See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 89% from 57 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent location
  • 97%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The finest facility for staff and rooms I have ever stayed at in my years of travel. Book way ahead because they are always buI aa .
  • 100%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Carl USA
  • It was really clean and cosy with great staff happy to help. It was good experience, I'm very pleased :) Thank you
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2015 KATARZYNA Poland
  • Perfect location, very helpful staff, nice atmosphere, very big kitchen. Nice place to stay. Recomended 😊
  • 91%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous Lithuania
  • wowee what a quirky hostel, ive stayed in many in edinburgh and castle rock beats them all..on the downside the rooms are a tad tired but the rest of the hostel makes up for it. There are 5 common areas to relax in to include a movie room a music room complete with decks and guitars, pool room lounge and a posh piano lounge. Also a generous kitchen and an outside patio. The staff are super friendly and location excellent.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2015 kirsten England
  • NO LIFT NO PARKING CLOSE BY NO ROAD SIGNS DIRECTIONS ETC DID NOT STAY WAS STILL CHARGED FOR A ROOM WAS LATE DUE TO FLIGHT AND COULDN'T FIND IT AND STILL CHARGED ME 1 NIGHT ! NO CONSIDERATION.
  • 46%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Jane USA
  • Castle Rock was in a great location! We could literally see the castle from our window. Our double room was small but it worked. The bathrooms were clean and functional.
  • 91%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Joy USA
  • No elevator no parking hard to find due to one way streets and construction in area.
  • 54%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Jane USA
  • This was no doubt the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff was extremely helpful and nice, the atmosphere was great, the view from the room was amazing. There was enough space in the rooms, even though there was 12 people staying in one room. And there were so many lovely lounges to spend time in, if you didn't want to spend time in the room. Only minus side was that the bedsheets were ugly.
  • 97%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Been traveling for a month, stayed in over a dozen hostels. This was the nicest one.
  • 100%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Rachel USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »