See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 77% from 32 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My home in NYC. I like this because the location is easily accessible and the hostel has late check out, noon! When you stay here you also qualify for the breakfast, mainly a bagel and a piece of fruit. Adequate to start the day. When you stay here, you will also see they are cleaning it all the time. I have never seen a bug here. Since I have stayed here a number of times, that may indicate to you it has a lot going for it. Any amenity you look for, it is probably at this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 25 Jun 2018 Anonymous USA
  • The room we were given is nothing but a jail. Given the cost, the comfort is inexistent. Ventilation and cleanness leave a lot to be desired. The breakfast is too little, which is a good thing given that it is disgusting.
  • 43%
  • 19 Jun 2018 Laki France
  • I really enjoyed this hostel and thought it was great. In a safe area. Clean and efficient. Plus the cost is not expensive at all.
  • 100%
  • 09 May 2018 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was fine as far as being clean. The man who worked the front desk was just plain rude. The location is amazing.
  • 74%
  • 09 May 2018 Nick USA
  • Odd policy on requiring a passport. I don’t have one! Not planning to get one. Is this even legal? Who’s come drivers license is not sufficient? Could not pay by card. I was sent out to get cash... terrible experience having to drag my luggage looking for cash machine. Will not return.
  • 43%
  • 13 Apr 2018 Anonymous USA
  • Great location but really tiny and shabby-looking rooms. You get exactly what you pay for and nothing more.
  • 57%
  • 12 Mar 2018 Maritza USA
  • The single room is pretty much a prison cell. But it's the cheapest single room in the area! ;-)
  • 60%
  • 11 Jan 2018 Anonymous Germany
  • The room was clean and the staff was nice. I found my bed really comfortable. The location is perfect. I chose a two bed female dorm and now my roommate is a good friend of mine.
  • 83%
  • 05 Jan 2018 Anonymous Dominican Republic
  • Very nice place to stay in New York. The situation is perfect, the price and the service are very good. Thanks very much!!!!!!
  • 91%
  • 14 Dec 2017 Anonymous Spain
  • Stay somewhere else. All tha bad reviews are correct.
  • 43%
  • 02 Dec 2017 Renee USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »