See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 230 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very close to Subway, good neighborhood. Very limited breakfast. Overall, I had a nice stay.
  • 77%
  • 21 Apr 2015 ANNA TEREZA Brazil
  • Excellent location, clean and great value for money. Would stay again
  • 80%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Bathroom on the third floor was not working......The Room's lock didn't make me look like it is a save place to leave even my bag. You really can do a better job about it. But at the end...had a good night sleep.
  • 63%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Juozas USA
  • Good location, but the room wasnt so good
  • 74%
  • 02 Apr 2015 Caroline Brazil
  • Double room without bath large and clean and with good light, on a quiet side (courtyard). However, it was bare: only the bed: no table, no chair, no shelf, no no hook, no horizontal surface to put things on, except the bed! Hooks and shelf for toiletry needed! A small table (and chairs) would be a great plus!
  • 83%
  • 02 Apr 2015 gwendoline Canada
  • It's kind of small, but it really meets the basic needs. The perfect place if you're planning to go to sleep rather than expending to much time indoors. It's well located, and near from central places around Manhattan. A good and affordable choice.
  • 86%
  • 31 Mar 2015 Orlando Colombia
  • I stayed at a private two bedroom ensuite and the bathroom was clean, towels and sheets were clean as well. Location is great situated between midtown and lower Manhattan. Traveling to Soho, Chinatown, Times Square, st. Marks place... Are all easily accessible via metro which is only a couple streets up or down. The only downside are the occasional loud inhabitants that disrupt your sleep but that is to be expected at a hostel. Breakfast is simple and is a great way to meet ppl.
  • 74%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Jan Michael USA
  • These are older facilities - so they're small with quirks like two single power outlets, poor wifi and limited common area. That said, the location is wonderful, breakfast is included, the staff was helpful and if you're just needing a place to sleep (bring earplugs) in a fun part of the city this is a great deal. This is my second time to this hostel and I'm planning on coming back to it again the next time I'm in New York.
  • 89%
  • 26 Mar 2015 Ariel USA
  • Great little place if you're a single traveler just looking for somewhere to sleep and take a shower (and eat a simple breakfast) to continue your travels/exploration. The room was very warm and the shower water pressure was fantastic for a hostel. The shower is a bit on the small side, however, with "just enough" room. I would recommend if you don't plan on spending much time chilling in your room and plan on spending most of your day exploring NY this would be a great option for you.
  • 100%
  • 22 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The guy who I think is the owner was not polite at all when I came to do check-in. The WiFi is available only in the common area, which works just until 11 pm. The heater was making noise most part of the night. However, I admit the room was very clean, the location is perfect and the breakfast was good. Therefore, I classify this hostel between average and good.
  • 77%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »