See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 223 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Bait-and-switch hostel. I requested a private room (And the invoice they gave me says "private room"!), but when I open the door to the room, there are 3 other guys in there (The room smelled like gym's locker room, nasty). I got to the hostel late (2am), so I just went to sleep... In the morning I went to talk to the guy in reception, and with a very rude attitude (And yelling in front of other customers) he says they don't give any money back and there's nothing they can do. Avoid.
  • 37%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • No television, shelf, or chair in room, nowadays that would be a small cost and would have made the room much better. Also, quite noisy having room next to the floor's convenience.
  • 71%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Anyone who is looking for just a bed to sleepn in should go to this hostel.besides that,it doesnt offer so much.i paid the same price for the hostel in boston and i cant compare the two.here u will have just basic stuff;bed ,towel(for which they take 10$ deposit lol), and poor breakfast.everything is very old and ut doesnt seem clean,u cant open the room windows becouse ac is gonna fall apart,no elevators(if u have a lot of bags this can be anoying).for breakfast is like in booth camp.
  • 54%
  • 13 Oct 2013 olga Serbia
  • I loved that when I was checking in there were also two single women travelers checking in, both older than me. The facilities were exactly as promised. We loved the location. I'd recommend it and stay there again. Best NYC hostel I've stayed in.
  • 100%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Leila USA
  • The location of this hostel is very good. Near by metro station. Room is small, but clean and it has airco. Good shower. Little bit noisy neighborhood.
  • 77%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Alex Netherlands
  • The location was great, the rooms are not beautiful at all but to stay for 3 nights was alright. The guy from Spain at the reception is really nice and helped a lot with airport transfers and other small things. If you need to check out but need to leave your bags they locker is really good and safe.
  • 83%
  • 07 Oct 2013 Juliana Brazil
  • Very close to the city center
  • 89%
  • 05 Oct 2013 Daniel Spain
  • An excelent place to stay, the room was good, the bathroom was clean and the common areas are nice to stay if you only want to relax. The location was excelent to get any place.
  • 94%
  • 12 Sep 2013 Juan Manuel Mexico
  • It was really good time.location and guest was great.but it is expensive also breakfast is very simple.
  • 71%
  • 12 Sep 2013 Nurbay Turkey
  • the location is very good and the backyard is great in the hot weather. negative thing: - the sink shouldn´t be inside of the room, cause if someone is sleeping, and the other is using the sink is impossible to sleep. - the internet should be able in the rooms and at every hour. We are in the 21st century!!!
  • 77%
  • 08 Sep 2013 Anonymous Portugal
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »