See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 17 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Amazing I will stay there again good location saved me money had fun nyc Scott i definitely stay there again best location value
  • 100%
  • 20 Jul 2019 Anonymous Canada
  • The place is good, small but good
  • 86%
  • 18 Jul 2019 Xianjing China
  • This is a fine choice for a budget traveler. The room I had was basic but clean, and had its own sink. The shared toilet and shower were also very clean. They also provide a pretty generous breakfast. The location is across the street from a police station and within a couple of blocks of a subway. Since all I want from an accommodation is safety, cleanliness, and heat in winter, this facility is fine.
  • 74%
  • 07 Apr 2019 Mindy USA
  • Spartan single room but it seemed clean and the radiator will keep you toasty during winter. The shared toilet and shower were clean when I used them. Bring earplugs and eyeshades. The small narrow hallways resonate with noise and the blinds barely darken the room. The biggest downside was the warped mattress. It was crushed in the middle and slanted to one side. The simple breakfast of one bagel and fruit is fine. Overall a decent option due to the location.
  • 66%
  • 16 Feb 2019 Anonymous USA
  • Check in clerk was rude and sarcastic. Check out clerk was friendly. Cockroaches in the room. Breakfast was resectable to start the day. Area brochures were numerous and helpful. Entry door from the street is unlocked is unlocked during the day until 11pm and at times tied wide open while the desk area is not with within sight of the door. Nice location to the subway. No chair in the room. Facilities are minimum. Very good heat in the room. Common area television had poor reception.
  • 51%
  • 16 Jan 2019 ALAN USA
  • Hi everyone this Chelsea International Hostel, New York, USA front decks office guys are very very rude and very very bad person. I Promise never go to again whole my life time for ever thanks.
  • 20%
  • 03 Jan 2019 Gopal USA
  • Great location for a low price, nice staff, and okay breakfast included.
  • 83%
  • 29 Nov 2018 Jan Wisse Netherlands
  • Very nice place to stay in New York. Perfect ubication. Good staf . Breakfast included!
  • 86%
  • 28 Nov 2018 Anonymous Spain
  • Friendly guests, clean room. Value is a relative term. In NYC, it seems this outrageous price is good value, LOL. At least the best I could find.
  • 97%
  • 19 Sep 2018 Allan Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »