See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 239 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • When i reserved the place i thought that it would strange, i was afraid. But then, when i arrived at the hostel, it was so different and i enjoyed every minute.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • That's a nice hostel in a wonderful location. I could go walking everywhere I wished
  • 91%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • It's so unpleasant experience that I didn't like New York any more! There was a very bad man working at the front desk. He behaved like a psycho, yelled at me , and threatened me that let me sleeping in snow. Actually it was definitely his fault. It was he that didn't understand what happened and refused to listen to my explanation. I won't forget his attitude which I never met before from an employee at any hostel in the world. I promise I'll never stay in that hostel again. Horribly!
  • 43%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Lu China
  • Location is really good, there are food places near by as well as a bunch of the metro lines that can take you to heaps of places in NY. Stayed in a 2 room and it was good, lots of space and clean. Quite pricey but I guess everything is in NY.
  • 83%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Samantha New Zealand
  • The staff was not nice and unwilling to help.
  • 49%
  • 19 Jan 2014 cristina Spain
  • I will be back with these great prices and convenient location
  • 69%
  • 19 Jan 2014 zachary USA
  • breakfast was less than typical and late, after 8am. the staff looks like greek civil servants. they were at least rude. no space in front of reception, you cannot stand. no atmosphere. compare to NYC rates, the hostel is value for money though.
  • 57%
  • 17 Jan 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • A pipe right next to my bed made noise at random times at night, which made me loose some hours of sleep. Except that, no complaints.
  • 80%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • the only good part is the location. besides that everything is below average.
  • 60%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous Pakistan
  • Great location, breakfast, friendly staff and a safe environment. Only complaints are extremely hot pipes running through the room next to bed and lack of WiFi coverage to the rooms!
  • 80%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »