See other Amsterdam properties

Central Station Hostel

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.1km

Rating: 72% from 25 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If it wasn't for the stairs I'd have no complaints whatsoever! But they were awful, more like a ladder, not good for anyone with joint problems or massive suitcases - there was no warning about them. Everything else was fantastic, especially location and value for money.
  • 91%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Catherine England
  • very good, has a dificult steirs, but so nice!
  • 83%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Fabio Brazil
  • Just do not go there!
  • 31%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • We were to girls visiting Amsterdam for the first time and the hostel was perfect for us. It is clean, very quiet and we had good nights in our 10 bed room..
  • 89%
  • 10 May 2014 Johnnie Diane USA
  • Conveniently located to the Centraal Station. The front desk area was kind of depressing and didn't set me in high hopes for the room. I was pleasantly surprised that it was clean, though it was super-minimal. Not worth the hundred dollars a night I was charged, though.
  • 60%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • 50 euros for a bed in a 10 peole room is greedy... Perfect location and good beds, that's it
  • 49%
  • 01 May 2014 FRANCESCO Italy
  • Very noisy, Is like you are not in a room but in the corridor
  • 46%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Luis Fernando Belgium
  • The place is very difficult to find (is hidden in an alley in the center of the city) but is really good: good price, decent rooms and beds (inner bathroom + shower which is pretty new). Right in the center so it's really good as a starting point in the morning for taking a walk around the city in the morning and then have a few drinks in the night and come back to sleep (without having to use any public transportation or having to walk for miles if you're in the center).
  • 97%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • Perfect location, no lounge area which was disappointing as we would of liked to make our own food but none the less can not complain as the price was so good
  • 74%
  • 16 Feb 2014 John Ireland
  • very friendly staff, i would even say it is a clean place. however, the lackness of common space to hang was bad. adding shower curtains will add a lot for bathroom conditions.. once the first one takes a shower the whole place looks like Sea World..
  • 63%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous Israel
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »