See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 91% from 83 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was to nice! but there are no supermarket near here.
  • 91%
  • 21 Apr 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • I went there to visit the city but the ambience of the hostel and other people there were so good that we spent more time in the hostel than the city. LOL. The staff is really supportive. Kudos to their hospitality!!!
  • 100%
  • 19 Apr 2016 Anonymous India
  • excellent atmosphere. as for EDI the hostel is really good. nice staff. big kitchen and a lot of lounge space.
  • 94%
  • 03 Apr 2016 Katarzyna Poland
  • All members of staff were very friendly. Main areas had a great atmosphere. Only complaint is that the rooms get very hot at night even when the windows are open and we couldn't find a way to turn the radiator off. Mattresses were also very thin but this was to be expected.
  • 100%
  • 29 Mar 2016 Anonymous England
  • Great place and great location!!!
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2016 Estefania
  • Perfect hostel for backpackers: reasonable price, marvellous location and friendly staff. Check-in is even possible up to 2 am - that's a big plus. The inside of the hostel is creatively decorated and looks pretty awesome. Sometimes there are movie nights at the hostel, which is nice for those who don't want to go outside. ;D Breakfast for £1,50 is okay (1 bread roll, 1 bowl of cereal and 1 glass of juice). The room I was in was okay, the bed was a bit uncomfortable but good enough to sleep in.
  • 86%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Marcus Sebastian Germany
  • Has an incredible atmosphere! I've stayed in other hostels in Europe (Italy, France, Switzerland, Spain) and can easily say that this one ranks amongst the best. The music lounge and tech room were very interesting. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is not bad, most amenities are a 5-min walk away. The level of cleanliness was fairly high as well - especially the toilets - very clean indeed.
  • 94%
  • 14 Mar 2016 Rohan India
  • Castle Rock was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff was super friendly and had fun activities (like traditional Scottish dancing lessons!) every night for us to do. The facilities were super clean and we were provided with lockers to store our things which was great. The location is literally right next to the Edinburgh castle, so you have a gorgeous view. I HIGHLY recommend Castle Rock for anyone who is traveling to Edinburgh. I loved it there.
  • 100%
  • 08 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed. Pros: - Nice lounge areas - Several activities - Coolest staff ever Cons: (There's not really cons, but...) - There are a lot of groups of people (like bachelorette parties, stag parties, etc..), so it's not really a backpacker environment. But that's not really an issue. - All the times I went for shower, there were no hot water (maybe just warm water), maybe because I was taking a shower in the busiest times.
  • 94%
  • 05 Feb 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • Castle Rock Hostel is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Wonderful staff, clean, and great location! A+
  • 100%
  • 09 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »