See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 91% from 64 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Friendly staff -nice breakfast -ecelent location
  • 86%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Tasawar Pakistan
  • Very good hostel!
  • 100%
  • 05 Nov 2015 Taisa Brazil
  • Best hostel I've ever stayed! Totally reccomend! I stayed just one night, and it was awesome. Very huge rooms, with plenty of space for everyone, nice bathrooms, looots of comum areas in the hostel (huge kitchen, movie room, get together room, chill room, piano room). And the best: Very good price, and the best location in the city.
  • 100%
  • 27 Oct 2015 André Luís Brazil
  • When I was in my bed I was bitten, so maybe it would be better if the mattresses were checked out.
  • 80%
  • 19 Oct 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • Close to everything- clean and hot drinks for free- Nice and helpful stuffs members- hot water in the showers… Very nice hostel!
  • 97%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Anonymous Costa Rica
  • This is a nice and well located hostel
  • 89%
  • 16 Oct 2015 Anonymous Costa Rica
  • Really well organized and fun hostel.
  • 97%
  • 05 Oct 2015 Halina USA
  • Great place, plugs at each bed. Lounge areas seemed a bit too segregated (silence in the "posh lounge" and then no one in the "no technology" lounge but that could have just been while I was there. Otherwise an awesome place to stay! Amazing location and great connections to free walking tour groups.
  • 94%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Alex
  • Best hostel ever! Everything was great! Maybe you could include breakfast in the price you pay and that will make it "the perfect hostel!"
  • 100%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Anonymous Costa Rica
  • We had a wonderful stay during our time at Castle Rock Hostel! When you walk outside the front door of the hostel you are literally looking up at the Castle...what more could you ask for?! The staff was always very helpful and did a wonderful job of having activities almost every evening and had great recommendations on things to do around town. Thank you guys for a lovely stay!
  • 100%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Elisabeth USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »