See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 221 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is very good placr to stay in, staff is very kind, area is quiet safe and central
  • 89%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Bunyamin Turkey
  • Very clean hostel, great location and good service... The only downsize is there is no elevator so to carry luggage is a hustle, but this is very common in NY. Over all was excellent
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2015 Barbara Brazil
  • It's just an average hostel within a good location for a bus or train ride to main attractions in Manhattan. The staffs just feel that they did good job by taking your money and handing over the hostel keys. They just don't care if you got any complains as they will have more people lining up for rooms by next morning. The rent is quite high for an average hostel in New York city. If you're willing to pay a bit extra bucks, you better off find a good 2 star hotel somewhere else!
  • 57%
  • 13 Aug 2015 Mohd Noor Malaysia
  • Very simple, but I was surprised by how incredibly clean it was. I saw no bugs or cobwebs or anything like that that I would normally sort of take for granted at a cheap hostel. I had a private room with a shared bath, but still had a handbasin in my room which was very convenient. The location in Chelsea was perfect. Lots of nice restaurants, stores, and several metro stops nearby. If you basically need an affordable place that is a roof over your head and a decent bed, this is the place.
  • 83%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Helenah Sweden
  • Improve staff hospitality.
  • 71%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Ricardo Jorge
  • Excellent rapport qualité / prix. Chambre sécurisée avec lit double confortable. Salle de bain et wc privés très propres. Chambre donnant sur la rue très bruyante !!! Petit-déjeuner compris dans le prix Très bien situé dans le quartier dynamique de Chelsea. Proche de Times Square, Flatiron Building, Madison Square, Penn Station. Excellent price / quality ratio. Secure room with comfortable double bed. Bathrooms and toilets very clean. Room is very noisy!!! Breakfast included in the price Conve
  • 94%
  • 30 Jul 2015 MARLENE France
  • The Hostel is fantastic! Only 15 min walking from TSq. Very close to subway, groceries and Starbucks 😊 one and only minus is very loud AC. I spent there a week and it was really good. Nice, safe area!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Easy to get to and to find. Staff were nice and the place served us very well for a short stop-over in NY.
  • 83%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Liv Denmark
  • Enougth good for a couple of nithgs in NY, Manhattan, because its good location.
  • 66%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Victor Spain
  • I feel myself as I have in my own home,always I return here,the brekfast is good,the location excellent in the heart of Chelsea,there are many facilities for visit all interesting places of N Y.I follow choosing this pleasant hostel.
  • 74%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »