See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 77% from 94 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was fine albeit the kitchen facilities very basic and no real common area to meet people. Unfortunately I was there for 6 nights and didn't have hot water once in the shower, even after bringing it up with management.
  • 69%
  • 27 Nov 2016 Kate Australia
  • Hostel staff were always helpful and friendly, and the rooms, bedding, shower and toliet were all clean, and the halls cleaned every morning. The only slight downside was that some parts needed refurbished and the common area was a bit small and uncomortable. Despite that, I would recommend the hostel as a cheap, clean place to stay with easy access to the rest of New York. Did the job that I needed it for, which was a place to sleep and stow my stuff~
  • 77%
  • 13 Nov 2016 Catriona Scotland
  • Fabulous for the low-maintenance guest who wants to be in the center of the universe for a reasonable price. If you are pampered, stay somewhere else.
  • 100%
  • 12 Nov 2016 Anonymous USA
  • clean clean clean-best ever-breakfast and pixxa at night-very close to 23rd st station
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2016 lori lee Canada
  • It was pretty good. Though didn't it have good wifi.
  • 71%
  • 05 Nov 2016 Alexandra Finland
  • This place was booked full for my original travel dates so I switched them so I could stay here. It's my fault it's so busy because I always give it the best reviews! My go to place in NYC. Love it! Clean, accessible to public transportation, nearby grocery stores, nice staff and fun people stay here.
  • 94%
  • 04 Nov 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I didn't like staff, rude, no manners and not hospitality. Felt uncomfortable and Mistreated by one of employees.
  • 63%
  • 05 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was great!
  • 100%
  • 26 Sep 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • The outside locker systems are horrible, and its a fortune taken out of you. I was mistreated by a worker, and the stairs are just horrible if you have a suitcase. No elevators, many floors, and the breakfast - horrible too. Never coming back again.
  • 40%
  • 21 Sep 2016 Akemi Brazil
  • A wonderful surprise after staying in two inferior hostels - one in CA, and one in NYC. Chelsea International was much more than I expected. So clean and welcoming and never a worry about safety in that neighborhood. Highly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2016 Terry USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »