See other Istanbul properties

Cheers Hostel

Alemdar Mahallesi, Zeynep Sultan Camii Sokak No 21, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 92% from 25 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel was absolutely great. The location is fantastic with an amazing view of the Hagia Sofia from the bar. Only a few minutes walk from Istanbul's top sights. Cheapest beer around. staff was great. From the minute I walked in, they knew me & none forgot my name for the duration of my stay... rooms were clean. Breakfast was nice. Zaman, the dog, was as friendly a pup as I've ever met. I made great friends here & had a wonderful experience. When I return to Istanbul, I WILL stay here again
  • 100%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • My stay at Cheers Hostel was a great one! The location is quite literally next to gorgeous attractions such as the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, and others, as well as a metro station to get to other parts of the city. Also, the hostel has a rooftop bar with an incredible view of Hagia Sophia! The staff at Cheers was incredibly welcoming and friendly, and really seemed committed to ensuring guests have a pleasant stay. The breakfast was great as well. Overall, I highly recommend Cheers
  • 97%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Sofia Denmark
  • This is my second visit to Cheers, and it's definitely not my last. Rooms are great, beds are great, and everyone's just super friendly and helpsome.It's without doubth the best hostel in Istanbul, and one of the cooles I've stayed in all over. - Ahmed at the desk is happy and helpfull as ever, and can always point you in the right direction of a good bar;) And remember to say Hi! to Zaman ;p
  • 100%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Eivind Norway
  • This hostel's location is great! A short walk to the main tourist attractions, and a few minute walk to the tram which connects you to the entire city. The staff was incredibly friendly,they didn't overload travelers with information on arrival, gave great recommendations, and were there to simply talk. The free breakfast was incredible (eggs, produce, bread, coffee, tea, etc)! The negative was the other travelers kept to themselves, but I've had other friends stay here with a great atmosphere!
  • 94%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Jennifer USA
  • great location & kind manager^^ It's so delicious apple tea & breakfast.
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Rooms nearby the bar upstairs can hear music late at night. It would be nice if the room can be soundproofed from noise from the bar. Other than that, It was a very pleasant experience
  • 77%
  • 06 Aug 2014 RON CARLO Canada
  • Unbeatable location, wonderful staff and a beautiful city made my vacations great!
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Cheers Hostel is in a great location, within walking distance of many of Istanbul's major tourist attractions. Friendly staff Tarik & Ahmet were very helpful during my stay. The room was clean and comfortable, with large lockers for storing personal items. Really fresh breakfast, included a lot of fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, tea, coffee etc. The hostel also has a great bar on the top floor with stunning views of the Aya Sofya. Very nice hostel, highly recommended for anyone visiting Istanbul!
  • 100%
  • 26 May 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Great location. Ahmet & Tarik were excellent hosts and provided everything we needed to know. Cheers has a tasty and expansive breakfast included. We had a private room which was very large. I would definitely recommend Cheers Hostel.
  • 100%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Always nice to come back to Cheers Hostel! =)
  • 97%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Kerstin Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »