See other Istanbul properties

Chambers of the Boheme

İstiklal Avenue, Kucukparmakkapi sokak No 13, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 91% from 27 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Chambers of the Boheme is a wonderful hostel in Istanbul. The location is perfect - it is near a lot of the key sights and sounds in the city and is within walking range to the historical sights in Sultanahmet. The staff at the hostel - Ahmet, Shireen, Sultan - are excellent and very helpful and they really enhanced my stay in the city. Just a warning, the neighborhood is very lively so if you are looking for peace and quiet you may want to look elsewhere in the city.
  • 100%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. It was a good experience. Staff are very helpful. They always come in handy when it comes to questions about istanbul. I felt very safe and cozy during my stay there. Definitely recommend this place!
  • 94%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Anonymous
  • An excellent place to hang your hat, take a shower and then head out. You really shouldn't stay here if you want to actually stay inside. This is JUST a place to put your stuff down, nap/sleep and clean up. And for the kind of money they charge, they provide exactly that. Nothing more , nothing less. Ahmed, Bilal and the entire staff is very helpful so if you have any questions, ask them! They really go out of their way. They also have a small cafe that you can buy breakfast items and snacks.
  • 89%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Anonymous India
  • The Hostel is very well located next to Taksim square, one go the most popular quarter in Istanbul The thing is There is loud music everyWhere in the area, you better bring your ear pluggs to sleep well The room was correct and the facilities (bit old and not always very clean) are in the corridor. Good experience in général and for people travelling alone, you will meet backpackers from all over the world
  • 80%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • Greetings from Finland! We liked this hostel a lot and will come back again:)
  • 94%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Alexander Finland
  • All in all it was a good hostel. The owner was really helpful. The noly things I didn't like were: absence of AC in the stairwell and tiny bathroom facilities, especially the shower.
  • 83%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous Kazakhstan
  • Friendly staff. I felt safe, the location was great. No frills but inexpensive and clean.
  • 91%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Alexander USA
  • Chambers of the Boheme is a wonderfully welcoming place. Located just a stroll away from Taksim Square and close to some excellent restaurants, it still offered quiet rooms and the chance of privacy. I especially liked the wooden floors and beautiful Oriental rugs, as well as the bar area with its unmistakable Art Nouveau tinge. Outside, one could enjoy a game of backgammon, drink chai and enjoy some hukka (or hookah, a shisha pipe). I experienced so much kindness and wonderful hospitality.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Zornitsa Bulgaria
  • The big dorm is on the 4th floor.( so a lot stairs to climb).and internet is only on the 2 firts floors. . that is about all the negative stuff that i can say about chambers Go there, i recommend it,
  • 97%
  • 07 Jul 2014 simon Canada
  • Absolutely wonderful! Everyone on staff is so sweet, and they genuinely want you to have a good time and explore Istanbul's culture. 100% would recommend this to anyone considering staying in Istanbul!
  • 97%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »