See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 213 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My experience was great! It was my 1st time in NY, and definitely met expectations. I only was in my room to sleep, but the staff was friendly, and it was exactly what I expected! I would stay there again if I ever was in NY.
  • 100%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Delvaughn USA
  • It was my 1st hostel experience on my own and I enjoyed it! I just needed my basic needs met -- a room, a bed, an place to put my stuff, and a shower and the hostel meets all that and they threw in free breakfast each morning. They have free wi-fi but it was only limited to the courtyard. That is probably the only negative part about it. I wish there was wi-fi that was accessible in my room. Other than that, I heavily recommend this place!
  • 91%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very basic rooms (I stayed in a single). But clean. Some of the staff were friendly. Some were not. Good location. A few blocks to the nearest subway station. Breakfast (included) was very basic. But it was there. All in all a good place to stay if you don't want to spend a fortune on a hotel room.
  • 69%
  • 31 Oct 2013 Martin Denmark
  • Chelsea International is 1 in a million - having stayed in a number of hostels in New York over the past 10 years, this is by far my best experience all round. Great central location, welcoming, friendly staff and a diverse mix of hostellers staying in rooms creating a great buzz that will only enhance your experience of the great city. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone, either travelling alone or in groups, on a cheap budget - but perhaps not for OCDs as it could do with a good clean!
  • 83%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Nick England
  • The location is amazing! Easy to go anywhere! There is no "roof bar".. but anyway.. its a cool place.
  • 69%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Leandro Brazil
  • Lockers didn´t work properly but the rest was ok,especially the breakfast!
  • 71%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Adrian Germany
  • I stayed in a private room. It would have been nice to have a small table or chair to set something down.
  • 71%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Regina Germany
  • Great location, great train connections, affordable... I'll book it again when I come to NY next time.
  • 86%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Djordje Serbia
  • Hi there, Basically the only good point of this hostel is the location. Apart from that, we had few issues in terms of security. Even though our room was private someone broke into it when we weren't in there and tried to steal from our suitcases (both of them well locked!!!) The staff wasn't helpful at all when we reported our situation, not taken responsability for anything happening in their own hostel and also not giving us any facilities. Cleanliness is average and breakfasts quite por.
  • 49%
  • 19 Oct 2013 MARIA Spain
  • The two bed rooms should have watercloset
  • 60%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Pablo Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »