See other New York properties

Chelsea Highline Youth Hotel

184 11th Eleventh Avenue, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 59% from 23 reviews

  • 54%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 63%Security
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 56%Value for money
  • 43%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Warning, Warning! Seriously, never stay here! We decided to stay longer in NYC, and there were two days where we had not a place to stay. Same day we found this place for an ok price. We were in a hurry and needed a place to stay, so we booked a room for two nights. I wish we had known then what we know now. Looks like homeless shelter, no elevator, staff not available all the time, air condition sounds like a construction site, felt sick to live in the room, a lot of traffic noise.
  • 37%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Lasse Andree Norway
  • I was hoping for a very quick check in late at night, but my timing was bad - the woman behind the desk said 'wait 5 minutes' and then she leisurely counted all the cash in the register as it was the end of her shift. She had no concern that I was standing there and sort of seemed to enjoy it making me and the others behind me wait. The very pleasant young man who eventually took over from her apologized and provided excellent service. Very basic accommodation, but cheap and well located.
  • 71%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Terrible experience. Bedbugs. Desk staff were helpful but the manager was impossible to reach and it took several weeks for me to finally get a refund.
  • 43%
  • 11 Jul 2015 kateri USA
  • Everything is breaking, or leaking, I feel like I'm going to fall through the floor boats. Ride staff. Loud beds. Great location close to greenwich and west village
  • 43%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Anonymous
  • The staff is really friendly and helpful to give you tips and places to go around, the beds are not that comfortable but not a deal breaker, wi-fi only works on the lobby/common area.
  • 80%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I regret saying that this was a very disappointing experience. Rooms are old, not cleaned daily, and in some of them the A/C does not work. Several times during the day, there is nobody at the reception - so anybody could enter the hostel without being stopped. There is no mop available for drying the bathroom after taking a shower.
  • 46%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Guilherme Brazil
  • This hostel was great. I read bad reviews about it online and was worried it would be bad, but it was in fact, totally great. I wanted to visit New York City on a budget and it was the cheapest place I could find. But seriously, its all you need to have a good place to stay. If you are very picky person and need chocolate on your pillows every night then this is not the place for you. But if you're going to travel and just need a clean, dry, safe place to sleep at night you will be satisfied!
  • 100%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Awful. Paper thin walls - don't bank on sleeping Some of the staff are amazingly rude Not sure my sheets had even been washed Bathrooms are unhygienic
  • 34%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Victoria Australia
  • In my first room the roof had holes.I could see how it was built and there was missing a lot of cement in depth, the rusty iron building frame!I tried to get to the upper bed because the first was occupied but it was so light that it tilted.I couldn't get up! It should have at least be nailed on the wall!And the worst was that when I closed the door behind me it wouldn't lock!THE DOOR STAYED OPEN IN ALL TIMES!Breakfast is bread, butter, sugar, coffee, milk.Use that money for serious repairs.
  • 37%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Sapfo Maria
  • The worse experience ever
  • 31%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Guillaume France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »