See other Riga properties

Central Hostel Riga

E. Birznieka-Upisa iela 20, Riga, Latvia, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 88% from 19 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very very very nice and sweet staff. Clean and organized hostel (clean common rooms, showers and bathroom, so is the kitchen). The room had only 6 beds and felt more like a room where you had your cousins over than a hostel. Very cheap and you get more than for your money. I was a little scared at night because it isn't a main street but I was a girl alone in a city I don't know, it's not the hostel's responsibility!
  • 94%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • great atmosphere, cozy rooms and friendly service
  • 80%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Ewa Poland
  • Everything was just perfect
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous Estonia
  • We staid only for one night, but what we saw the hostel is excellent value for your money and our room (private) was very nice! We are definitely coming again to Central Hostel Riga if we're travelling to Riga!
  • 100%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • It was a bit far from the old town, but with 10 minutes of walking you are there. It is very quiet but the atmosphere is awesome! The breakfast is quite good, I've missed a few things but there were enough to get full.
  • 97%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • We tried 3 hostels with my gf in Riga and this one is the best ! As a couple, it is very nice because the double bed rooms are separated from the dorms (not on the same floor). As a consequence, the bathroom and the toilets are not the same, which is cool ;)
  • 94%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous France
  • We are staying in this hostel 2nd year in a row, great place but sometimes I wish sheets were a little bit newer) but location, back yard and staff are superb!
  • 94%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Andrey/ Polina Russia
  • They need a bit of an update when it comes to the interior but it was clean, the front desk was extremely helpful and managed to find us an amazing night out. The area is relatively safe but it is a little sketchy because it's near the bus and train stations. Overall, I would stay here again!
  • 83%
  • 22 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The best hostel I've ever stayed - I hope to come there again
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2014 tatiana Russia
  • Lockers are deep but tight. Breakfast was OK, but it could be better if the staff put milk bottles beside the juice bottles. The staff was despotic (indifferent, cold-behaved, arrogant). It's clear that I hadn't contact with the owner, otherwise, foreign guests are not exactly "welcome" but situated in their own reality by the staff conducting like "well... come" (I don't care, anyway). I would like to know if the treatment for guest are different according to their stereotype / nights to stay.
  • 71%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »