See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 89% from 59 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place! Nothing to complain!
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Päivi Finland
  • Excellent location
  • 97%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The finest facility for staff and rooms I have ever stayed at in my years of travel. Book way ahead because they are always buI aa .
  • 100%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Carl USA
  • Love this place! It's clean, fun and in an amazing location.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • It was really clean and cosy with great staff happy to help. It was good experience, I'm very pleased :) Thank you
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2015 KATARZYNA Poland
  • the best hostel ever... im in love about everything...staff, location, cleanliness....you have to stay on this hostel...
  • 100%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Perfect location, very helpful staff, nice atmosphere, very big kitchen. Nice place to stay. Recomended 😊
  • 91%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous Lithuania
  • wowee what a quirky hostel, ive stayed in many in edinburgh and castle rock beats them all..on the downside the rooms are a tad tired but the rest of the hostel makes up for it. There are 5 common areas to relax in to include a movie room a music room complete with decks and guitars, pool room lounge and a posh piano lounge. Also a generous kitchen and an outside patio. The staff are super friendly and location excellent.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2015 kirsten England
  • NO LIFT NO PARKING CLOSE BY NO ROAD SIGNS DIRECTIONS ETC DID NOT STAY WAS STILL CHARGED FOR A ROOM WAS LATE DUE TO FLIGHT AND COULDN'T FIND IT AND STILL CHARGED ME 1 NIGHT ! NO CONSIDERATION.
  • 46%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Jane USA
  • Castle Rock was in a great location! We could literally see the castle from our window. Our double room was small but it worked. The bathrooms were clean and functional.
  • 91%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Joy USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »