See other Berlin properties

Check In Hostel

Markgrafenstrasse 68, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 75% from 30 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice and clean place, very good location, reception 24h. Good deal for a few nights!
  • 89%
  • 21 Nov 2015 Tereza Czech Republic
  • The staff at the desk was great - very friendly helpful and informative. The room we stayed in (6 bed) was not nice. The beds were clean, but not comfortable. The room had a bad smell, not sure if it was the carpet (which was filthy) or something else. The bathroom stunk, probably hadn't been cleaned in weeks. Did not have an enjoyable stay here and definitely wouldn't return.
  • 54%
  • 05 Nov 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • There was a bomb from WWII being recovered in the area and the hostel had to be evacuated. I was not notified by the hostel. I learned from a friend and made other accommodations for the night. The next morning, they said allowing me to still check in was a favor as I still should have checked in the day before. I wasn't pleased with the communication from the hostel. Other than that, it was an adequate hostel.
  • 57%
  • 30 Oct 2015 Gregory USA
  • Really good hostel, well organised and clean
  • 100%
  • 25 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • The kitchen is really small and was always full around meals and was a struggle to use. The rooms were really hot, and I mean REALLY HOT. There was no sleeping after 8am. There are only 3 toilets for women for the whole floor that has around 25 rooms for 6/8 people and 3 showers. Every one left the doors open because of the heat and one morning there was a stanger sleeping in one of the free Beds. Not much of an atmosphere for socialising. The computers are locked and can't connect anything
  • 57%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • I was not happy with this hostel. I had booked the same room the whole time but they made me change floors in the middle of my stay. The wifi was the worst I've ever had and they wanted to post on your Facebook timeline. There were new stains every morning on the floors. Some of the outlets didn't work. And finally, only go there if you want a party because it's so loud especially next door and on the first floor. The staff told me to get out of the hall and supposedly disturbing people.Horrible
  • 37%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice hostels with big rooms, good value for money, you get what you pay for here... However, The hostel lacks atmosphere and the staff could be more enthusiastic and willing to help.. The common room closes at 12 which is a pity because it's the only area for people staying there to meet and chat. The staff are strict about guests coming in late and give out if you're too loud .. Overall it's not bad and I would return. However a few minor changes could make this hostel a great place to stay.
  • 71%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Compared to other hostels I have stayed at this one was just average. They didn't go above and beyond for any of the services that they provided. You can't do your own laundry here, they do it for you and they give it back to you pretty much still soaking wet in a bag.
  • 63%
  • 17 May 2015 Jacob Canada
  • The staff is always there to help. Really nice and cheap hostel. Lockers in the room (you need your own lock). Big rooms, great beds. There's a kitchen and a big living room with tv and games (for cold rainy nights). The showers are a bit poor. If you're of the first to take a shower (before 10-11am) you'll get hot water, but after that they run out. Wifi works great, except that you have to do "social log-in" to use it (just annoying). 10 min walking to Checkpoint Charlie (great location)
  • 91%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Yury Argentina
  • Really good hostel with nice and helpful staff, we spent there two nights and were satisfied.
  • 86%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Lucie Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »