See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 221 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I think it is great that there is a simple, reasonable alternative to the high priced NYC hotels. I am NYC to be in the city, not to sit around my hotel. The hostel had everything I needed.
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Larry was fantastic! Our first night he gave us a few recommendations for dinner and going out the the highline. All were just what we were looking for
  • 100%
  • 20 May 2015 Samantha USA
  • The staff are not so polite. It is very well located.
  • 57%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • It was an okay Hostel, nor good nor bad. A little bit pricey but then again it is New-York. There was no A/C in the rooms which made my sleep uncomfortable. Wifi only in common area, theres none in the rooms, thats the only thing that could be improved.
  • 60%
  • 12 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The isn't a ventilator and air conditioning in the room, the noise of the street almost don't let you sleep. The staff are very kind.
  • 60%
  • 09 May 2015 ALBERT Brazil
  • Great locations but some of the staff were not very friendly. The rooms were tiny but clean. I had a good stay all in all!
  • 71%
  • 02 May 2015 Maria Victoria Sweden
  • We had an excellent stay in one of your ensuite rooms and it couldn't have been cleaner or more suited to our needs. Thank you!
  • 97%
  • 30 Apr 2015 Daniel USA
  • Very close to Subway, good neighborhood. Very limited breakfast. Overall, I had a nice stay.
  • 77%
  • 21 Apr 2015 ANNA TEREZA Brazil
  • Excellent location, clean and great value for money. Would stay again
  • 80%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Bathroom on the third floor was not working......The Room's lock didn't make me look like it is a save place to leave even my bag. You really can do a better job about it. But at the end...had a good night sleep.
  • 63%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Juozas USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »