See other New York properties

Central Park West Hostel

201 West 87th Street, New York, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 60% from 17 reviews

  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 69%Staff
  • 62%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 57%Value for money
  • 49%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • - location is great, near the subway, walking distance to central park and museum of natural history. - room door squeaks when opened, which disturbs those who are already asleep - bed cover is not yet replaced when I got into the room - it was immediately replaced when I asked reception
  • 74%
  • 03 Nov 2015 John Andrian Philippines
  • Unfortunately, I didn't like my stay in this hostel. The building is old, there was just one outlet working in my room, the bathroom door didn't lock very well, the bunk bed was very noisy, there was no blanket, and my room was close to the reception area (noisy). There wasn't a place to hang out with people, like a "leisure" area. There was just a poor kicthen with a TV. Staff was friendly, though. I think it should be cheaper.
  • 51%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Fernanda Brazil
  • curtains in 102 could be thicker so no one outside cold see through at night
  • 80%
  • 11 Sep 2015 Richard USA
  • This hostel is very well located, between Broadway and Amsterdam. It is mostly clean, but the bathrooms were not all in a good state: curtains broken, no mirror, toilet damaged (flush), no toilet paper, etc. The common areas are not very clean and in a good state, but the room was large, clean and nice, with only one bunk and air conditioning. I think it' a good plan to save money for 1 or 2 nights passing through NYC but I wouldn't stay longer.
  • 63%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Elsa France
  • I really enjoyed my stay in this hostel. I recommend this hostel for any who is in search of a cheap and well-located place to stay, WARNING I had initially booked in Brooklyn Bed and Breakfast Hostel, but they cancelled my booking two days before my visit to NY. Unless you buy cancellation protection, I understand that you accept to lose your money if you cancel booking, but NOT if the hostel CANCELS your booking. Beware of Brooklyn Bed and Breakfast Hostel last minute cancellations.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • The room was clean, bedclothes were neat, the air conditionning worked fine and it was quiet at night. I also enjoyed the breakfast. Bathrooms looked scary but worked properly. The staff was so so. They didnt seem very friendly and helpful. Dont be shy and ask them all the things you are interested in! Wi-fi didnt work in our room. There was only one socket. We found two more just before leaving as they were hidden under the sink. I'm sure, it's an excellent offer for that price. 4 out of 5.
  • 83%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Vladlen Russia
  • This hotel needs a renovation. Everything was dirty and old. The shower and the toilet were in one small room and they were mixed.
  • 49%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Marta Hungary
  • About the staff, the first attendant named Arthur, was the only nice one. The others, a guy and a girl, probably they don`t know what they are doind over there, or they just don`t care at all. In my first night I had a cockroach in my room, and when I told this for a lady who cleans the place, she said "just one? oh, so it`s a mascot". The place is dirty, smells like someone had pissed the whole building. Everything is very old and we can see clearly that the owners do not invest anything.
  • 31%
  • 16 Jun 2015 suzane
  • This is my favorite hostel in NYC. It was my second time staying in this hostel and everything was great. I love the free breakfast, the free towels and the bathroom inside the room. I'll definitelly come back and I recommend it.
  • 94%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Gabriela Argentina
  • The hostel is nice although the bathrooms could be quite dirty. I loved the location, staff was always available and nice. The breakfast offered was not what I would call a breakfast. Rooms were decent but the mattress was really bad and the covers a little dirty. I would go back to this hostel but in another room, probably a single.
  • 77%
  • 14 May 2015 anais France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »