See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 223 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Simple, just ok.
  • 80%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I've stayed here multiple times. Works every time. Rooms are basic and beds are reasonably good. Good hostel for a reasonable price. Thanks again!
  • 86%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Elias Finland
  • Kinda grubby. I only stayed there because it was the only place available on a last minute booking. Its not necessarily unsanitary, but the building and beds and lockers are just pretty old and run down. No bed bugs or anything real gross. I'll never stay there again. For that kind of money I can go to a half-dozen other hostels that are cleaner and a bit nicer for LESS money. Wi-fi decent. Location is decent, but with the subway system I'd go somewhere nicer and just commute.
  • 54%
  • 14 Aug 2014 BRanon Canada
  • Adequate for my minimalist travel needs. The bed was firm and comfy, the shower and bathroom were very clean, and the location was perfect walking distance from the subway and the Flatiron building. Will definitely consider returning to this hostel whenever I return to NYC.
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Emmanuel Canada
  • You're not going to love the place, but it's not terrible and the location is pretty convenient. It's a little overpriced for anywhere else, but Manhattan the pricing is acceptable. And that seems to be the ultimate goal of the place, to be acceptable. It doesn't always reach that goal, but if all you want is somewhere to sleep and a central base for a few days, it should do the job.
  • 57%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Dean Canada
  • there is a paper from the hotel saying they are not responsible for all the security issue. Location is good because it is almost in the center of New York City. Staff, they changed a lot. some are good, some not. Atmosphere is good, not created by the staff, but by the roomate in the entire hotel. in the common area, every night, people gather together and chat, that is a lot of fun! Cleanliness is good except the strange smell of the towel. Facilities are really old.
  • 60%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I twisted my ankle during my trip and asked for a room on the first floor to avoid the stairs, but it seemed like the guy at the reception didn't care about it and just said there was no room. The room (2-bed dorm) is SO small that I could barely walk with other person beside and my bed was a little bit crooked, awful room. The breakfast was just ok. The hostel is located in a central area and it's very close to the subway 18th station (red line) or 23th station (blue line).
  • 57%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great value and location.
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Victoria USA
  • The location is the best thing, if I'll go back in NY I would go there again. The hostel is pretty clean, I mean, it is always an hostel. The Wifi works only in the shared area and is pretty slow. The breakfast is ridiculous, few basic stuff. I had a double private room. It was very essential but it served me pretty well. There was air conditioning and it was pretty silent. Considering the prices in NY I think it is really convenient.
  • 86%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Giorgio Italy
  • The hostel is near the subway, which allows you to go anywhere! The rooms are clean and staff are really helpful. There's a lot of places around, where you can buy anything you might need; such as pharmacies, restaurants, markets... Great hostel!
  • 91%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »