See other New York properties

Chelsea Highline Hostel

184 11th Eleventh Avenue, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 61% from 19 reviews

  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 71%Location
  • 58%Value for money
  • 55%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great staff! Quite good location, close to galleries and the highline. A bit run down and old, noisy AC, but cheap!
  • 66%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Ingvild Norway
  • Awesome location between La Zona Rosa and Bosque de Chapultepec, but unfortunately in an alleyway that floods with some gross water when it rains - after taking off my shoes and walking through it I later saw a condom on the ground where the brown lake had been. It drains quickly, though! Staff are nice and friendly, they clean and mop multiple times a day, and there's a little rooftop hangout spot.
  • 83%
  • 30 May 2014 Paul USA
  • Well we were in Manhattrn and it was cheap, so that was what we wanted. But aside from that and the other international travelers, it didn't seem much like a hostel. It wasn't cute like its pictures. And it was way over on the NJ side so we had long walks to and from the hostel. The room was clean. The bathroom was nearly clean but not very many of them and you usually have to wait for one to open. We also had to wait quite a while for the desk staff to show up when checking in late - he came in
  • 66%
  • 24 May 2014 Tracy USA
  • In our room the waterpipe were dripping right into the outlet below. When the staff got told they didn't care. There is no isolation so you can hear everything from the street. We did not get clean sheets or towels either. Wi-fi is only in the lobby. Staff don't know anything about service (rude even) and it's not clean. The restrooms are very dirty.
  • 40%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Moa Sweden
  • I travelled the whole Europe and some parts of the United States and this is the worst hostel I've ever stayed so far. Breakfast is just bagel and coffee and coffee runs out after 30 minutes. When it rains, water is dropping from the ceiling and there is an awkward sound coming from the pipes that prevent you from sleeping. The location terrible is far away to Times Square or even to the subway stations. There is a M24 which only goes around Chelsea. Overall, I had a terrible experience.
  • 29%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • It a hotel not a hostel. It is cheap and very ideal if you have friends in New York. Not good for meeting people as the common room area is bad and two people are staying in a room. There is no kitchen. Very good location.
  • 83%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Anonymous
  • I lived in this hostel for two nights in New York City . The whole condition is acceptable, but the towel and sheet are really dirty with some marks of blood here. The bed is not comfortable either. Maybe I think the spring of is out of work. If you want to save you money , it is a good place to live except on new year when the price is really high, nearly 100 bucks per bad per night.
  • 51%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • Hostel was located is nice area of the city with some good restaurants and bar near by. However, what you get in the room is not worth the money you pay. No wifi in the room only in the lobby. Cannot bring food and drinks into the rooms. Bathrooms were not very clean but do have hot water.
  • 51%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Helen USA
  • Excellent area. No athmosphere at all. Staff average to poor.
  • 66%
  • 24 Nov 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • It is a very well located hostel for its price, although i believe there could be more sharing space (lobby is too small for the numbers of clients), free wi-fi inside the rooms (not only at the lobby) and also a bit more of attention from the staff. I tried to confirm my booking 3 times sending emails but never got a reply!!
  • 63%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Lucas Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »