See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 211 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Rooms look like prison cells. You cannot open widows. Heating is either shut down or boiling. Only place with wifi is kitchen with dining room. Too expensive for what you get.
  • 63%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Anonymous Slovakia
  • The stuff forgot to give me tickets for the breakfast,I don't know it at all until I saw someone had the same breakfast ;and the stuffs working there are rude and no patient,u can't get any informations from then!and also the luagages keeping is not free ,charging from$3-5!are they so poor! The bathroom is dirty that cant flushing so u know what happen!i won't come back for sure!
  • 40%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Qisnqian China
  • Excelent location, the rooms works well, very clean. Luciano is awesome, allways helpfull and he speak English, Spanish and Portuguese !
  • 74%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Amilcar Argentina
  • I stayed at the single room with the shared bathroom. The room and a bath were clean enough. The staff was friendly and helpful. What I liked: the good location, only 7 minutes to the nearest subway and about 20 minutes walk to the Times Square. What I didn't like: tiny room, no facilities to hang the clothes and wet towel at all, quite noizy during the night, you can hear absolutely everything what going on outside. The breakfast was very poor for the price of 75$ per night.
  • 66%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Victoria Russia
  • My girlfriend spent a long weekend in New York and I felt as if was the most ideal place to stay. The room was nice (A/C and sink), the bathroom was clean, and the noise level was next to none. It was located between the Statue of Liberty/ 9/11 Memorial Museum and Times Square/Empire State Building. There was also food very close by which was also a nice bonus. Lastly the area is very, very safe, as there's a police precinct right outside the hostel. It's an affordable, nice place for travelers.
  • 83%
  • 18 Sep 2015 Mark USA
  • Very dirty and old, the air conditioning extrememely old and NOISY!From the street awful noise,impossible to sleep
  • 54%
  • 15 Sep 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • First time in NY and I thought the hostel was an excellent location with easy access to public transport to get you to wherever you want to go around town. Front desk was all very friendly and helpful. Rooms and general facilities are standard and all you need, nothing flashy. Overall great place for the value.
  • 80%
  • 13 Sep 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Good: location, breakfast, hot shower, Soso: WiFi, Bad: dirty bathroom, uncomfortable bed, smelly blanket, no-open window
  • 66%
  • 11 Sep 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • A few things will annoy you when coming to this hostel. Those little attention to detail things are just not present. 1) If you are an American citizen, why do you need to show your passport? What is the point of being a American citizen in the United States if you have to show your passport. A state ID should be suffice. 2) Late night hostel staff guy was very rude. 3) Although hostel is maintained and cleaned, some of the bathrooms need to be upgraded.
  • 49%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Abbesi USA
  • I had a great time staying at Chelsea. Their staff are really nice especially David.
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Anonymous Philippines
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »