See other Amsterdam properties

Central Station Hostel

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.1km

Rating: 76% from 51 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I only spoke to two staff members, but they were very pleasant. The room was clean and as advertised. The only issue were the stairs, which appear to have been made for tiny adults or children. I had to crab-walk down.
  • 91%
  • 17 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Stairs are very steep. No shower curtain. Bad were kind of small. Should have individual outlets and lights for guests.
  • 66%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Jacqueline
  • Definitely the location cannot be better, just block away from Dam Square and almost in front of the canals, although it was a 10 bed the room has a lot a space, so you can walk easily between the beds, a another plus is the inside bathroom. The service must be improved. The stairs is also a tricky part specially when travelling with a heavy baggage. The direction to the hostel is kind of tricky since is located in a small alley with no sign on the main street.
  • 60%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Eryel Italy
  • We are a couple and stayed there a few nights on a 10 Bed Mixed Dorm - Ensuite. The bathroom was one of the best we saw on hostels! VERY clean, had tissues, bath gel, little bags for woman's hygiene. The bedroom was very spacious and everyone had space for their luggage and to walk around. Again, one of the most spacious rooms we have been. All our roommates were very respectful about the lights and the noise. The beds were amazing, clean and warm and those ENORMOUS pillows! Loved it.
  • 100%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Marta Portugal
  • We are a couple and stayed there a few nights on a 10 Bed Mixed Dorm - Ensuite. The bathroom was one of the best we saw on hostels! VERY clean, had tissues, bath gel, little bags for woman's hygiene. The bedroom was very spacious and everyone had space for their luggage and to walk around. Again, one of the most spacious rooms we have been. All our roommates were very respectful about the lights and the noise. The beds were amazing, clean and warm and those ENORMOUS pillows! Loved it.
  • 100%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Marta Portugal
  • I liked it, is a very good place to stay while visiting Amsterdam
  • 94%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Oliverio
  • Nice staff and great location!
  • 83%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Patricia Brazil
  • Very good place to stay. If I ever get a chance to visit Amsterdam I will definitely choose this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Faisal Pakistan
  • The receptionist gentleman is very cordial and helpfull, a plus for a solo traveler like me. The hostel is centrally located very close to everything and is in a safe area. I recommend this hostel.
  • 89%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Nelia Canada
  • Going into to it I thought it was going to be a dive but besides the steep stairs it was actually perfect for what I needed. It is right in the middle of the city center and the rooms and bathroom were better than pictured on the site.
  • 77%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Craig USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »