See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 183 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • very good
  • 74%
  • 07 Mar 2015 julio Argentina
  • Two bed room, F8, was excellent. There was enough room for two. One bed privates though are scary small, my friend described it as; "It looks like a prison room, I will never stay in such a room", it was for room F3. It would be great if the rest rooms also have a sink.
  • 89%
  • 28 Feb 2015 selen Turkey
  • The Hostel has a good location to explore the city. Poor breakfast, even limited to one Bagel and a fruit per Person. Very cold bathroom. If you're looking for the cheapest: that's it, but you have to live with the bad condition of the hostel. No real socializing opportunities...
  • 60%
  • 27 Feb 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • There are a few things that I dislike about this place: 1. Cleanliness, this place is kind of dirty; The toilet is terrible. My towel looked like it wasn't even washed. The bed sheet had stains on it. 2. Atmosphere, It is not a very social place 3. Facilities, The shower was terrible. The shower was barely just warm enough. It was very uncomfortable
  • 54%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I usually heard noises in the building about 6 a.m. and 7 a.m.
  • 89%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Jaime Spain
  • there is a pipe inside a 2 beds bedroom which gets really hot and then it gets cold, for some reason. and from where it comes from, i dont know, theres a noise every now and then even in the middle of the night, in which, its like someone is banging or hitting the pipe or it sounds like somebody is working on a pipe. i dont understand the noise. its just very annoying especially at midnight. we cant sleep.
  • 69%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Mufti Philippines
  • Reasonable price and perfect location!
  • 86%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great location, friendly staff, wifi works only in the common area and the breakfast is not the best, but for the value is a great deal. I certainly would stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 11 Feb 2015 Patricia Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »