See other New York properties

Chelsea Highline Hostel

184 11th Eleventh Avenue, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 62% from 16 reviews

  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 67%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 57%Value for money
  • 55%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It a hotel not a hostel. It is cheap and very ideal if you have friends in New York. Not good for meeting people as the common room area is bad and two people are staying in a room. There is no kitchen. Very good location.
  • 83%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Anonymous
  • I lived in this hostel for two nights in New York City . The whole condition is acceptable, but the towel and sheet are really dirty with some marks of blood here. The bed is not comfortable either. Maybe I think the spring of is out of work. If you want to save you money , it is a good place to live except on new year when the price is really high, nearly 100 bucks per bad per night.
  • 51%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • Hostel was located is nice area of the city with some good restaurants and bar near by. However, what you get in the room is not worth the money you pay. No wifi in the room only in the lobby. Cannot bring food and drinks into the rooms. Bathrooms were not very clean but do have hot water.
  • 51%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Helen USA
  • Excellent area. No athmosphere at all. Staff average to poor.
  • 66%
  • 24 Nov 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • It is a very well located hostel for its price, although i believe there could be more sharing space (lobby is too small for the numbers of clients), free wi-fi inside the rooms (not only at the lobby) and also a bit more of attention from the staff. I tried to confirm my booking 3 times sending emails but never got a reply!!
  • 63%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Lucas Brazil
  • I selected this hostel because of location to the premise where I had a workshop. In general it is Ok to stay during the short period of time, however, I do not recommend to stay longer that 3-4 days maximum. If you will stay in double bed rooms or more it is good to come with your friends otherwise I lived with one freak, how returned to dorm after 3:00 AM and broke my sleep. I was fed up with him! I do not know but some type of face control might be helpful.
  • 60%
  • 26 Aug 2013 Anonymous Uzbekistan
  • The place was ugly, the beds are just pieces of metal making noise every single time you move, and there was always someone in the bathroom. Staff was rude. Good breakfast. I won't come back to that place.
  • 49%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Santiago Argentina
  • The bathroom floor was always flooded and steamy
  • 80%
  • 30 Jun 2013 Kyle USA
  • Don't expect to get what you see on the pics, you'll be very deceived by what you got. You have to share the 3 bathroom-restrooms with all the customers from your floor so don't expect it to be clean and non-flooded (unless you're lucky and you just enter the bathroom after a maid). To sum up the situation, you pay too much for what you get
  • 54%
  • 18 Apr 2013 Aymeric France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »