See other New York properties

Chelsea Highline Youth Hotel

184 11th Eleventh Avenue, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 57% from 19 reviews

  • 51%Atmosphere
  • 62%Staff
  • 61%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 55%Value for money
  • 42%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff is really friendly and helpful to give you tips and places to go around, the beds are not that comfortable but not a deal breaker, wi-fi only works on the lobby/common area.
  • 80%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I regret saying that this was a very disappointing experience. Rooms are old, not cleaned daily, and in some of them the A/C does not work. Several times during the day, there is nobody at the reception - so anybody could enter the hostel without being stopped. There is no mop available for drying the bathroom after taking a shower.
  • 46%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Guilherme Brazil
  • This hostel was great. I read bad reviews about it online and was worried it would be bad, but it was in fact, totally great. I wanted to visit New York City on a budget and it was the cheapest place I could find. But seriously, its all you need to have a good place to stay. If you are very picky person and need chocolate on your pillows every night then this is not the place for you. But if you're going to travel and just need a clean, dry, safe place to sleep at night you will be satisfied!
  • 100%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Awful. Paper thin walls - don't bank on sleeping Some of the staff are amazingly rude Not sure my sheets had even been washed Bathrooms are unhygienic
  • 34%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Victoria Australia
  • In my first room the roof had holes.I could see how it was built and there was missing a lot of cement in depth, the rusty iron building frame!I tried to get to the upper bed because the first was occupied but it was so light that it tilted.I couldn't get up! It should have at least be nailed on the wall!And the worst was that when I closed the door behind me it wouldn't lock!THE DOOR STAYED OPEN IN ALL TIMES!Breakfast is bread, butter, sugar, coffee, milk.Use that money for serious repairs.
  • 37%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Sapfo Maria
  • The worse experience ever
  • 31%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Guillaume France
  • Cheap, but clean
  • 63%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Baptiste France
  • DONT STAY HERE! When I arrived to the Chelsea hostel they had no-one at reception. I had to wait about an hour before being able to check-in. Turns out there was seldom anyone manning the reception desk, which can be very frustrating. Beds were uncomfortable. Heatings bad. And I had a bag of clothes STOLEN by the staff!! when I called up to find out if they had it, they said they did and then stopped responding to my calls and e-mails. Also there were some junkies there - it's NOT SAFE for kids!
  • 20%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • There were 3 bathrooms serving one floor, keep in mind that the bathrooms were joined toilets + showers!, serving one floor! We estimate it to be around 40 people sharing 3 bathrooms male and female! This resulted in us not being able to go to the bathroom in the morning, which we think is unacceptable. Aside from that they offered breakfast and was overall fairly clean. But we wouldn't recommend staying there unless the bathroom situation changes.
  • 49%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Lea Denmark
  • Need to verify charges. I was told that I've been credited for the charge through Hostels so I signed my credit card receipt that shows a full night charged when I checked in. I still didn't see any credit.
  • 63%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous Laos
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »