See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 231 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good area around the hostel, lot of shops, restaurants, clubs. The privaroom was smal but had everything you need, bed, sink, mirrow, closet and a window.
  • 77%
  • 19 May 2014 Judith Germany
  • I stayed one night at the Chelsea International Hostel. I had a pleasant stay there. The single room that I booked was very clean, and the sheets had been changed when I arrived. Although the yellow walls and the lack of furniture (other than the bed) gave an isolated and prison-like feel, the room was worth the price of around $80 US. If the room had a chair in it, that would be good. A desk would be even better. The tables in the courtyard were useful. The staff was nice.
  • 86%
  • 18 May 2014 Nelson Canada
  • I m very disappointed to all staffs (except Larry as he is more friendly in general, all these peoples R very small heart,very mean,very cheap peoples )Breakfast cant change anything ie they provided 1 bagel1 fruit but not allow you to switch if you dont let say no bagel,you want 2 fruits but not allowed, peoples re very bad attitute especially blue uniform ladies, last day I left I try to ask front desk to print one ticket,do you believe 1 e mail took 30 mins but not recd? End up I just left
  • 51%
  • 17 May 2014 Ming Chuen Canada
  • I had single bed room. I was satisfied with everything. My stay was pleasant . Decent place if you need to spend night/s in New York City.
  • 91%
  • 15 May 2014 Milada Czech Republic
  • The staff is not welcoming. The guy who work at night is rude.
  • 69%
  • 13 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Spacious bedroom with 4 separated beds. Neighborhood with pleasant bars and restaurants.
  • 74%
  • 13 May 2014 Margarida Brazil
  • Great place, 100% recommended. Close to High Line, Chelsea Market and 3 blocks from line blue.
  • 97%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous Chile
  • It's good for this price and the location, and the staff there is very nice. But the problem is that you need to pay for if you need to store your luggage and it's very noisy - I can hear clearly when other walking, closing the door.
  • 83%
  • 09 May 2014 Yanwei China
  • Room and common areas were neatly kept. Breakfast was simple, but good. There was a good pizza place and laundry service nearby. Subway was also not that far away. The only downsides were the beds, which were a bit uncomfortable, and the fact that the wifi only worked on the common areas until 11 pm and didn't reach the rooms. Also, the hot/cold water mixer needs some adjusting. Water kept turning super cold while showering and never settled in the mix you set when you started showering.
  • 83%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I have stayed in the Chelsea International Hostel 4 or 5 times and have been very pleased each time. The location is simply the very best in NYC! That alone is worth the price of admission, but the whole experience is positive. The staff is accommodating even when the patrons are being jerks. Enough toilet and bathing facilities, I've never had to wait and they are cleaned every day, as are the hallway floors. hot water (and heat and air conditioners, if needed) forever! All age groups.
  • 100%
  • 06 May 2014 Donna USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »