the layout of the hostel was great plenty of rooms to lay about and chill out will be staying here next time back in Edinburgh.
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Damien Ireland
  • One off the best hostels I have stayed in great facilities the location was really excellent a stone throw from the castle. The staff where very friendly and helpful so would recommend this hostel to friends and will stay here again on my next visit back
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Damien Ireland
  • Best hostel we've stayed at yet. Best location, best facilties.
  • 100%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Philip USA
  • A nice choice for Edinburgh. A little more expensive than the others, but I stayed here for the fireplace and easy access to Bow St area. It's incredibly run down and dirty, but several of the people staying there were not exactly treating the place respectfully, either (dirty shoes on the couch, leaving dirty dishes everywhere). Kitchen/lounge areas need a better scrubbing everyday, and the bathrooms were pretty grimey, too. DON'T forget your shower shoes! I still prefer High Street Hostel.
  • 69%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • great location, right in the center of the city and about three feet from the royal mile, walking distance from everything. very helpful, friendly staff!
  • 94%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I've been to a lot of hostels and this is on the Top 3! Staff is so nice and helpfull, Beds are so comfy (even if it doesn't seem like it when you see them), slept really well! The best part is all the common areas! It's like being in a castle and discovering the rooms. The location is perfect. The breakfast (1.5£) is a good deal. Just loved it and would recommend it to anyone!
  • 100%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »