See other Amsterdam properties

Central Station Hostel

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.1km

Rating: 76% from 64 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A lot of noise, because of a restaurant kitchen just downstairs. Stairs quite dangerous ! Excellent placement.
  • 69%
  • 22 Aug 2015 Anonymous France
  • Awesome location! Two minute walk from Dam Square, Red Light District and all the major shops! Friendly staff carried our luggage all the way to our dorm on the top floor. Rooms were clean!
  • 74%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Emilia Norway
  • Good location. Possibility to leave luggage before check in/ after check out. Quiet @nite. No kitchen. No fridge. No communal area. Very cramped in 10-bed dorm (room 2), nowhere to place backpack/suitcase. No possibility to charge mobile directly by one's own bed.
  • 63%
  • 21 Jul 2015 helena Sweden
  • The hostel was very near the center and nightlife. The beds were comfortable, but the dorm room of 8 people sleeping in it felt small & noisy. I would recommend this youth hostel for low-budget travelers, who look for affordable place to get some rest.
  • 74%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Great hostel, right in the centre of Amsterdam, located near all the cool stuffs in the city, all clean and good, staff was great, Ismael was a great host for us.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Rafaela Brazil
  • Really bad wifi
  • 46%
  • 08 Jun 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Location was perfect, right next to the right light district, close to central station, and a short walk to anne frank, museumplein, & more. The first staff member who checked us in was extremely rude and unhelpful, but the next two staff members we met were very nice and helpful. room was cramped with only one bathroom so 10 people had to wait on each other to get out a lot. No common area. $50 a night was worth it for location but not quality. all in all, hostel was decent but not great.
  • 69%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I love this hostel :) The location of this hostel was awesome. It was walking distance from everything :) and the staff was very nice they even helped me with my luggage:)
  • 94%
  • 22 May 2015 Roman
  • Was tricky to find for the first time as it is down the small alley way off a side street but once we had found it it was perfect! Could leave your luggage safely until you could check in. Beds were comfy and warm and the bathroom facilities were excellent very clean. Would definitely recommend and visit again!
  • 94%
  • 15 May 2015 Emma British Virgin Islands
  • The hostel is very well located, it is clean, has good beds and pillows. I sincerelly recomend it for those who need a place to sleep in the center of amsterdam, BUT the guy that worked at the reception in the afternoon simply entered the room to use the bathroom and opened the room even for others backpackers to use it. It felt kinda unsafe and weird. (I was in the 4-ppl room in front of the reception).
  • 83%
  • 07 May 2015 Ricardo Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »