See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 88% from 53 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • wowee what a quirky hostel, ive stayed in many in edinburgh and castle rock beats them all..on the downside the rooms are a tad tired but the rest of the hostel makes up for it. There are 5 common areas to relax in to include a movie room a music room complete with decks and guitars, pool room lounge and a posh piano lounge. Also a generous kitchen and an outside patio. The staff are super friendly and location excellent.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2015 kirsten England
  • NO LIFT NO PARKING CLOSE BY NO ROAD SIGNS DIRECTIONS ETC DID NOT STAY WAS STILL CHARGED FOR A ROOM WAS LATE DUE TO FLIGHT AND COULDN'T FIND IT AND STILL CHARGED ME 1 NIGHT ! NO CONSIDERATION.
  • 46%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Jane USA
  • Castle Rock was in a great location! We could literally see the castle from our window. Our double room was small but it worked. The bathrooms were clean and functional.
  • 91%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Joy USA
  • No elevator no parking hard to find due to one way streets and construction in area.
  • 54%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Jane USA
  • Been traveling for a month, stayed in over a dozen hostels. This was the nicest one.
  • 100%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Rachel USA
  • A super cool building and a cheap price for the great quality!
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2015 Emily
  • The hostel is in a great location in old Edinburgh, it is big with nice bathrooms and friendly staff. Only complain/ negativity would be the bed. The bed is very thin and does not provide support. But besides that great Hostel.
  • 89%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was the perfect hostel for my stay in Edinburgh! It's seriously a two-minute walk to the castle, if you're a slow walker, and it's location just off the Royal Mile makes it central but off the beaten path, so you're close to everything you want to see but not inundated with drunken noise at night. The staff are all friendly and helpful, and there's an event organized every night of the week so you're never in want for something to do! My room was huge and the bed was comfortable.
  • 100%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent the manners of staff, polite and with full dedication. I recommend rock hostel, wey good ambient and it is sited just below the castle. Fantastic place!
  • 100%
  • 24 May 2015 SERGIO Spain
  • Need to improve WiFi quality in the last floor the signal/speed is very poor The breakfast is cheap but poor quality too The facilites are good and the staff are 6*
  • 89%
  • 23 May 2015 Anonymous Portugal
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »