See other Amsterdam properties

Central Station Hostel

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.1km

Rating: 77% from 60 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Was tricky to find for the first time as it is down the small alley way off a side street but once we had found it it was perfect! Could leave your luggage safely until you could check in. Beds were comfy and warm and the bathroom facilities were excellent very clean. Would definitely recommend and visit again!
  • 94%
  • 15 May 2015 Emma British Virgin Islands
  • The hostel is very well located, it is clean, has good beds and pillows. I sincerelly recomend it for those who need a place to sleep in the center of amsterdam, BUT the guy that worked at the reception in the afternoon simply entered the room to use the bathroom and opened the room even for others backpackers to use it. It felt kinda unsafe and weird. (I was in the 4-ppl room in front of the reception).
  • 83%
  • 07 May 2015 Ricardo Brazil
  • try getting a more polite and friendly receptionist. i came through 3 and only 1 of them in the morning was pleasent and friendly
  • 57%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • I was surprised to see that the rooms were very fresh and clean, while the outside looks like bad
  • 77%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Robin Sweden
  • Overall I enjoyed my stay in this hostel. My partner and I were only in Amsterdam for 1 night so being right in the city centre was VERY useful. The hostel is kind of hidden but the directions and instructions that they give on how to find helped a lot and got us there with no problems. The room was spacious with plenty of room for everyones stuff. I reccomend bringing a lock as they have lockers for you to use in the room. The bathroom was clean and the beds were comfy!
  • 74%
  • 11 Apr 2015 Anonymous England
  • Once we found someone of the staff in our room using our toilet. That is unacceptable.
  • 46%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Anonymous Greece
  • Probably the best value hostel I've stayed at. Cheap, great location and friendly staff who were more helpful than at many more expensive places. WiFi signal was good. The main drawbacks are the lack of a kitchen or common room and the bathroom is kind of small. But for the price, a very good hostel.
  • 83%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Perfect owner and staffs. They are super friendly and helpful. Heater barely exist, hot water is not hot enough. Overall is an excellent experience!!!
  • 71%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Anonymous
  • Lovely and helpful staff, very convenient location and kind confy anyhow.
  • 91%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Bruna Aparecida Brazil
  • Just a bed! Nothing else... It was the dirtiest hostel I have ever been! It was awful to get out of the bed. You could here all the cracking from every room in the hostel! My worst experience...
  • 37%
  • 09 Feb 2015 Anonymous Chile
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »