See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 222 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Terrific location and terrific deal. Easy to get where I wanted to go. The room was great too. And a nice cup of coffee for breakfast with a bagel and a Big Apple! Loved it!
  • 97%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Although the room is small, but it got everything, good location and very nice staff!
  • 71%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Ko-ting Taiwan
  • This is no Hilton. This is no W Hotel, so if you're looking for that, go else where. This is a great hostel for someone backpacking or just need someone where to sleep. I spent most of my days out and about and only came back to sleep. It was a very great location - a block away from a few delis, places to eat, 7-Eleven and Starbucks.However, some tips to make the most out of your experience - bring your own towels, blankets and soap/toothpaste. Also, when checking in, you must have a passport
  • 71%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Marie USA
  • The hostel was in a good location, few blocks from the metro line and walking distance from meatpacking district which is perfect for nightlife. The room was simple but clean.
  • 74%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Gabriella Italy
  • Really nice staff ! Other guests are also enthusiastic. The location is near to the subway station.
  • 94%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Anonymous China
  • My experience was great! It was my 1st time in NY, and definitely met expectations. I only was in my room to sleep, but the staff was friendly, and it was exactly what I expected! I would stay there again if I ever was in NY.
  • 100%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Delvaughn USA
  • It was my 1st hostel experience on my own and I enjoyed it! I just needed my basic needs met -- a room, a bed, an place to put my stuff, and a shower and the hostel meets all that and they threw in free breakfast each morning. They have free wi-fi but it was only limited to the courtyard. That is probably the only negative part about it. I wish there was wi-fi that was accessible in my room. Other than that, I heavily recommend this place!
  • 91%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very basic rooms (I stayed in a single). But clean. Some of the staff were friendly. Some were not. Good location. A few blocks to the nearest subway station. Breakfast (included) was very basic. But it was there. All in all a good place to stay if you don't want to spend a fortune on a hotel room.
  • 69%
  • 31 Oct 2013 Martin Denmark
  • Chelsea International is 1 in a million - having stayed in a number of hostels in New York over the past 10 years, this is by far my best experience all round. Great central location, welcoming, friendly staff and a diverse mix of hostellers staying in rooms creating a great buzz that will only enhance your experience of the great city. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone, either travelling alone or in groups, on a cheap budget - but perhaps not for OCDs as it could do with a good clean!
  • 83%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Nick England
  • The location is amazing! Easy to go anywhere! There is no "roof bar".. but anyway.. its a cool place.
  • 69%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Leandro Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »