See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 78% from 52 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The room is very simple but ok, but my biggest problem was a cockroach in the room. The double room is very expensive, but compared to the price range in Manhattan I guess that this hostel is a good option.
  • 63%
  • 21 Sep 2017 GIL Israel
  • We found almost a dozen roaches when we got back to the room on the first night. They were running all over including the mattress, inside our open suitcase. We had to leave immediately and move to a hotel. On the plus side, the hostel gave us a full refund.
  • 51%
  • 12 Aug 2017 Anonymous India
  • Very clean, polite and always available staff. I had an individual room that had plenty of space and lockers to keep belongings safe, and my own sink and mirror. Bathroom and shower are pretty small but always very clean. I would come here again.
  • 94%
  • 08 Aug 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Staff extremely professional helpful respectful and courteous
  • 83%
  • 24 Jul 2017 JULIE Australia
  • Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms! Had a great experience.
  • 91%
  • 13 Jul 2017 Mark USA
  • The facility was in a great location, fantastic atmosphere, easy check-in & check-out, and the rooms were very clean!
  • 97%
  • 30 Jun 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I am 5'9' could not fit on the bed had to sleep on the floor. Will never ever go back that place.
  • 49%
  • 19 Jun 2017 Anonymous Pakistan
  • I liked my 4 days in this hostel. The atmosphere is cool and I would go back. I have only 2 suggestions 1st please get better quality of bagels NY is the place of bagels 2 put racks or else in the bathroom so that you can put minimal stuff. The location is so good and it is NY my favorite place in the world. Greetings to all hostellers.
  • 77%
  • 08 Jun 2017 Maria Morocco
  • Cleanliness might be "ordinary" high standart. For me it is too much. Everyday that annoying intense smell of chemicals. Maybe You could reduce them, or even wait for several days and only broom each day. A recommendation from Feng Shui is, not to leve the toilets open. First glance it proves tidyness, but subconsciously it is a place that soaks energy. It should stay closed. Maybe have a better sign to show if it is engaged.
  • 77%
  • 29 May 2017 Georg Germany
  • Only need a mirror in room. I was a1
  • 100%
  • 29 May 2017 SHANTANU India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »