See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 224 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great and friendly staff. Very accommodating - I accidentally booked my room for the following night and they were able to adjust to get me that night. Very basic, simply plain, no thrills hostel, but clean. Central location to uptown and downtown. Police station across the street. Subway within 2 blocks either direction. Will definitely stay here anytime I'm going to be spending time in lower Manhattan.
  • 74%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Fire the front desk staff and hire a more polite one, I'm on a world trip and this was my 23rd hostel and by far the worst experience.
  • 40%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Could not reach wifi signal in my room
  • 66%
  • 14 Jan 2015 Martin Denmark
  • The heat in the room was pretty stifling, but everything else was nice and comfortable.
  • 63%
  • 14 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The accommodations were what I needed: private, comfortable temperature, affordable, quiet, good bed, secure and in a good location. The amenities were not fancy, but I didn't come to New York to spend time in my room. The young, intrepid fellow travelers were friendly, worldly and interesting. Of course, as with most 20-somethings, many were focused on their cell phones. But I got several talking about their experiences at the (provided) continental breakfast in the common area.
  • 97%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Wifi just work in the common areas. The breakfast isn't good and if some food or drink end, they don't replace. The building is too old.
  • 54%
  • 09 Jan 2015 MARCELO Brazil
  • I am very satisfied by this Hostel. Online Booking was easier than the others Hostel required to pay for 2 or four beds. The Atmosphere was great. It is really International because I met people from Japan, Brazil, Argentina, USA and lot of Europeens. This is a grey place to stay and please do not discuss the 10.00 USD security deposit It will be return to you when checking out. For Budget Hostel in New York, I recommend Chelsea.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jan 2015 raymond USA
  • the WiFi is bad!
  • 94%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Maria Jose Mexico
  • Personal was nice, everything else were terrible!!!!!! Never never book 4 people room!!!
  • 20%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Anna Ukraine
  • The place was great for what I needed - just one night in the city between adventures that was affordable and in a good part of the city in a great neighborhood with lots to do nearby at night. The only issue I had was that even with the radiator turned completely off, the room was really hot. Not sure if I was doing something wrong but I just opened the window (although it was like 25F outside) to cool it down a bit.
  • 86%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Gary USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »