See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 112 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The outside locker systems are horrible, and its a fortune taken out of you. I was mistreated by a worker, and the stairs are just horrible if you have a suitcase. No elevators, many floors, and the breakfast - horrible too. Never coming back again.
  • 40%
  • 21 Sep 2016 Akemi Brazil
  • A wonderful surprise after staying in two inferior hostels - one in CA, and one in NYC. Chelsea International was much more than I expected. So clean and welcoming and never a worry about safety in that neighborhood. Highly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2016 Terry USA
  • All in all, I was pleased with my decision to stay here. The hostel is in a great location. It's spartan but clean and relatively quiet. It's also unexpectedly huge, which means it may be hard to meet people if that is your goal. I would stay here again.
  • 74%
  • 14 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Any random off the street can just walk into the courtyard / common rooms without anyone knowing. WiFi restricted to common rooms, when they close at 11pm you have to stand outside them to use it. Kitchen staff are good, other staff / owners don't engage with the business at all. 4 person dorm is squishy, need to move the beds to access power sockets. Bathroom is good. Breakfast is good. Supplied free pizza one night which was nice. You'll have to find good local food/drink on your own.
  • 63%
  • 13 Sep 2016 Ben Australia
  • Kitchen is not really well equiped. Needs some more stuff to really cook proper. And the fridge is a catastrophy and not at all well organized (labeling!!) Beside this everything is fine!
  • 74%
  • 06 Sep 2016 Alexandra
  • Good hostel in a really fun area! everything's easygoing and breakfast gives you energy for the morning stroll through manhattan! it was my 2nd stay here and i would book again:)
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Very well located, the staff is friendly, very great place!!
  • 100%
  • 26 Aug 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Had a great stay and loved it all. Only comment was that the bed in the double en suite room we had was not at all comfortable. Think a new mattress is needed.
  • 86%
  • 31 Jul 2016 Dianne Australia
  • Overall a valuable hostel experience. Front desk staff cud be more responsive in handling emergencies such as helping convey last-min. flt changes which if missed cud result to thousands of $$ on hotel & int'l flight rebookings; instead of being overly cautious in disturbing other dorm guests in early morning hours. If d same were to happen to them they wud have wanted being informed of such cost-implicating changes & thus wud surely understand being bothered by a rare& untimely knock on d door.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jul 2016 Anonymous Philippines
  • To be fair, having a bed, roof, AC & breakfast in Manhattan at this price was a steal. That said, it is true that you get what you paid for. The rooms are smaller than they might appear in the photos, it is not five-star accommodation. I would have liked the wifi to be available in the dorms, instead of just in the common area. On the plus side, the shower's water pressure & temperature were perfect. If you're expectations aren't high and you just want a place to sleep and regroup, it's ideal.
  • 74%
  • 07 Jul 2016 Deborah USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »