See other New York properties

Chelsea Highline Hostel

184 11th Eleventh Avenue, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 63% from 21 reviews

  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 61%Value for money
  • 55%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice hotel, very clean, AC in room, only 2 beds are great. In my room was a lot of free space for baggage. As you can read in other comments, there is no elevator but it´s not so far to go up. Internet connection is only at reception. One cons was that the mattres which was really firm and you could easily feel springs inside. And also I would recommend to bring own blanket if you have one, the one in hotel was not really pleasant to touch.
  • 71%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Great location!
  • 80%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Jennifer Russia
  • Good location. A bit pricey, but I suspect that's on par for Manhattan.
  • 74%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • This hostel has more than 4 floors without elevator. I was in the fourth floor and the card key wasn´t working I had to go up and down every time I tried to use it, I told them and did nothing about it. The room is no more than 4x4 and if it is a mixed room you have no place to get changed. Only one restroom and shower working for over 40 people, and the floor was always flooded. The wifi connection only at the loby, wich has only place for 10 people sitting down.
  • 43%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Lucia Argentina
  • Great staff! Quite good location, close to galleries and the highline. A bit run down and old, noisy AC, but cheap!
  • 66%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Ingvild Norway
  • Awesome location between La Zona Rosa and Bosque de Chapultepec, but unfortunately in an alleyway that floods with some gross water when it rains - after taking off my shoes and walking through it I later saw a condom on the ground where the brown lake had been. It drains quickly, though! Staff are nice and friendly, they clean and mop multiple times a day, and there's a little rooftop hangout spot.
  • 83%
  • 30 May 2014 Paul USA
  • Well we were in Manhattrn and it was cheap, so that was what we wanted. But aside from that and the other international travelers, it didn't seem much like a hostel. It wasn't cute like its pictures. And it was way over on the NJ side so we had long walks to and from the hostel. The room was clean. The bathroom was nearly clean but not very many of them and you usually have to wait for one to open. We also had to wait quite a while for the desk staff to show up when checking in late - he came in
  • 66%
  • 24 May 2014 Tracy USA
  • In our room the waterpipe were dripping right into the outlet below. When the staff got told they didn't care. There is no isolation so you can hear everything from the street. We did not get clean sheets or towels either. Wi-fi is only in the lobby. Staff don't know anything about service (rude even) and it's not clean. The restrooms are very dirty.
  • 40%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Moa Sweden
  • I travelled the whole Europe and some parts of the United States and this is the worst hostel I've ever stayed so far. Breakfast is just bagel and coffee and coffee runs out after 30 minutes. When it rains, water is dropping from the ceiling and there is an awkward sound coming from the pipes that prevent you from sleeping. The location terrible is far away to Times Square or even to the subway stations. There is a M24 which only goes around Chelsea. Overall, I had a terrible experience.
  • 29%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • It a hotel not a hostel. It is cheap and very ideal if you have friends in New York. Not good for meeting people as the common room area is bad and two people are staying in a room. There is no kitchen. Very good location.
  • 83%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Undoubtedly one of the prettiest and most other-worldly sights you're going to see on this planet, this natural phenom is caused by the collision of electrically charged particles from the sun. To us, it's an eerie sheet of coloured light, like a big rave in the sky. And here are the top spots to watch it!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »