See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 92% from 59 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Second time around and it was great. It has accommodating staff, clean spaces, and fun events.
  • 80%
  • 13 Jul 2017 shondaray USA
  • The staff was really friendly and there was a large shared common area. The location was great!
  • 91%
  • 16 Jun 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Very friendly staff, great location, wonderful facility!
  • 100%
  • 11 Jun 2017 Anonymous USA
  • 24 hour reception, friendly and professional welcome, storage of luggage after check-put (very helpful), great location, clean rooms, thank you!!!
  • 100%
  • 09 Jun 2017 Jadranka Germany
  • Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast and a big kitchen / dining room full of activities and fun. Bedrooms can be a little bit noisy if you are close to the street and doors slams can also be disturbing during the night but my stay was great
  • 94%
  • 05 Jun 2017 Anonymous France
  • Best hostel I have ever been to. Excellent service, friendly staff, clean, perfect location, many free activities and free chocolate, coffee... I miss it already! Definitely recommend it.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jun 2017 Anonymous USA
  • This was a great hostel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Be sure to keep an eye out for the extra tours/ services that they provide. They provided us with a complimentary free walking tour of Edinburgh. Overall I will stay there again when I return to Edinburgh!!
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2017 Craig Canada
  • The toilets in the Ladies washroom kept breaking, but the hostel location and environment was excellent!
  • 86%
  • 14 May 2017 Anonymous Canada
  • The best location in the city for any hotel/hostel. The Canadian staff took their Canadian polite efficiency with them. It was a pleasure dealing with them. Hardly spent time their so can not comment on other aspects Wish there were an enforced policy of quietness in the corridors after certain hours at night. And the washroom doors should have hanging hooks so that we can change more easily there.
  • 91%
  • 13 May 2017 Maria Canada
  • Nice atmosphere and great staff! I really enjoy my stay there!
  • 94%
  • 23 Apr 2017 serena Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »