See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 132 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • To be fair, having a bed, roof, AC & breakfast in Manhattan at this price was a steal. That said, it is true that you get what you paid for. The rooms are smaller than they might appear in the photos, it is not five-star accommodation. I would have liked the wifi to be available in the dorms, instead of just in the common area. On the plus side, the shower's water pressure & temperature were perfect. If you're expectations aren't high and you just want a place to sleep and regroup, it's ideal.
  • 74%
  • 07 Jul 2016 Deborah USA
  • I have stayed in hostels in many countries but this was my first one in New York City. I found the staff to be extremely helpful and kind. The rooms were clean and I couldn't have been more pleased at the atmosphere. The location was close to several restaurants and not to far from Time Square. It was reasonably priced and I would highly recommend it. The only inconvince was that wifi was only available in the common area, but even that was ok. I will stay there again next year when I return.
  • 91%
  • 05 Jul 2016 Kenneth USA
  • No Wi-Fi in the Quest rooms and the building area. Wi-Fi Internet work in the kitchen area only. and all Guest must go to the kitchen area to have Wi-Fi internet access like an he-goats. No Elevator in the building. and the hostel have a huge long up stairs which all guess stress to hell to climb with their luggage. the hostel security and the staff do not give a dam about human beings. only money that´ts all.
  • 57%
  • 03 Jul 2016 Anonymous Sweden
  • Great atmosphere, our room faced the courtyard and was quiet and stayed cool without bringing the smells of the city inside, very clean sheets/towels and the bathroom was kept very clean.
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent location!!! Very clean Great stuff Good atmosphere Breakfast is included
  • 97%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Idan Israel
  • really expensive for not having breakfast. There are others hostels as good as that one for less money
  • 80%
  • 20 Jun 2016 sabrina Argentina
  • Awesome place, with super amazing location and affordability. I wish the place provided just one or two more items, such as a second well-worn bath towel and a small bar of soap. The middle-aged gentleman at the counter is a tad too abrupt in his professional demeanor.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jun 2016 mark USA
  • I recall having stayed at the Chelsea International Hostel a number of years ago. Was glad to find out that the quality has remained the same. In the future, I look forward to making reservations in time to rent a private room w/bath.
  • 83%
  • 10 Jun 2016 Louis USA
  • We couldn't have been happier with our stay! It was clean, quiet, secure, friendly and we could come and go easily. Great bargan and with a simple bagel and coffee in the morning, a super great deal! This is my go to place to stay in NYC!
  • 100%
  • 31 May 2016 Missy USA
  • No A/C during very hot days makes for an unpleasant stay.
  • 74%
  • 26 May 2016 Daniel Turks And Caicos Islands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »