See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 88% from 40 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very close to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. The hostel put on movie nights every night, which was fun to partake in. The hostel was a little loud, but not much to be done about that as it is frequented by younger travelers.
  • 80%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Colleen USA
  • Always great :)
    Owner Comment

    You are! -CastleRock

  • 91%
  • 05 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • Castle Rock was absolutely amazing! The building is a blast to explore with hallways and stair cases going every which way. The location is prime as well, across the street from the castle, a short walk to Princess street, the royal mile, and Arthur's seat. There was always someone cleaning the restroom too, which was amazing!
  • 97%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The location is great! Right across from the castle. The staff were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in a three bed room with a great view. Clean sheets and all that were in order. Thefe was also a locker for each of us in the room and the each key was attached to a room key. Only thing that bothered us was when the radiator made loud sounds. And if you dont want to spend too much on eating out there is a kitchen with storage and cooking facilities. I recommend this place.
  • 86%
  • 15 Jan 2015 Lisa Denmark
  • This place is colossal! Seriously, from the outside it looks very cool, old but sort of unassuming, but once inside it's a labyrinth and oddly named room and nice places to chill amongst the other travelers. The staff was so nice and the rooms were perfectly set up. Thanks for a very nice stay in Edinburgh!
  • 89%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous
  • Our first time in a hostel and it's safe to say that we loved it! Opened our eyes to cheap travel and will be using again!
  • 100%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Liam England
  • There were six of us over for the weekend and we had a six bed dorm. The hostel was in an amazing location and the staff were so friendly. SHowers and toilets were always clean
  • 97%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Lisa Ireland
  • It was amazing. I literally could wake up and see the Edinburgh Castle out the window, less than 5 minutes away walking. My boyfriend and I walked all over Edinburgh and the hostel was perfectly located. The beds were comfortable (dorm the 2 nights, one night in the double bed room) and the 3rd floor bathrooms are better than the 2nd floor ones. We didn't spend much time in the dining room area, but if you are traveling alone, it looked like a great place to meet people! Very happy with it!
  • 97%
  • 10 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel had a very rude attendant who served us very poorly. Despite the good location, the hostel offers nothing worthwhile to stay.
  • 51%
  • 09 Nov 2014 Bruna Brazil
  • This is an absolutely fantastic hostel, the best hostel I've ever been. Very good location, just behind the castle. The room is cozy and clean and big. You've also got bedlight. the common room is very very very good. There are sofa, chairs everywhere, you could sit wherever u like. Very freestyle. There are also places you could use computer. And you could print ur document at the reception at a very cheap prices. What's the important, Wifi everywhere. Hhighly highly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 03 Nov 2014 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »