See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 215 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The place is good enough but don't expect too much from the bathrooms and the showers
  • 86%
  • 22 Jun 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • The website says that they provide adapters, they don't! So take your own. That annoyed me because they advertise it so I didn't take one and then ended up paying $16 for one in a pharmacy a few blocks away. I had a private single room which was fine. The only downfall is that the buildings aren't straight. My room was wonky. The floor was not level therefore my bed was at a tilt and it affected my sleeping. You receive the very basics. I probably would stay there again, but if it cost less.
  • 71%
  • 21 Jun 2013 Samantha England
  • Great location. Happy with my stay. If there was wifi in the room that'd be perfect.
  • 83%
  • 15 Jun 2013 Jenny Canada
  • Staff were so rude and unfriendly
  • 40%
  • 10 Jun 2013 Anonymous Ireland
  • Finally. I waited 3 days to post this review. Never again, Chelsea International Hostel. I'll think twice before staying at the cheapest hostel in a good area. So long and thanks for all the bedbugs. -D14
  • 51%
  • 10 Jun 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Perfectly located, safe area, near subway, restaurants and shops. Perfect stay for a citytrip.
  • 77%
  • 05 Jun 2013 Judith Netherlands
  • Overall it it a very nice Hostel. And i know New York is expensive but this a bit too much...
  • 71%
  • 04 Jun 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • I stayed in the private room. It is small, but the location of the hostel is good.
  • 71%
  • 01 Jun 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Have the best price and the best location! I like the bedroms and the bathroom also. who have problems and need to sleep with darkness will have a problem.. I extremely recomended!
  • 80%
  • 31 May 2013 ariella Brazil
  • Clean and quiet (even with a room on the street). I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
  • 100%
  • 29 May 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »