See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 87% from 43 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is definitely one of the nicer hostels I've stayed at. The bathrooms are clean and the lounges are really nice. It feels more modern, with the exception of the WiFi which is slow and doesn't reach the top floors. If you're just browsing Facebook, Email, etc it'll work fine. If you need to download and upload large files, forget it and go to Starbucks or Waterstones cafe instead.
  • 94%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Michelle USA
  • Bathroom are kinda uncomfortable to use.
  • 71%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Shower drain did not work in women's restroom. Restroom smelled like mildew.
  • 63%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Alison
  • Great place to stay in Edinburgh. The rooms are spacious and airy and the showers are very good.
  • 91%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • nice price, nice location, nice staff and atmosphere!
  • 89%
  • 01 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • This had a great location and atmosphere. My only issues were that they have a laundry facility where they wash your clothes for you. They ruined several clothing items by putting too much fabric softener in or something, as there are grease stains all over my clothes, and I had no pockets or anything thrown in that would have caused that. But everything else was spot on, making it my favourite hostel so far.
  • 83%
  • 25 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • The major point about this hostel is the location. Very good location for the price. The atmosphere is nice but a little impersonal because everything is too big and people wander around. The rooms are very small and bathrooms pretty busy. It's a typical backpacker place and overall it's a good place to stay.
  • 77%
  • 12 Sep 2013 Jonathan Canada
  • I liked it very much! Very well located in a easy place near the Edinburgh Castle. Good beds. Beautifull view. A place with many yough and interesting people. They have lockers under the bed.
  • 91%
  • 07 Sep 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • This is a well located site, with a very interesting decoration and some lounges in order to help people socialize with each other :)
  • 80%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • It was cool. The location is perfect. Nice reception people , informative and kind
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2013 kim England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »