See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 89% from 43 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A super cool building and a cheap price for the great quality!
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2015 Emily
  • Excellent the manners of staff, polite and with full dedication. I recommend rock hostel, wey good ambient and it is sited just below the castle. Fantastic place!
  • 100%
  • 24 May 2015 SERGIO Spain
  • Need to improve WiFi quality in the last floor the signal/speed is very poor The breakfast is cheap but poor quality too The facilites are good and the staff are 6*
  • 89%
  • 23 May 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • Great location. Room in good condition. Shared bathing and toilet facilities, but there's locking doors for each shower and toilet stall. We got a private room, which we could keep locked. And the front door to the hostel is secured by the front desk attendant. They also offer luggage storage if you need it, which was very helpful to you
  • 77%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed for 4 nights at Castle Rock, and I can only recommend this place. Great location right next to everything you want to see as a first timer in Edinburgh. The staf was great and considerate. I stayed in a big mixed dorm, but although there were a lot of people to one room, it seems like you had space. Great hostel!
  • 80%
  • 19 May 2015 Lea Denmark
  • Great location, pretty good facilities (there could be more showers), large common room, large kitchen, backyard grill, large rooms, sturdy bunk beds (so no earthquake like experience when your bunk mate moves!), locker is included in the price, very cheap towel rent, wifi works well and price was good too.
  • 86%
  • 15 May 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • A nice place to stay; it's really close to the Grass Market and the castle. Everything is within walking distance. I enjoyed my stay there.
  • 86%
  • 04 May 2015 Brianna Canada
  • Hostel is great for mixed room clean and tidy , very closed to castle. Room is small but generally very good
  • 100%
  • 26 Mar 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Very close to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. The hostel put on movie nights every night, which was fun to partake in. The hostel was a little loud, but not much to be done about that as it is frequented by younger travelers.
  • 80%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Colleen USA
  • Always great :)
    Owner Comment

    You are! -CastleRock

  • 91%
  • 05 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »