See other Amsterdam properties

Central Station Hostel

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.1km

Rating: 72% from 31 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had an early flight from Schiphol so I decided to stay in this hostel for the night. Clean, secure, good location, friendly staff; exactly what I needed. Will be staying here again in the future.
  • 89%
  • 16 Sep 2016 Thijs Netherlands
  • On my last night, they checked someone into my bed and I had nowhere to sleep. They also didn't write down that I paid the key deposit and I couldn't get that 20 Euro back.
  • 77%
  • 02 Sep 2016 Zachary USA
  • This place is so hard to find as it doesn't have a proper sign on the main entrance, I had a hard time finding it I had to call them, the main entrance is a random door located in the alley with a small sign you can barely notice, the reception is too small and crowded, the stairs to get there with all your luggage are too narrow and is dangerous, they don't even have a common room like they say on their website, this place sucks and is too expensive doesn't worth my money, I wouldn't recommend
  • 46%
  • 21 Jul 2016 Paulina Mexico
  • Only the location was great. Safe Deposit Box did not work! The stairs were killer getting in and out. My check in time was 14 but the security said to me you can check in 15 !
  • 49%
  • 23 Jun 2016 REZA Iran
  • My stay in this hostel was great! It was just minutes from Dam Square and was within walking distance of all the major attractions I wanted to visit, plus only about a 20 minute walk from Central Station, so attractions outside of Amsterdam were accessible, too. All of the staff that I talked to were incredibly helpful and kind! Since I was only in Amsterdam for a few days, I wanted to be close to all of the attractions so as not to waste time with trips to and from town. This hostel provided!
  • 91%
  • 03 Jun 2016 Jara USA
  • Good location, nice staff, good value for money. Bathrooms were clean too so nothing to complain about.
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Jani Finland
  • Remember to bring your own padlock for the lockers!! A TSA lock will do just fine. I'm a solo traveler, and even as a young female alone in Amsterdam, I felt considerably secure here. I spent a weekend here. The room was cleaned daily. The bathroom is nice, but it gets rather steamy and gross once everyone starts showering. I recommend waking up early to be the first one in. The stairs are steep, so pack light! Location is amazing. Staff was friendly and helpful. A bit expensive, but worth it.
  • 83%
  • 12 Feb 2016 Alexis USA
  • Very steep stairs. Hard to locate. But right near Dam Square. Good value for my $$$
  • 71%
  • 07 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Just perfect, price, the staff were so nice with us. I just dont like their stairs but damn it is locates in a perfect place, i recommend to put a sign for get more attention.
  • 94%
  • 24 Dec 2015 endy Panama
  • Was lucky i didn't travel with sui tcase o that trip the staircase or something. Location is excellent. Not no place to stay and talk with new people you meet o ly the room. And for the room they have hard time to rescept the girl o ly dorm o e of the 3 nights i was there they put a guy in it.
  • 86%
  • 19 Dec 2015 Esther Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »