See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 94% from 71 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We loved staying here, we backpacked Europe and this was our favorite hostel we stayed in. Fun atmosphere, friendly staff, good wifi in our rooms, and great view of the Edinburgh castle, and perfect location!
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2016 Breanna USA
  • I really have a great time staying in this hostel, nice bed, convenient sockets, nice showers. Especially a large kitchen with everything you need. Large common room to enjoy my spare time.
  • 100%
  • 26 May 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • It was very difficult to find space for our food in the fridge even though there are a number of them.
  • 89%
  • 16 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Pros: Fantastic location, you can enjoy a party atmosphere or a more chill experience, huge kitchen (the whole place is huge yet homey with lots of room for everyone), bunk beds are attached to the wall so no shaking beds when someone climbs into their bed (and you get two pillows, a light, and an outlet!), lots of opportunity for activities or tours, felt very safe and welcomed Cons: I was given some innacurate info about travel to Skye which affected my trip, it was probably just a mistake
  • 97%
  • 07 May 2016 Jennifer USA
  • Staff very friendly and helpful. We are in our 60s and the clerk helped carry our bag up to the 3rd floor (would have been nice to know there was no lift as we could not have managed that alone.) Very large common areas with good views of the city. Large kitchens. Wifi separate quiet room. Shared unisex bathrooms but we knew that going in. All in all a very pleasant experience. Thank you staff!
  • 86%
  • 25 Apr 2016 Carolyn USA
  • It was to nice! but there are no supermarket near here.
    Owner Comment

    Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! There are 3 supermarkets 4 minutes walk away from the hostel though. The staff at the desk would be more than happy to have shown you on a map if you had asked. :)

  • 91%
  • 21 Apr 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • I went there to visit the city but the ambience of the hostel and other people there were so good that we spent more time in the hostel than the city. LOL. The staff is really supportive. Kudos to their hospitality!!!
  • 100%
  • 19 Apr 2016 Anonymous India
  • excellent atmosphere. as for EDI the hostel is really good. nice staff. big kitchen and a lot of lounge space.
  • 94%
  • 03 Apr 2016 Katarzyna Poland
  • All members of staff were very friendly. Main areas had a great atmosphere. Only complaint is that the rooms get very hot at night even when the windows are open and we couldn't find a way to turn the radiator off. Mattresses were also very thin but this was to be expected.
  • 100%
  • 29 Mar 2016 Anonymous England
  • Great place and great location!!!
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2016 Estefania
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »