See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 94% from 59 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really liked the atmosphere of this hostel and the staff is friendly as well
  • 71%
  • 07 Apr 2017 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Great experience. Staff and location are incredible. Attended the planned pub crawl and had a blast meeting other young travelers. Definitely stay here when you are in Edinburgh!
  • 100%
  • 23 Mar 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I really cant say anything bad about the hostel except for the hot pipe that ran next to my bed. Perhaps dont bother putting a bed next to this wall or cover the exposed pipe where it is next to where someone sleeps!
  • 97%
  • 04 Jan 2017 Mark Ireland
  • Luggage room was hectic, but extremely secure. Easygoing staff and looking out to help you. I didn't participate in the events they had (because I was tired after a day of tours and such), but it looked and sounded like a great time.
  • 77%
  • 26 Dec 2016 shondaray USA
  • Great hoste, while walking looking for it I stumbled upon it. I was impressed and amazed at how clean it was, you can smell clean. Security is adiqute. It should be clearer on Web site that a £10 or ID be handed to staff for the keys which you get back when returning keys. As it would speed up reception process, including their card security system. They let you store your bags after checkout so you can explore the town. Very considerate. Great relief after my London (cork screwed) experience!
  • 86%
  • 23 Dec 2016 David New Zealand
  • Great place and a lot of great work was obviously being done by the staff to make it a wonderful experience.
  • 94%
  • 14 Dec 2016 Mark USA
  • It was awesome!
  • 100%
  • 12 Dec 2016 Jana Germany
  • Second time staying here and it's a pleasure every time.
  • 100%
  • 25 Nov 2016 Anonymous Sweden
  • One of my best stay in a hostel so far.
  • 97%
  • 02 Nov 2016 Andrea
  • One of the best hostels in Edinburgh.Go.Enjoy.
  • 91%
  • 27 Oct 2016 Neil England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »