See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 231 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location was really great BUT Wifi was not working at all for 3 days I stayed there.
  • 54%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Patricia Germany
  • Better wi-fi accessibility would be great. Had a couple of great late night staff help me out but the guy who checked me in seemed to hate life.
  • 80%
  • 07 Dec 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • More or thicker blankets for winter season
  • 66%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good situation in Chelsea, so quiet and just in front of 10th precinct.
  • 77%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Arrived late night. Met with verry litle service minded person. The creditcardsystem was not in order. Denied to be booked in, had been traveling for more than 24 ohurs, was forced to go out to find cash.automat. I offered to leav my passport over night so i could get into bed. Denied. Felt not trsted. Not very happy with the treatment.
  • 40%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Sigrun Norway
  • Bad things : Administrator is really grumpy and don't have patience with intetnational people, They close the common areas at 1100 so you cannot share with the other people of the hostel too much time
  • 69%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Anonymous Chile
  • WiFi signal coverage needs a lot of work. The Wednesday night free pizza was very as was the free stand up comedian on Tuesday.
  • 71%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Theodore USA
  • The desk boy actually told me to f... My self after I asked him something he already told me, at 2am, that was after scolding me for ringing the bell door (even with the sign at the door saying "please ring the bell"). The blanket was full of people hair.
  • 43%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Tiago Brazil
  • great value for ny good posistion
  • 80%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • This is basic accommodation but fine for the price! Breakfast is included which is adequate, bagel (lovely toasted twice!) piece of fruit,butter and jam. There is also unlimited coffee or tea and cereal (corn flakes) and milk, which was absolutely fine for me. Hostel is only 2 blocks from a metro so you can start your adventure there. Also there are plenty of places to eat nearby if you want to be closer to home after food/drink, just look around to find something that suits!
  • 83%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »