See other Edinburgh properties

Castle Rock Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 88% from 42 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Best hostel we've stayed at yet. Best location, best facilties.
  • 100%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Philip USA
  • A nice choice for Edinburgh. A little more expensive than the others, but I stayed here for the fireplace and easy access to Bow St area. It's incredibly run down and dirty, but several of the people staying there were not exactly treating the place respectfully, either (dirty shoes on the couch, leaving dirty dishes everywhere). Kitchen/lounge areas need a better scrubbing everyday, and the bathrooms were pretty grimey, too. DON'T forget your shower shoes! I still prefer High Street Hostel.
  • 69%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • great location, right in the center of the city and about three feet from the royal mile, walking distance from everything. very helpful, friendly staff!
  • 94%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I've been to a lot of hostels and this is on the Top 3! Staff is so nice and helpfull, Beds are so comfy (even if it doesn't seem like it when you see them), slept really well! The best part is all the common areas! It's like being in a castle and discovering the rooms. The location is perfect. The breakfast (1.5£) is a good deal. Just loved it and would recommend it to anyone!
  • 100%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous France
  • This is definitely one of the nicer hostels I've stayed at. The bathrooms are clean and the lounges are really nice. It feels more modern, with the exception of the WiFi which is slow and doesn't reach the top floors. If you're just browsing Facebook, Email, etc it'll work fine. If you need to download and upload large files, forget it and go to Starbucks or Waterstones cafe instead.
  • 94%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Michelle USA
  • Bathroom are kinda uncomfortable to use.
  • 71%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Shower drain did not work in women's restroom. Restroom smelled like mildew.
  • 63%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Alison
  • Great place to stay in Edinburgh. The rooms are spacious and airy and the showers are very good.
  • 91%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • nice price, nice location, nice staff and atmosphere!
  • 89%
  • 01 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • This had a great location and atmosphere. My only issues were that they have a laundry facility where they wash your clothes for you. They ruined several clothing items by putting too much fabric softener in or something, as there are grease stains all over my clothes, and I had no pockets or anything thrown in that would have caused that. But everything else was spot on, making it my favourite hostel so far.
  • 83%
  • 25 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »