See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 80% from 65 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • All are perfect, just the front desk person (man) was not very friendly.
  • 80%
  • 03 May 2017 Joel Brazil
  • As for security - it´s not that it feels unsafe, there is a police station right across the street. But the doors are open, so everybody can walk in from the street, and they don´t need to pass reception to go to the rooms.
  • 77%
  • 26 Apr 2017 Anette Denmark
  • Decent place in a great location. I will come back
  • 86%
  • 19 Apr 2017 Milada Czech Republic
  • The location was amazing! The hostel room and facilities were simple, but everything you need.
  • 89%
  • 17 Mar 2017 Anonymous Canada
  • I was traveling alone as a 51 year male enjoying the city. I was very pleases with my private room. Very simple and clean. I am so pleased I will likely return with my wife and 9 year old child and book a larger room. So nice to get such a value in the big city. 5 Minute walk to the subway. Rite Aid and local restaurants next door allow for greater convenience. All you can eat Corn Flakes with whole milk , a piece of fruit and a bagel in the morning was a great start. I stayed
  • 91%
  • 19 Feb 2017 Chris USA
  • Very rude and definately unfriendly staff. People checking breakfast gets angry easily and very unkind! They only give one bread, one little butter, one little jam and one fruit. Though you have several coupons, they are very unkind and not willing to give you more than one!( I experienced it) Important thing is that you can only use wifi in common area which is open only from 7 to 11 and it was far from our room that we could not use wifi in room! Also the front door of our building was opened.
  • 46%
  • 03 Jan 2017 Anonymous South Korea
  • Every spot of the hostel is very clean. The janitors are super nice and willing to help as long as they inderstand the language. The staff at front desk is very nice, except for one of the guys who was very rude to everyone (I don't remember his name). The rooms are as shown in the pictures and the breakfast very complete considering it is a hostel. I will definitely stay again there!
  • 91%
  • 29 Dec 2016 Anonymous Argentina
  • Towels were dirty
  • 63%
  • 16 Dec 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • I stay here all the time. It is very Plain Jane, but quite adequate. After all, when I'm in NYC, I'm not in my room. It's only for sleeping -- and that's when I have my eyes closed anyway!! I keep staying here!
  • 77%
  • 06 Dec 2016 Mary USA
  • The hostel was fine albeit the kitchen facilities very basic and no real common area to meet people. Unfortunately I was there for 6 nights and didn't have hot water once in the shower, even after bringing it up with management.
  • 69%
  • 27 Nov 2016 Kate Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »