See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 226 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place was amazing. we were so happy, and we are totally coming back Great location, the room was always clean and members of the staff are seen cleaning everyday. Great staff (they even booked a shuttle for us) the rooms were what promised. Downsides: The shades on the windows dont work really well a lot of light came in during the morning so it was hard to sleep. A bit noisy and we saw some guys going out to the roof one night, rules are not really followed.
  • 94%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Florencia Argentina
  • Great location. Not noisy at all, in the middle of manhattan, near the subway, was very easy to move everywhere. Breakfast was fine. The room was clean but the lockers were too small. The atmosphere was nice but some members of the staff (just some of them) were not that nice or helpfull. The common area closes at 11pm: that isn't good when you are sitting on the table drinking a beer, talking or using the wifi.
  • 66%
  • 16 Feb 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • O pessoal do hostel, salvo raras exceções é muito solicito. A localização é excelente. No entanto, a limpeza dos quartos deixou a desejar.
  • 71%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Room was sufficient; however, I really wish the room had a small table (one would fit in the corner at the window). And two pillows, not just one. I needed to recoup in my room and found it difficult to work on computer or prop up without room amenities. I traveled in February and the room was plenty warm during a very cold winter.
  • 86%
  • 06 Feb 2014 SUSAN USA
  • What a deal. I have stayed there before and I love it. Steps away from getting where you need to go but at the same time quiet so you can sleep when you want to. I think it is the best deal in NYC personally.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic location and good value for money. NYC is expensive and it's hard to tell when you're getting a good deal or not… Chelsea International seemed to be the right price! Bit of a pain dragging my bags up the stairs though… but that's just me being lazy!
  • 80%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Guida
  • If you can happily endure very run-down facilities, it is a great deal for a private room in Manhattan. I would stay there again.
  • 71%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The beds were good, but it was a very loud hostel you could here people talking and climbing the stairs while trying to sleep. Showers were tiny with not much pressure. Breakfast was provided and good.
  • 69%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Gemma Australia
  • When i reserved the place i thought that it would strange, i was afraid. But then, when i arrived at the hostel, it was so different and i enjoyed every minute.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • That's a nice hostel in a wonderful location. I could go walking everywhere I wished
  • 91%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »