See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 89% from 40 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel had a very rude attendant who served us very poorly. Despite the good location, the hostel offers nothing worthwhile to stay.
  • 51%
  • 09 Nov 2014 Bruna Brazil
  • This is an absolutely fantastic hostel, the best hostel I've ever been. Very good location, just behind the castle. The room is cozy and clean and big. You've also got bedlight. the common room is very very very good. There are sofa, chairs everywhere, you could sit wherever u like. Very freestyle. There are also places you could use computer. And you could print ur document at the reception at a very cheap prices. What's the important, Wifi everywhere. Hhighly highly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 03 Nov 2014 Anonymous China
  • We found the room size incredibly small, even for a group of friends sharing there was not enough room - we couldn't imagine if we were sharing with strangers. There was also only one power point in the room, which again was not suffice for the amount of beds. Additionally after we left we believe that 3 of the group contracted bed bugs from this property...I've stayed in hostels all over the world & have been lucky to never encounter them so we are really disappointed!
  • 63%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Lockers provided. The location is great, within walking distance of most areas. The atmosphere is excellent, really easy to meet people. The kitchen is very big with lots of room to keep food and cook. Facilities were well maintained.
  • 89%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Ive never rated a hostel 100% but this was a very impressive hostel. I had been traveling throughout the UK and the stay here was beyond more comfortable then the other hostels previously stayed in. Great location. Great common areas. Private showers and washrooms and open space in the rooms.
  • 100%
  • 21 Sep 2014 morgan Canada
  • Quite a good location. It's decorated like a castle so it looks very cool, albeit a little scruffy. It's a pretty big hostel but it still keeps a cosy atmosphere.
  • 80%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Kristen USA
  • I loved this place! Very comfortable and lots of rooms to relax, visit, play games, eat and just do what you want. Location is very close to activities and down hill from Edinburgh castle, close to tour bus stop and close to train station. Edinburgh is very hilly so walk from train station is a grind but is sort cab ride if needed. The hostel also has a nice listing of inexpensive tours and things to do. Laundry service available too. Lots of people so can be a bit hectic.
  • 100%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was very easy to find (just follow the crowds to castle). Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I booked the MacBackpackers tour that left from the hostel and they were very organized about getting everyone settled. I gave the cleanliness an average rating because while the rooms were clean, the showers were rather messy. I used one of the showers in the afternoon and by that point there was hair everywhere and a used condom in the soap dish.
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Probably the best hostel i've stayed in. The only improvement i would make is to make sure all rooms have access to wifi. Mine seemingly did not.
  • 97%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Max USA
  • I booked 3 nights via hostels.com but when we got there, the booking for the last night was not in the system. That was pretty annoying but staff were very friendly, gave us another room and free breakfast for 2 days. had to change rooms after 2 nights, though. Rooms (and bed) were tiny - never seen so small rooms before. hardly any space for your luggage in your room.
  • 80%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Martina Austria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »