See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 88% from 51 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the best hostels I have stayed in great location just a stone throw from the castle . It also very close to all the nite life the staff where very friendly and helpful and the layout of the hostel was great plenty of rooms to lay about and chill out will be staying here next time back in Edinburgh.
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Damien Ireland
  • One off the best hostels I have stayed in great facilities the location was really excellent a stone throw from the castle. The staff where very friendly and helpful so would recommend this hostel to friends and will stay here again on my next visit back
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Damien Ireland
  • Best hostel we've stayed at yet. Best location, best facilties.
  • 100%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Philip USA
  • A nice choice for Edinburgh. A little more expensive than the others, but I stayed here for the fireplace and easy access to Bow St area. It's incredibly run down and dirty, but several of the people staying there were not exactly treating the place respectfully, either (dirty shoes on the couch, leaving dirty dishes everywhere). Kitchen/lounge areas need a better scrubbing everyday, and the bathrooms were pretty grimey, too. DON'T forget your shower shoes! I still prefer High Street Hostel.
  • 69%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • great location, right in the center of the city and about three feet from the royal mile, walking distance from everything. very helpful, friendly staff!
  • 94%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I've been to a lot of hostels and this is on the Top 3! Staff is so nice and helpfull, Beds are so comfy (even if it doesn't seem like it when you see them), slept really well! The best part is all the common areas! It's like being in a castle and discovering the rooms. The location is perfect. The breakfast (1.5£) is a good deal. Just loved it and would recommend it to anyone!
  • 100%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous France
  • This is definitely one of the nicer hostels I've stayed at. The bathrooms are clean and the lounges are really nice. It feels more modern, with the exception of the WiFi which is slow and doesn't reach the top floors. If you're just browsing Facebook, Email, etc it'll work fine. If you need to download and upload large files, forget it and go to Starbucks or Waterstones cafe instead.
  • 94%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Michelle USA
  • Bathroom are kinda uncomfortable to use.
  • 71%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Shower drain did not work in women's restroom. Restroom smelled like mildew.
  • 63%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Alison
  • Great place to stay in Edinburgh. The rooms are spacious and airy and the showers are very good.
  • 91%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »