See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 211 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The rooms are separated in a variety of buildings with different entrances. The reception was also closed during points of the day so you had to detour through other areas to get to common space. The lounge was closed and kitchen/dining room cramped for number of guests. The staff weren't very friendly and didn't explain anything on arrival.
  • 63%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Jessica England
  • It's a simple place. The room is equipped with bed(s), sink and locker. It's not made for comfort but it is a cheap place to sleep! I liked the location. The staff were really nice.
  • 80%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Jacob USA
  • Overall good, for being a minimal hostel. Strange issue with heating in my room? Was stifling hot and stuffy a fair bit. Wifi would be useful in rooms as well, but the set-up is fine-- but you should mention this on your website so people aren't surprised when checking in.
  • 89%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Decent place when you need spend few nights in NYC.
  • 80%
  • 23 Mar 2014 Milada Czech Republic
  • Trust me.....You can choose Q4, metro is very easy. DO NOT live here. Not a problem with security or staff. But I have to say the facilities are so so so so poor! I am not too strict with that. Believe me.
  • 51%
  • 23 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Everything is good except that the noise-isolation is not satisfactory. Early in the morning (around 7am) there were people using (or maybe cleaning) showering room which is right next to my room and I couldn't fall asleep again from being waken up. I wish the hostel can impose some more showering usage constraint or noise regulation, or work on improving the noise-isolation
  • 80%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Perfect location to be away from the craziness of Times Square! Bed super comfy
  • 91%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Christopher France
  • It's basically a bed in a room that you're getting. Because it's NY they can pass as a cheap place to sleep, but the common areas aren't inclusive or welcoming. It isn't very good for meeting people, and the internet barely works and only in the basement common rooms, which is inconvenient! I stayed at another hostel the following few nights where they had a great layout conducive to hanging out with other hostellers, that had events suggested and was a lot more sociable. Bathrooms were gross.
  • 49%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Good location. This is an average hostel. The kitchen is too small for the amount of people that are in the hostel. No mirrors in the bathrooms that are diveded by shower in one room, sink in another. Room are good enough to sleep.
  • 66%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • Great steal for the location. A little cramped, but still clean. Fresh towels given, and bathroom is cleaned every morning. Only 10 minutes walk from the nearest subway!
  • 80%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »