See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 88% from 42 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We found the room size incredibly small, even for a group of friends sharing there was not enough room - we couldn't imagine if we were sharing with strangers. There was also only one power point in the room, which again was not suffice for the amount of beds. Additionally after we left we believe that 3 of the group contracted bed bugs from this property...I've stayed in hostels all over the world & have been lucky to never encounter them so we are really disappointed!
  • 63%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Ive never rated a hostel 100% but this was a very impressive hostel. I had been traveling throughout the UK and the stay here was beyond more comfortable then the other hostels previously stayed in. Great location. Great common areas. Private showers and washrooms and open space in the rooms.
  • 100%
  • 21 Sep 2014 morgan Canada
  • Quite a good location. It's decorated like a castle so it looks very cool, albeit a little scruffy. It's a pretty big hostel but it still keeps a cosy atmosphere.
  • 80%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Kristen USA
  • I loved this place! Very comfortable and lots of rooms to relax, visit, play games, eat and just do what you want. Location is very close to activities and down hill from Edinburgh castle, close to tour bus stop and close to train station. Edinburgh is very hilly so walk from train station is a grind but is sort cab ride if needed. The hostel also has a nice listing of inexpensive tours and things to do. Laundry service available too. Lots of people so can be a bit hectic.
  • 100%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was very easy to find (just follow the crowds to castle). Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I booked the MacBackpackers tour that left from the hostel and they were very organized about getting everyone settled. I gave the cleanliness an average rating because while the rooms were clean, the showers were rather messy. I used one of the showers in the afternoon and by that point there was hair everywhere and a used condom in the soap dish.
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Probably the best hostel i've stayed in. The only improvement i would make is to make sure all rooms have access to wifi. Mine seemingly did not.
  • 97%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Max USA
  • I booked 3 nights via hostels.com but when we got there, the booking for the last night was not in the system. That was pretty annoying but staff were very friendly, gave us another room and free breakfast for 2 days. had to change rooms after 2 nights, though. Rooms (and bed) were tiny - never seen so small rooms before. hardly any space for your luggage in your room.
  • 80%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Martina Austria
  • Great place to stay for any length of time. The crowd is young, and everyone we interacted with, both staff and guests, were super friendly and nice. Lockers and safes are available for every bed, which is way more security than any other hostel I've been at. Very comfortable, very safe, and looks right out onto Edinburgh castle. The walk up the hill from the train station was the only thing that was kind of a bummer at the end of a long day. Highly recommended!
  • 100%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Samantha USA
  • I stayed in Castle Rock for 3 nights, and I honestly wish I had stayed longer. The location is prime, and the staff was wonderfully friendly and very helpful. The place itself is enormous, and they are able to provide a lot of space for their guests. They have multiple lounges and common rooms to hang out in, and great wifi. Clean bathrooms, clean dorms, & 2 big kitchens with plenty of space. (All I say is: fix the record player please!) I will definitely always stay here when in Edinburgh
  • 94%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Maria USA
  • We had bed bugs luckily none came home with us but woke up with bites working for insurance in the U.S for Hotels we pay out huge amounts and bed bugs can break a whole an entire hotel I suggest you throw away and buy all new beds for the virgin room before you come away with more problems or lawsuits.
  • 69%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Nathan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »