See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 235 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location is really good, there are food places near by as well as a bunch of the metro lines that can take you to heaps of places in NY. Stayed in a 2 room and it was good, lots of space and clean. Quite pricey but I guess everything is in NY.
  • 83%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Samantha New Zealand
  • The staff was not nice and unwilling to help.
  • 49%
  • 19 Jan 2014 cristina Spain
  • I will be back with these great prices and convenient location
  • 69%
  • 19 Jan 2014 zachary USA
  • breakfast was less than typical and late, after 8am. the staff looks like greek civil servants. they were at least rude. no space in front of reception, you cannot stand. no atmosphere. compare to NYC rates, the hostel is value for money though.
  • 57%
  • 17 Jan 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • A pipe right next to my bed made noise at random times at night, which made me loose some hours of sleep. Except that, no complaints.
  • 80%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • the only good part is the location. besides that everything is below average.
  • 60%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous Pakistan
  • Great location, breakfast, friendly staff and a safe environment. Only complaints are extremely hot pipes running through the room next to bed and lack of WiFi coverage to the rooms!
  • 80%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous England
  • There are some rooms where you can find cockroaches... so If you don`t mind cockroaches it is a pretty safe place location is good. Don`t expect to have wife in your room, because it`s mainly in the common room. However, if you stay in the same building where is common room you`ll have an access to wifi. Breakfast is negatively ridiculous. This hostel is definitely just for those who needs a bed to sleep otherwise I would not suggest it.
  • 69%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Aleh Belarus
  • Pricey for a hostel, but that's what NYC is. I felt that the lock of the door was not very good, but everything went ok. Room was warm, even hot, a bit too hot for my taste. Soundproof was pretty poor. Location great.
  • 69%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Virve Finland
  • Not so friendly staff. When I arrived NYC I was shocked by the staff at the reception. So rude and not friendly at all. No explanations for breakfast or other activities. When somebody leaves the hostel very early in the morning they changed the bed while I was sleeping. They could wait until 12 am but they did not. They gave me a room with a lot noise. The bathroom on the 3 floor did not work. Résumé nothing good except the price and the location. I was not happy at all.
  • 34%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Kenan Belgium
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »