See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 140 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent location!!! Very clean Great stuff Good atmosphere Breakfast is included
  • 97%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Idan Israel
  • really expensive for not having breakfast. There are others hostels as good as that one for less money
  • 80%
  • 20 Jun 2016 sabrina Argentina
  • Awesome place, with super amazing location and affordability. I wish the place provided just one or two more items, such as a second well-worn bath towel and a small bar of soap. The middle-aged gentleman at the counter is a tad too abrupt in his professional demeanor.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jun 2016 mark USA
  • I recall having stayed at the Chelsea International Hostel a number of years ago. Was glad to find out that the quality has remained the same. In the future, I look forward to making reservations in time to rent a private room w/bath.
  • 83%
  • 10 Jun 2016 Louis USA
  • We couldn't have been happier with our stay! It was clean, quiet, secure, friendly and we could come and go easily. Great bargan and with a simple bagel and coffee in the morning, a super great deal! This is my go to place to stay in NYC!
  • 100%
  • 31 May 2016 Missy USA
  • No A/C during very hot days makes for an unpleasant stay.
  • 74%
  • 26 May 2016 Daniel Turks And Caicos Islands
  • Have you heard the motto “The customer is always right”? This applies to hostels an hotels that value customer satisfaction. Not the Chelsea International Hostel. Please note that if you you make a reservation there and receive an email confirming it and providing the "the amount due at arrival" - the amount may change whenever the manager thinks it is the case... A rip-off!!! Too bad, but NYC has several hostels, and some of them are honest and managed by decent people.
  • 37%
  • 18 May 2016 Eduardo Brazil
  • The manager tried to solve the situation at check in. Instead of providing a solution, this gentleman proved to be one of the rudest people I had the bad luck of knowing in my life. He thinks it is all right to yell and be discourteous to a customer who had a confirmation email from his own property that disagrees with his view of how the price of the stay is supposed to be calculated. If you want to be treated in a humiliating way by a mannerless staff, this is the hostel you're looking for!!
  • 40%
  • 14 May 2016 Eduardo Brazil
  • you got what you paid for
  • 69%
  • 14 May 2016 Gerge USA
  • I coldn't use Wifi in the room. It's important
  • 54%
  • 06 May 2016 Hyo-jae South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »