See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 91% from 55 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the showers were very nice, and the events were fun! The location was beautiful as well.
  • 100%
  • 01 Nov 2017 Anonymous USA
  • thanks for your hospitality.
  • 97%
  • 01 Nov 2017 Anonymous USA
  • THIS IS AN EXCELLENT HOSTEL. DARIO FROM THE USA
  • 100%
  • 13 Oct 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Bravo ! You put all other hostels to shame. The energy and efforts you put into your business really show and have been bragging about your place the moment I left. Your property is friendly, decorative and very artful, extremely clean, in a convenient location, comfortable and warm, and well-organized. Oh, and all at a super cost !! Thanks for making my short stay in Edinburgh a memorable one, you should be proud of all your hard work !!
  • 100%
  • 09 Oct 2017 Barbara USA
  • This hostel has an amazing location. It is right next to the Edinburgh castle. 5-minute walk to St. Giles Catherdral and Victoria Street. There are many bars around this area and regular pub crawls take place. We were in an 8-bed mixed dorm and the room was very specious. They provide free lockers which was very helpful. We were given security passes when we arrived and were asked to have them on us at all times. They are very strict about checking passes before letting people into the hostel.
  • 97%
  • 05 Oct 2017 Anonymous India
  • Out of all the hostels I have stayed at in Europe, this has been my favorite one!! The rooms were big, the staff and other guests were so nice, the common area was awesome, and the events the hostel puts on were so much fun. I would definitely stay here again! 😍
  • 100%
  • 04 Oct 2017 Anna
  • This hostel is awesome. You get a room key it comes with a locker key as well. It's not huge but i put my important things in it. awesome common room there are a few common rooms. kitchen is nice close store to buy food. They have awesome things through out the week favorite one was all of them. Staff is super sweet red head Seth Rogan is awesome you can't miss him. The girls are really cool too. I'd book with them again.
  • 91%
  • 13 Sep 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Very pleased with my experience at Castle Rock! Very welcoming staff, comfortable rooms and beds, ample shower facilities. Very clean, lots of hangout options, and a fantastic location! Highly recommend, would stay again!
  • 94%
  • 02 Sep 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent! There is just one thing. Thor is not happy when you picture him like that. He has RED hair and RED beard!!! Thank you
  • 100%
  • 31 Aug 2017 Erik Sweden
  • I stayed at Castle Rock nearly 8 years ago when I was doing my post-grad rite of passage. My finacee and I wanted to swing back through town on another European jaunt, and I was pleasantly surprised to find out that everything was as awesome the second time around as it was the first, even considering that every other stop on our trip was in a hotel. Major kudos to the team there for creating a dynasty of awesomeness.
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2017 Adam USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »