See other Amsterdam properties

Central Station Hostel

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.1km

Rating: 76% from 45 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We are a couple and stayed there a few nights on a 10 Bed Mixed Dorm - Ensuite. The bathroom was one of the best we saw on hostels! VERY clean, had tissues, bath gel, little bags for woman's hygiene. The bedroom was very spacious and everyone had space for their luggage and to walk around. Again, one of the most spacious rooms we have been. All our roommates were very respectful about the lights and the noise. The beds were amazing, clean and warm and those ENORMOUS pillows! Loved it.
  • 100%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Marta Portugal
  • We are a couple and stayed there a few nights on a 10 Bed Mixed Dorm - Ensuite. The bathroom was one of the best we saw on hostels! VERY clean, had tissues, bath gel, little bags for woman's hygiene. The bedroom was very spacious and everyone had space for their luggage and to walk around. Again, one of the most spacious rooms we have been. All our roommates were very respectful about the lights and the noise. The beds were amazing, clean and warm and those ENORMOUS pillows! Loved it.
  • 100%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Marta Portugal
  • I liked it, is a very good place to stay while visiting Amsterdam
  • 94%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Oliverio
  • Nice staff and great location!
  • 83%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Patricia Brazil
  • Very good place to stay. If I ever get a chance to visit Amsterdam I will definitely choose this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Faisal Pakistan
  • The receptionist gentleman is very cordial and helpfull, a plus for a solo traveler like me. The hostel is centrally located very close to everything and is in a safe area. I recommend this hostel.
  • 89%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Nelia Canada
  • Going into to it I thought it was going to be a dive but besides the steep stairs it was actually perfect for what I needed. It is right in the middle of the city center and the rooms and bathroom were better than pictured on the site.
  • 77%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Craig USA
  • Liked location and stayed twice. First visit-taff manager( Moroccan origin) was exceptionally helpful and explained places to visit, where to get cheap breakfast and general tips. Second visit- staff charged me 3 euro for renting a lock though I was promised that it will be returned when I check out. A bit money minded! Atmosphere is great. Steep stairs but staff helps with luggage. Clean and comfortable beds. Location close to central station though map maybe a bit confusing!
  • 80%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous England
  • Excellent location, the hostel is tiny and no common room or anything for travellers to gather and the stair cases are very steep, they're not a lot of fun after some space cake
  • 63%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Sinouya Australia
  • Had a great stay and will stay there again if needed. The hostel is located in the center of everything within a walking distance to all the main areas in Amsterdam. Service was great and the rooms were clean. Yep had steep stairs on the way up to the reception and rooms but that is something you'll get in Holland.
  • 86%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Anonymous Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »