See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 88% from 41 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was very easy to find (just follow the crowds to castle). Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I booked the MacBackpackers tour that left from the hostel and they were very organized about getting everyone settled. I gave the cleanliness an average rating because while the rooms were clean, the showers were rather messy. I used one of the showers in the afternoon and by that point there was hair everywhere and a used condom in the soap dish.
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Probably the best hostel i've stayed in. The only improvement i would make is to make sure all rooms have access to wifi. Mine seemingly did not.
  • 97%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Max USA
  • I booked 3 nights via hostels.com but when we got there, the booking for the last night was not in the system. That was pretty annoying but staff were very friendly, gave us another room and free breakfast for 2 days. had to change rooms after 2 nights, though. Rooms (and bed) were tiny - never seen so small rooms before. hardly any space for your luggage in your room.
  • 80%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Martina Austria
  • Great place to stay for any length of time. The crowd is young, and everyone we interacted with, both staff and guests, were super friendly and nice. Lockers and safes are available for every bed, which is way more security than any other hostel I've been at. Very comfortable, very safe, and looks right out onto Edinburgh castle. The walk up the hill from the train station was the only thing that was kind of a bummer at the end of a long day. Highly recommended!
  • 100%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Samantha USA
  • I stayed in Castle Rock for 3 nights, and I honestly wish I had stayed longer. The location is prime, and the staff was wonderfully friendly and very helpful. The place itself is enormous, and they are able to provide a lot of space for their guests. They have multiple lounges and common rooms to hang out in, and great wifi. Clean bathrooms, clean dorms, & 2 big kitchens with plenty of space. (All I say is: fix the record player please!) I will definitely always stay here when in Edinburgh
  • 94%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Maria USA
  • We had bed bugs luckily none came home with us but woke up with bites working for insurance in the U.S for Hotels we pay out huge amounts and bed bugs can break a whole an entire hotel I suggest you throw away and buy all new beds for the virgin room before you come away with more problems or lawsuits.
  • 69%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Nathan USA
  • This is one of the best hostels I've stayed at throughout my extensive travels in Europe. The location is perfect- right near Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile- and the staff couldn't be friendlier and more helpful. My room was clean, the facilities are nice, and the breakfast was an excellent value and very tasty too. There are multiple social rooms for hanging out or just using your computer. I'll definitely book this hostel the next time I'm back in Edinburgh.
  • 100%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Matthew USA
  • The whole place just felt very dirty. Stereotypical hostel where everything is gross. I wouldn't recommend this hostel unless you are just looking for a place to stay for maybe one night close to the center. Beside the place being disgusting the people (which I know is something the hostel doesn't control) were extremely rude. In one of the lounges there was a girl sitting on a couch clipping her toenails.
  • 63%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Tiarra USA
  • One of the best hostels I have stayed in great location just a stone throw from the castle . It also very close to all the nite life the staff where very friendly and helpful and the layout of the hostel was great plenty of rooms to lay about and chill out will be staying here next time back in Edinburgh.
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Damien Ireland
  • One off the best hostels I have stayed in great facilities the location was really excellent a stone throw from the castle. The staff where very friendly and helpful so would recommend this hostel to friends and will stay here again on my next visit back
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Damien Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »