See other Amsterdam properties

Central Station Hostel

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.1km

Rating: 76% from 54 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Just a bed! Nothing else... It was the dirtiest hostel I have ever been! It was awful to get out of the bed. You could here all the cracking from every room in the hostel! My worst experience...
  • 37%
  • 09 Feb 2015 Anonymous Chile
  • We had such a great time... And im sooo sorry about the mess i made.... Will definitely recomend you guys!
  • 94%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • This hostel is located in a very narrow alley and has unbelievably steep stairways, which makes it somewhat difficult to get up and down with luggage. The biggest issue I had was with the staff. One night when we came back, a staff member (don't know his name) angrily accused us of not paying our 10 euro deposit (which we had) and demanded we pay it again. When we checked out he relented and gave back our deposit, which was a relief however due to this experience I would not stay here again.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jan 2015 Matthew USA
  • I only spoke to two staff members, but they were very pleasant. The room was clean and as advertised. The only issue were the stairs, which appear to have been made for tiny adults or children. I had to crab-walk down.
  • 91%
  • 17 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Stairs are very steep. No shower curtain. Bad were kind of small. Should have individual outlets and lights for guests.
  • 66%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Jacqueline
  • Definitely the location cannot be better, just block away from Dam Square and almost in front of the canals, although it was a 10 bed the room has a lot a space, so you can walk easily between the beds, a another plus is the inside bathroom. The service must be improved. The stairs is also a tricky part specially when travelling with a heavy baggage. The direction to the hostel is kind of tricky since is located in a small alley with no sign on the main street.
  • 60%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Eryel Italy
  • We are a couple and stayed there a few nights on a 10 Bed Mixed Dorm - Ensuite. The bathroom was one of the best we saw on hostels! VERY clean, had tissues, bath gel, little bags for woman's hygiene. The bedroom was very spacious and everyone had space for their luggage and to walk around. Again, one of the most spacious rooms we have been. All our roommates were very respectful about the lights and the noise. The beds were amazing, clean and warm and those ENORMOUS pillows! Loved it.
  • 100%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Marta Portugal
  • We are a couple and stayed there a few nights on a 10 Bed Mixed Dorm - Ensuite. The bathroom was one of the best we saw on hostels! VERY clean, had tissues, bath gel, little bags for woman's hygiene. The bedroom was very spacious and everyone had space for their luggage and to walk around. Again, one of the most spacious rooms we have been. All our roommates were very respectful about the lights and the noise. The beds were amazing, clean and warm and those ENORMOUS pillows! Loved it.
  • 100%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Marta Portugal
  • I liked it, is a very good place to stay while visiting Amsterdam
  • 94%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Oliverio
  • Nice staff and great location!
  • 83%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Patricia Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »