See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 201 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Couldn't have picked a better location; perfect for walking and excellent transport links, but that's what you're paying for - the accommodation is pretty basic and tired. That being said, if you're spending all your time in your room or the hostel here then you're wasting your New York experience! All rooms, including the bathrooms, are lacking in shelving and hooks. Seriously. Someone needs to do a trip to the hardware store! Having no hooks or shelving in the shower room was a nightmare!
  • 74%
  • 17 Nov 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Great place!
  • 100%
  • 03 Nov 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Very bad value for money
  • 37%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Simona
  • Worst hostel ever. We made a reservation for 5 nights and changed the 2nd night. The windows was broken and we could hear literally everything from the street.
  • 23%
  • 13 Oct 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • I love this hostel. This was the third time in the last four years that I stayed and like the times before was all perfect. Great value for money. Highly recommended. You wont be disappointed!!!
  • 100%
  • 05 Oct 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Rooms look like prison cells. You cannot open widows. Heating is either shut down or boiling. Only place with wifi is kitchen with dining room. Too expensive for what you get.
  • 63%
  • 01 Oct 2015 Anonymous Slovakia
  • The stuff forgot to give me tickets for the breakfast,I don't know it at all until I saw someone had the same breakfast ;and the stuffs working there are rude and no patient,u can't get any informations from then!and also the luagages keeping is not free ,charging from$3-5!are they so poor! The bathroom is dirty that cant flushing so u know what happen!i won't come back for sure!
  • 40%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Qisnqian China
  • Excelent location, the rooms works well, very clean. Luciano is awesome, allways helpfull and he speak English, Spanish and Portuguese !
  • 74%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Amilcar Argentina
  • Great and convenient hostel in NYC. Walking distance to many attractions, not far from a subway station. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast was good. Also it was amazingly quiet at night so everything was good!
  • 100%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Great value for the money! Incredibly clean, staff very helpful, can't beat the price. Would stay again and recommend.
  • 91%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Ronald Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »