See other Amsterdam properties

Central Station Hostel

Steenhouwerssteeg 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.1km

Rating: 73% from 33 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostels in The Netherlands are generally much more expensive, less charming, and not as nice. They typically lack common areas, have no elevators, and there's no effort at decoration. This hostel fits but has the steepest, most precarious stairs I've EVER walked on -- they're half the width of normal stairs, and the incline is like climbing a ladder. It is the worst part of this hostel. It is also in an unmarked alley. However, the location and bathrooms are the nicest part. It was very clean.
  • 69%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Michael American
  • Hostel charges double, first without any information full money deducted from card and then again taken in cash. and no response on e-mail from hostel on that.
  • 49%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • Great location. Nice staff. Reasonably priced snacks/drinks. Staircase is more like a ladder lolol. Met some cool people there. I just had really loud obnoxious room mates...
  • 74%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • If it wasn't for the stairs I'd have no complaints whatsoever! But they were awful, more like a ladder, not good for anyone with joint problems or massive suitcases - there was no warning about them. Everything else was fantastic, especially location and value for money.
  • 91%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Catherine England
  • very good, has a dificult steirs, but so nice!
  • 83%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Fabio Brazil
  • Just do not go there!
  • 31%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • We were to girls visiting Amsterdam for the first time and the hostel was perfect for us. It is clean, very quiet and we had good nights in our 10 bed room..
  • 89%
  • 10 May 2014 Johnnie Diane USA
  • Conveniently located to the Centraal Station. The front desk area was kind of depressing and didn't set me in high hopes for the room. I was pleasantly surprised that it was clean, though it was super-minimal. Not worth the hundred dollars a night I was charged, though.
  • 60%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • 50 euros for a bed in a 10 peole room is greedy... Perfect location and good beds, that's it
  • 49%
  • 01 May 2014 FRANCESCO Italy
  • Very noisy, Is like you are not in a room but in the corridor
  • 46%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Luis Fernando Belgium
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »