See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 71% from 20 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Check in clerk was rude and sarcastic. Check out clerk was friendly. Cockroaches in the room. Breakfast was resectable to start the day. Area brochures were numerous and helpful. Entry door from the street is unlocked is unlocked during the day until 11pm and at times tied wide open while the desk area is not with within sight of the door. Nice location to the subway. No chair in the room. Facilities are minimum. Very good heat in the room. Common area television had poor reception.
  • 51%
  • 16 Jan 2019 ALAN USA
  • Hi everyone this Chelsea International Hostel, New York, USA front decks office guys are very very rude and very very bad person. I Promise never go to again whole my life time for ever thanks.
  • 20%
  • 03 Jan 2019 Gopal USA
  • Great location for a low price, nice staff, and okay breakfast included.
  • 83%
  • 29 Nov 2018 Jan Wisse Netherlands
  • Very nice place to stay in New York. Perfect ubication. Good staf . Breakfast included!
  • 86%
  • 28 Nov 2018 Anonymous Spain
  • Friendly guests, clean room. Value is a relative term. In NYC, it seems this outrageous price is good value, LOL. At least the best I could find.
  • 97%
  • 19 Sep 2018 Allan Canada
  • El hotel lo que tiene de bueno es la localización. Esta en pleno Chelsea cerca de todo. El desayuno regular, un bagel, una fruta, jugo y cafe. El servicio de WI-FI excelente. En mi caso contrate habitación privada con baño compartido. La habitación estaba Ok, salvo que no estaba del todo limpia. El colchón muy flojo, no se logra un buen descanso.
  • 80%
  • 12 Aug 2018 Nicolás Italy
  • My home in NYC. I like this because the location is easily accessible and the hostel has late check out, noon! When you stay here you also qualify for the breakfast, mainly a bagel and a piece of fruit. Adequate to start the day. When you stay here, you will also see they are cleaning it all the time. I have never seen a bug here. Since I have stayed here a number of times, that may indicate to you it has a lot going for it. Any amenity you look for, it is probably at this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 25 Jun 2018 Anonymous USA
  • The room we were given is nothing but a jail. Given the cost, the comfort is inexistent. Ventilation and cleanness leave a lot to be desired. The breakfast is too little, which is a good thing given that it is disgusting.
  • 43%
  • 19 Jun 2018 Laki France
  • I really enjoyed this hostel and thought it was great. In a safe area. Clean and efficient. Plus the cost is not expensive at all.
  • 100%
  • 09 May 2018 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was fine as far as being clean. The man who worked the front desk was just plain rude. The location is amazing.
  • 74%
  • 09 May 2018 Nick USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »