See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 231 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • great value for ny good posistion
  • 80%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • This is basic accommodation but fine for the price! Breakfast is included which is adequate, bagel (lovely toasted twice!) piece of fruit,butter and jam. There is also unlimited coffee or tea and cereal (corn flakes) and milk, which was absolutely fine for me. Hostel is only 2 blocks from a metro so you can start your adventure there. Also there are plenty of places to eat nearby if you want to be closer to home after food/drink, just look around to find something that suits!
  • 83%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • That hostel is definitely not used to its full potential. The problem is the lack of vision. It would not take much to change the appearance of the rooms: Freshen up the walls with a new coat of paint, add some pictures, exit the ugly old metal lockers and above all, exit the old beds in iron with old spring mattresses, so discomfortable that I had to sleep on the floor, this is unacceptable! Why not buy comfortable and inexpensive beds with foam mattresses? Continue below...
  • 86%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Christine Canada
  • Hotel and location was fine. But no internet other than in one little room seems a bit old school. Other than that is was fine but the price was the issue. For a hostel is was really expensive. So fine hostel, but no value for money
  • 63%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • friendly staff, good atmosphere. thanks for the hospitality.
  • 89%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • Tiny room but what can you expect in NYC :)
  • 71%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Anonymous Israel
  • The people in the front office were helpful and kind. The others staying at the hostel were loud in the halls. My room was on the street so my stay included street noises that in NYC do not stop. Bathrooms and showers were clean and cleaned. I felt safe. My room was warm as it got cold during my time in the city, so that was good.
  • 83%
  • 17 Oct 2014 tracey USA
  • For the best experience, choose the private room with a bathroom; the shared bathroom was kind of gross (no soap???).
  • 71%
  • 17 Oct 2014 David Canada
  • I'd recommend that you fix the bathroom door of the private double w/ private bathroom in the building next to the office. Also, be more clear about how the storage lockers downstairs work. We were confused until we spotted the machine. Hand soap would have been very nice.
  • 60%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Towels, blankets, bed sheets.. everything is very unclean. I found a piece of dirty toilet paper in-between the blanket. I think someone who stayed there put it on purpose to prove that they don't wash the blanket after it has been used. Also, the towel was disgustingly dirty. I can see that the bed sheets have been unwashed for a while. I would not go there ever. If I only pay 20 more bucks I can stay at a far better and cleaner places, say YMCA.
  • 60%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »