See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 240 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Tiny room but what can you expect in NYC :)
  • 71%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Anonymous Israel
  • The people in the front office were helpful and kind. The others staying at the hostel were loud in the halls. My room was on the street so my stay included street noises that in NYC do not stop. Bathrooms and showers were clean and cleaned. I felt safe. My room was warm as it got cold during my time in the city, so that was good.
  • 83%
  • 17 Oct 2014 tracey USA
  • For the best experience, choose the private room with a bathroom; the shared bathroom was kind of gross (no soap???).
  • 71%
  • 17 Oct 2014 David Canada
  • I'd recommend that you fix the bathroom door of the private double w/ private bathroom in the building next to the office. Also, be more clear about how the storage lockers downstairs work. We were confused until we spotted the machine. Hand soap would have been very nice.
  • 60%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Towels, blankets, bed sheets.. everything is very unclean. I found a piece of dirty toilet paper in-between the blanket. I think someone who stayed there put it on purpose to prove that they don't wash the blanket after it has been used. Also, the towel was disgustingly dirty. I can see that the bed sheets have been unwashed for a while. I would not go there ever. If I only pay 20 more bucks I can stay at a far better and cleaner places, say YMCA.
  • 60%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • It was the my second time in the hostel and I have still been impressed as I was the first time. I just love it!!! The security is great. The location is awesome and the staff is very helpful and the place is very clean. I cant wait to get back to New York and get back in this hostel
  • 100%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Nice hostel! Good value for money. The room and toilet was clean every morning. Locker inside the room. Good location! The only problem was there was no WiFi inside the rooms... only at the common áreas and as I was in the other building, I had to go far to use... but it was fine...
  • 94%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I had a great stay. It was great being in Chelsea, steps away from subway lines on 8th and 7th and only a few blocks from the High Line. I just wish either the common room stayed open longer or why not put wifi in all areas? I stayed in a single and was accommodating enough.
  • 94%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Amanda Canada
  • NYC on the cheap. clean space, nice people, nothing fancy. best value for the money you'll find.
  • 86%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Christopher Bangladesh
  • Location is very good. You need to pay with extra tax around 16%.(official price will be charged even you paid some as a budget) There's no airconditioner in the room, so little bad for cooling. No elevator or escarlator, old bed & cabinet. Bathroom was very tight for only one person, but good facility for hot water. one pice of bed cover and tower for whole dates. Breakfast-cereal,coffee,juice-free/1 Bagle&1fruit with ticket(get when chekcin) for one day. Free pizza at night. Averagely good.
  • 80%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »