See other London properties

Central Hostel

26 Princes Square, London, England, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 63% from 32 reviews

  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 60%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Christos was amazing. He really cared, and he was interesting to talk to. The facilities weren't great, but the building was old and interesting. The blond woman who was on the morning I left was also pretty interesting and useful. The rest of the staff didn't really care one way or the other. Lots of interesting things to see and do ere walking distance away, the Tube was right there, and a full kitchen and free tea made staying there very economical.
  • 77%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Erin USA
  • Nothing as described and promised. The room was not en suite as booked and paid for. There was no pick up facility and staff were not as helpful with directions and advice in terms of transportation as one may expect. There was cobweb all over the ceiling and the smell of dampness filled up the room. It is a nice location and I nice building and I am sure that with a bit of TLC it can be made to look and feel better.
  • 54%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Mohammed Wales
  • Located in great area:3 mins from Bayswater tube station(lines yellow and green which reach the best places in London),3 mins to Tesco Express :),pubs and souvenir shops everywhere. The staff are friendly, helpful and kind however, the cleaning guy seems to be very depressed and a bit rude. My good intension to help him was read as acting againts hostel policy. It made me feel very sad.It'd be much better to see his smile from time to time.Rooms are stifling but all in all,it was a good time.
  • 77%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Aleksandra Poland
  • Even if the building looks nice from the outside, insalubrity is for me the word that best describes the place. The common kitchen is dirty, the fridge looks like it's never emptied, you can pick weird clots in the sugar box, ... You can also smell gas now and again, which is a problem when most of the windows can't be opened... The worst was beds condition : I've been stung all nights by bed bugs (I presume), and when I stripped it, the mattress was stained all over with a really bad smell.
  • 43%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Anonymous France
  • For those who are staying for a day in London, this hostel is a good call. But be aware that their beds aren't very stable. Every movement can make a noise. The bathroom quality is acceptable and they have wi-fi connection in there.
  • 63%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • This hostel was very accommodating, I enjoyed my stay.
  • 66%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • house very worn out. friendly stuff
  • 69%
  • 27 May 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • From the moment we arrived everyone on staff were rude. No one wanted to answer our questions or help us out. Then once we got into our room we found that the room was a mess! It was a community room of 8 and you could tell that the people in the room were actually living there. The bedroom was too small for 8 people, no storage, no way to climb to the top bunk, broken window, and mold in the kitchen that is community space. The entire place was awkward and unfortable. Worst place ever!
  • 31%
  • 08 May 2014 Olivia USA
  • One minus - a sagging bed
  • 91%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • You need a proper lock man.
  • 46%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »