See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 95% from 65 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 96%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Second time staying here and it's a pleasure every time.
  • 100%
  • 25 Nov 2016 Anonymous Sweden
  • One of my best stay in a hostel so far.
  • 97%
  • 02 Nov 2016 Andrea
  • One of the best hostels in Edinburgh.Go.Enjoy.
  • 91%
  • 27 Oct 2016 Neil England
  • Great hostel, very clean and unique. The location is key as well! We went to the ceilah, which is a must! The guy leading us was very nice and sociable.
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2016 Kristen USA
  • Wifi is not good. So if you change machine or wifi service company, your hostel would be great
  • 100%
  • 28 Sep 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • One of the Best Hostels in Britain i have Stay!!!!!!!!!! Thank you
  • 97%
  • 09 Sep 2016 Ralf Germany
  • The location could not be better. The staff is so friendly and helpful. There are tons of daily and weekly activities, most of them free, which really helps you not only explore the city but meet new people. The common areas are great, from the kitchen/living room to the quiet lounge, or even the music room. I will stay here every time I'm in Edinburgh.
  • 91%
  • 08 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • great service, extremely nice staff, located right under the Edinburgh castle which is very near Old town for restaurant and travelling.
  • 89%
  • 07 Sep 2016 Anonymous Vietnam
  • Tiny rooms, but the lounges more than made up for it, plenty of space to socialize or relax. The location was fantastic, well within walking distance of most sites and close to the train station. I also felt safe wandering around the area at all times of the night. The staff were excellent. Only downside to this hostel were the stairs, there were a lot of them. I would return to this hostel again, but specify a room on the 1st floor.
  • 89%
  • 02 Sep 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • LOVED Castle Rock! The atmosphere was amazing, staff were welcoming and friendly, rooms were clean and spacious (and all named funny things), and the location is A+. Don't have a bad word to say about this hostel. If you visit Edinburgh, be sure to stay here!
  • 100%
  • 02 Sep 2016 Sarah Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »