See other New York properties

Chelsea Highline Hostel

184 11th Eleventh Avenue, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 60% from 19 reviews

  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 67%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 60%Value for money
  • 48%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Cheap, but clean
  • 63%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Baptiste France
  • DONT STAY HERE! When I arrived to the Chelsea hostel they had no-one at reception. I had to wait about an hour before being able to check-in. Turns out there was seldom anyone manning the reception desk, which can be very frustrating. Beds were uncomfortable. Heatings bad. And I had a bag of clothes STOLEN by the staff!! when I called up to find out if they had it, they said they did and then stopped responding to my calls and e-mails. Also there were some junkies there - it's NOT SAFE for kids!
  • 20%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • There were 3 bathrooms serving one floor, keep in mind that the bathrooms were joined toilets + showers!, serving one floor! We estimate it to be around 40 people sharing 3 bathrooms male and female! This resulted in us not being able to go to the bathroom in the morning, which we think is unacceptable. Aside from that they offered breakfast and was overall fairly clean. But we wouldn't recommend staying there unless the bathroom situation changes.
  • 49%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Lea Denmark
  • Need to verify charges. I was told that I've been credited for the charge through Hostels so I signed my credit card receipt that shows a full night charged when I checked in. I still didn't see any credit.
  • 63%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous Laos
  • Nice hotel, very clean, AC in room, only 2 beds are great. In my room was a lot of free space for baggage. As you can read in other comments, there is no elevator but it´s not so far to go up. Internet connection is only at reception. One cons was that the mattres which was really firm and you could easily feel springs inside. And also I would recommend to bring own blanket if you have one, the one in hotel was not really pleasant to touch.
  • 71%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Great location!
  • 80%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Jennifer Russia
  • Good location. A bit pricey, but I suspect that's on par for Manhattan.
  • 74%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • This hostel has more than 4 floors without elevator. I was in the fourth floor and the card key wasn´t working I had to go up and down every time I tried to use it, I told them and did nothing about it. The room is no more than 4x4 and if it is a mixed room you have no place to get changed. Only one restroom and shower working for over 40 people, and the floor was always flooded. The wifi connection only at the loby, wich has only place for 10 people sitting down.
  • 43%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Lucia Argentina
  • Great staff! Quite good location, close to galleries and the highline. A bit run down and old, noisy AC, but cheap!
  • 66%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Ingvild Norway
  • Awesome location between La Zona Rosa and Bosque de Chapultepec, but unfortunately in an alleyway that floods with some gross water when it rains - after taking off my shoes and walking through it I later saw a condom on the ground where the brown lake had been. It drains quickly, though! Staff are nice and friendly, they clean and mop multiple times a day, and there's a little rooftop hangout spot.
  • 83%
  • 30 May 2014 Paul USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »