See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 78% from 33 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really enjoyed this hostel and thought it was great. In a safe area. Clean and efficient. Plus the cost is not expensive at all.
  • 100%
  • 09 May 2018 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was fine as far as being clean. The man who worked the front desk was just plain rude. The location is amazing.
  • 74%
  • 09 May 2018 Nick USA
  • Odd policy on requiring a passport. I don’t have one! Not planning to get one. Is this even legal? Who’s come drivers license is not sufficient? Could not pay by card. I was sent out to get cash... terrible experience having to drag my luggage looking for cash machine. Will not return.
  • 43%
  • 13 Apr 2018 Anonymous USA
  • Great location but really tiny and shabby-looking rooms. You get exactly what you pay for and nothing more.
  • 57%
  • 12 Mar 2018 Maritza USA
  • The single room is pretty much a prison cell. But it's the cheapest single room in the area! ;-)
  • 60%
  • 11 Jan 2018 Anonymous Germany
  • The room was clean and the staff was nice. I found my bed really comfortable. The location is perfect. I chose a two bed female dorm and now my roommate is a good friend of mine.
  • 83%
  • 05 Jan 2018 Anonymous Dominican Republic
  • Very nice place to stay in New York. The situation is perfect, the price and the service are very good. Thanks very much!!!!!!
  • 91%
  • 14 Dec 2017 Anonymous Spain
  • Stay somewhere else. All tha bad reviews are correct.
  • 43%
  • 02 Dec 2017 Renee USA
  • Luciano and the woman who works nights are/were extremely helpful, they went over and beyond what I would have expected anyone to be, the other daytime guy not so much.
  • 86%
  • 16 Oct 2017 Curtis USA
  • Hostel generally very good. However for older guests like us climbing two flights of stairs to our room with luggage and no elevator is a trial.
  • 97%
  • 14 Oct 2017 Al USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »