See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 238 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice hostel! Good value for money. The room and toilet was clean every morning. Locker inside the room. Good location! The only problem was there was no WiFi inside the rooms... only at the common áreas and as I was in the other building, I had to go far to use... but it was fine...
  • 94%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I had a great stay. It was great being in Chelsea, steps away from subway lines on 8th and 7th and only a few blocks from the High Line. I just wish either the common room stayed open longer or why not put wifi in all areas? I stayed in a single and was accommodating enough.
  • 94%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Amanda Canada
  • NYC on the cheap. clean space, nice people, nothing fancy. best value for the money you'll find.
  • 86%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Christopher Bangladesh
  • No AC or fan in the room with a 81 F degrees! And if you sleep with an open window you get woken up by chit chatters out in the courtyard!
  • 60%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Ana Brazil
  • Chelsea is good, clean room and bathroom, good swimwear and bed linen. The room is small but is enough to whom wish just sleep e enjoy the city. Close to the subway station, you can go by walking to Times Square also there are good restaurants around there. I can conclude that is a comfortable hostel.
  • 77%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Aristides Brazil
  • We book and individual room, the room was definitely below our expectations. Very cold, located on the basement...
  • 69%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Alejandro Spain
  • Terrible place. The private room was a depressing cell with holes in the walls(RATS!), dirt everywhere and one of those push-button locks made for bathrooms, NOT for security. Also, this hostel has several different street doors which means that staff have no way of knowing who is going into rooms. These doors also have inadequate locks. I like hostels because they're always full of happy, excited people and their energy fills the place. This dump felt more like a homeless shelter. AVOID!!!!!
  • 43%
  • 24 Sep 2014 Dan Canada
  • The hostel is very well located. If you just want to sleep, this place is the best. If I went to NYC again, I would stay there.
  • 91%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Diana Isabel Colombia
  • I had a great Time the little time I spend at this place.. Thanks for all
  • 100%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • The hostel is pretty good. However, WiFi connection is ONLY in common area which is closed after 11pm. This is the only thing which I do not like. I would appreciate to have WiFi on the room as standard.
  • 74%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »