See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 229 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Enougth good for a couple of nithgs in NY, Manhattan, because its good location.
  • 66%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Victor Spain
  • I feel myself as I have in my own home,always I return here,the brekfast is good,the location excellent in the heart of Chelsea,there are many facilities for visit all interesting places of N Y.I follow choosing this pleasant hostel.
  • 74%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Generally clean, good location and decently priced. However, some of the staffs here are incredibly ill-mannered. I was treated as if I were a child and one of the staffs even went to the point where he wouldn't even treat me as a guest when I was checking in/out and needed some questions answered. I felt looked down upon by his arrogant attitude and personally offended. I would recommend this hostel only to people who are desperate to save some money. Otherwise, please find another hostel.
  • 49%
  • 23 Jul 2015 YOUNG South Korea
  • Clean, easy to access, nice staff. The breakfast was the only thing kind of lacking. Day old bagels and the like, but whatever.
  • 91%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • 1st time in a hostel, but very pleased. Staff was friendly and helpful. The private room was very basic, but clean. Exactly what I needed and was very cost effective. Would definitely stay here again! Doors/gates were left open a few times by people and the bathrooms were a bit tiny. There was a bit of mold/mildew in the shower, but it wasn't completely gross. Those were the only downsides.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean and quiet
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Jessica Canada
  • I got the private room with a private bathroom, which is for two people, but I was there by myself, it was very spacious for New York. It's in Chelsea, which is like five blocks away from The Chelsea Market, close to Highline Park, and close to the subway for the A,C,E & 1 Trains. I loved the neighborhood, and the common area is pretty big too, because they have benches and and indoor area if you prefer to be in the a/c. Everyone who was there staying was very friendly and nice.
  • 83%
  • 09 Jul 2015 Stephanie USA
  • When I arrived the guy from the front desk was not that nice to talk to. I didnt get information about wifi, he didnt tell me where breakfast would be.... The room was good, the mattress was diagonally, but okay for one night. All in all, it is really good for a student. I would definitely go there again. I met some other travellers, and it is the right place when you want to meet somebody to travel together :)
  • 77%
  • 09 Jul 2015 Mona Germany
  • Really great hostel for NYC. Common area is awesome and air con in rooms a savior a. Just wish they had fans in the bathrooms!
  • 80%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Only couple of minutes away from Subway at 18th Street (Lines 1,2,3). Sink was in the room which was great so there were no lines for toilets ever. You get a bagel with jam or butter, which you can toast and a fruit for breakfast. If there is good weather you can sit in a Patio. Nice People and nice atmosphere there. They close the Patio at 11 PM, which is good because it gets pretty quiet then and you can get a good rest.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Joanne Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »