See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 160 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Our overall experience was good, with one notable exception. After coming back from a long day out in the city, we noticed that our door was slightly open (we stayed in a private twin room). The maids had come in to collect our garbage and didn't properly close the door all the way. Luckily nothing was missing, but that really pissed me off.
  • 71%
  • 25 Apr 2016 Alex Canada
  • A good hotel for the price, the rooms are clean but need some renovation
  • 83%
  • 15 Apr 2016 Jihed Tunisia
  • great location
  • 100%
  • 08 Apr 2016 norm Canada
  • No wifi in the room 24/7 at all!!! They said there's wifi, but ONLY in ONE common area where opens ONLY from 7am to 11pm. 11PM, really?!!! To access to the ONLY wifi, I had to stay in patio in several cold winter nights with no place to sit cause they put away all cheap outdoor chairs after 11pm. Never stayed a place with NO WIFI ever before! Couldn't believe it. This place felt like 1980. A lot of weird rules, although location can't be beat, I'd rather stay in Brooklyn than exhausting myself.
  • 37%
  • 06 Apr 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • I belive adding WiFi to the actual rooms would be beneficial. Sometime I would come back and try to share some pics with family at night and I couldnt because its a little too late.
  • 91%
  • 01 Apr 2016 Ahmed Yemen
  • Best deal in NYC!
  • 100%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • It is in a great location nearby Metro station and delightful restaurants. The room was spacious and quite clean, but there was no table or dresser, which was a bit inconvenient. Also, Wi-Fi works only in the common area, which closes at 11 p.m., which was also not that great. The attendant at the reception desk was very helpful and informative, but the dining staff could've used some more smiles and friendliness. They were sullen and not welcoming.
  • 69%
  • 27 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Very disappointed with the staff! All staff working at the reception were rude and mean! Not even a smile.. They might be New Yorker, it's not a reason to be unprofessional and unfriendly with customers. They talked to me like if I was an idiot, maybe because I'm young or because I'm French but I'm definitely not stupid..! Hopefully I stayed one night. Good points : warn room and comfy bed, good location Bad points : rude and inaccessible staff, not very clean, basic breakfast.
  • 49%
  • 26 Mar 2016 Anonymous
  • Was really disappointed . There's no wifi in the room . Which is very essential for the traveller. We still have to go down in the dining areas to have Internet connection . Very troublesome!!!
  • 54%
  • 20 Mar 2016 Dante Philippines
  • Very nice .
  • 80%
  • 18 Mar 2016 Sayed USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »