See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 232 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is perfect for young people like me who they just want a place to sleep and have a shower after a long day walking in New York. The staff is very nice, the rooms are neat and clean and the free breakfast (even if it is not a buffet) it makes it better. I totally recomed it and I will come back to the hostel when I go to New York.
  • 91%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I think it is a surprisingly great hostel, absolutely worth it booking there. The location is great, there is a police station near. I liked the common areas and the 2 bed rooms are comfortable and bearable.
  • 83%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Laszlo Hungary
  • Had a positive experience.Staff at the front desk:ok.Not too customer service oriented but not rude neither-friendlier to some girls than to solo travelling guys.Room: modest(a bit stinky) but still ok.There was a funny note in the room:"Don't open window cause the a/c will fall". A/C was good.Unclear instructions on the lockers was theonly bad thing.To all those ppl who leave bad comments:this is a HOSTEL and don't expect top notch customer service or facilities or compare them to hotel chains.
  • 71%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Ante Croatia
  • Wifi never works, or when it does it is very weak. So you buy a room with NO internet. FYI
  • 63%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • The hostel has a high security level, which is good. But it comes on the expense of other things, like Internet. Unfortunately in the 21th century the internet in the hostel is just in the breakfast area and it closes at 11pm - which means no internet after this hour! That's very inconsiderate for tourists from other countries who want to call their families and can't. In addition all the common areas close at 11pm and if you want to put/take something from the fridge its impossible as well.
  • 71%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Vered Israel
  • I and my friend stayed at a double-bed room. the room was clean. There was AC. No TV. The bathroom and toilette was very clean. We had to buy our soap though. Location wise, it was great. We also fouind free parking on 20th avenue. If i visit nyc again, I might consider staying at a private room again.
  • 83%
  • 30 Aug 2014 SERDAR Canada
  • While the Staff was nice, the breakfast tasted good and the courtyard was acceptable, the room was really bad. The A/C was taped under the window, but you could still stick your hand outside. Bathrooms are really old and pretty dirty. There was nothing to hang your towel or something in the room. Bed was lower than average (squeaky and uncomfortable) compared to other hostels we used in our trip. Early checkout (because we couldn't stand the room) was easy and professionally handled.
  • 57%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I've cancelled my booking about 1 month prior to travel and up to now I did not receive my money back.
  • 20%
  • 27 Aug 2014 VITOR Brazil
  • I enjoyed my stay in Chelsea International Hostel. The facilities were clean and everything was ordered. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location was great it was very easy to get to the main parts of town and also it was easy to get to the airport JFK. I enjoyed everything except that my room had view to the street and sometimes it was hard to sleep with so much noise but other than that it was a nice place to stay
  • 83%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Gabriela
  • Simple, just ok.
  • 80%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Undoubtedly one of the prettiest and most other-worldly sights you're going to see on this planet, this natural phenom is caused by the collision of electrically charged particles from the sun. To us, it's an eerie sheet of coloured light, like a big rave in the sky. And here are the top spots to watch it!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »