See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 222 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Two bed room, F8, was excellent. There was enough room for two. One bed privates though are scary small, my friend described it as; "It looks like a prison room, I will never stay in such a room", it was for room F3. It would be great if the rest rooms also have a sink.
  • 89%
  • 28 Feb 2015 selen Turkey
  • There are a few things that I dislike about this place: 1. Cleanliness, this place is kind of dirty; The toilet is terrible. My towel looked like it wasn't even washed. The bed sheet had stains on it. 2. Atmosphere, It is not a very social place 3. Facilities, The shower was terrible. The shower was barely just warm enough. It was very uncomfortable
  • 54%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I usually heard noises in the building about 6 a.m. and 7 a.m.
  • 89%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Jaime Spain
  • there is a pipe inside a 2 beds bedroom which gets really hot and then it gets cold, for some reason. and from where it comes from, i dont know, theres a noise every now and then even in the middle of the night, in which, its like someone is banging or hitting the pipe or it sounds like somebody is working on a pipe. i dont understand the noise. its just very annoying especially at midnight. we cant sleep.
  • 69%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Mufti Philippines
  • Reasonable price and perfect location!
  • 86%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great location, friendly staff, wifi works only in the common area and the breakfast is not the best, but for the value is a great deal. I certainly would stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 11 Feb 2015 Patricia Brazil
  • Bit of a tight squeeze but the location was great, and the price was good for a couple nights stopover. Bathrooms were interesting, but at the price paid I wasn't expecting a spa bath, just maybe something a little cleaner. Otherwise was fairly happy with it. Glad for the lockers
  • 71%
  • 04 Feb 2015 Keilah Australia
  • I've stayed in a number of hostels across a number of countries and continents; this was the worst of them. After one night at Chelsea International I decided to check out, five nights earlier than planed. I was able to get a refund for nights I did not spend at the hostel, which surprised me because previously staff had been so deeply unhelpful, brisk, and disinterested.
  • 43%
  • 01 Feb 2015 Daniel Australia
  • Great and friendly staff. Very accommodating - I accidentally booked my room for the following night and they were able to adjust to get me that night. Very basic, simply plain, no thrills hostel, but clean. Central location to uptown and downtown. Police station across the street. Subway within 2 blocks either direction. Will definitely stay here anytime I'm going to be spending time in lower Manhattan.
  • 74%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I really enjoyed the freedom of having my own keys to the facilities. I would suggest that the lockers be changed for ones which can be locked with any kind of locks. Also, it would be nice to have more hangers or small shelves in the shower, as well as bathroom mats. Regarding breakfast, personally I would prefer eating with non-disposable dishes and helping with the washing-up, as I have done in other hostels before.
  • 83%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Carolina Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »