See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 89% from 59 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place, plugs at each bed. Lounge areas seemed a bit too segregated (silence in the "posh lounge" and then no one in the "no technology" lounge but that could have just been while I was there. Otherwise an awesome place to stay! Amazing location and great connections to free walking tour groups.
  • 94%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Alex
  • We had a wonderful stay during our time at Castle Rock Hostel! When you walk outside the front door of the hostel you are literally looking up at the Castle...what more could you ask for?! The staff was always very helpful and did a wonderful job of having activities almost every evening and had great recommendations on things to do around town. Thank you guys for a lovely stay!
  • 100%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Elisabeth USA
  • Great Lockers. The location is very conveniently located at the end of the Royal Mile and close to the Grassmarket areas.
  • 74%
  • 13 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff is great! Very helpful & friendly. First I only booked 3 nights and once I arrived I asked for one more night. I could stay in a 4 bedroom and cause of a cancellation, it was cheaper than the 8 bedroom. The 8 bedroom is in the basement and a bit more dirty, but you feel to have more space. The 4 bedroom is at the 2nd floor, smaller but it looks more clean. Shower and toilets are really clean and they take care. Overall it is a great hostel. For small money you can have a slim breakfast
  • 77%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Sandra Germany
  • Very good staff that helped you with everything you needed.
  • 83%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Sam Sweden
  • Great place! Nothing to complain!
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Päivi Finland
  • Excellent location
  • 97%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The finest facility for staff and rooms I have ever stayed at in my years of travel. Book way ahead because they are always buI aa .
  • 100%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Carl USA
  • Love this place! It's clean, fun and in an amazing location.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • It was really clean and cosy with great staff happy to help. It was good experience, I'm very pleased :) Thank you
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2015 KATARZYNA Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »