See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 224 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A very small room, with a bad view from the window, and a very very small shower for the whole floor, also on the last floor there's no sink, I had to go to a floor bellow to use it, and the price is too big for these conditions And one more thing, downtown sucks ((
  • 29%
  • 08 Sep 2013 Radion Moldova
  • The hostel had the same feel to me as uni halls which was kind of nice. I think the male and female dorms are awkwardly placed though. It meant that I had to walk past people in the common room whenever I needed the toilet, or to shower, so half the time I was in my pyjamas in front of people I didn't know. That was a tad weird. Aside from this though, I felt safe there and the unlimited wifi/computer usage was especially great.
  • 83%
  • 06 Sep 2013 Camilla British Virgin Islands
  • It got nothing but the relatively good location.
  • 60%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Anonymous China
  • Great place for a short stay in Manhattan :)
  • 80%
  • 02 Sep 2013 Fadwa Tunisia
  • Great hostel, I had a wonderful time
  • 77%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • The hostel was quite satisfactory. The staff were friendly and helpful, although it took a long time to check in with so many people checking in at once and only one computer available for check-in... but I wasn't in a rush, so it wasn't a BIG deal. The premises were well-kept and everything functioned well and was kept clean. The WiFi was good, I was able to use it even for streaming videos with few issues. I felt that the neighborhood and common areas were safe and comfortable.
  • 83%
  • 26 Aug 2013 Anna USA
  • This is a good place to sleep and leave your baggage. It has a decent internet connection and it's well located.
  • 74%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Luis Humberto Mexico
  • Very unfriendly staff at the reception. You feel like in prison, when they are talking to you.
  • 63%
  • 20 Aug 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Basic hostel in a good location. It was very clean and the facilities were good, standard for a hostel. The breakfast was okay, included cereal, bagel, fruit and juice. The staff were friendly and helpful, which was nice. Also, the hostel is within easy walking distance of Times Square and other touristy spots and was also only three blocks away from the subway, both uptown and downtown.
  • 77%
  • 17 Aug 2013 Lucy England
  • IT IS WORTHY AND ESSENTIAL TO HAVE A SMALL REFRIGATOR & SMALL TV IN THE PRIVATE ROOMS ,IT IS NOT EXPENSIVE ITEMS . IT IS NOT LOGICAL TO DRINK HOT WATER IN SUMMER NIGHTS , ALSO IT IS NOT BAD TO HAVE SOME ENTERTAIMENT WITH SMALL TV , EVEN SOME EXTREA MONEY COULD BE ADDED TO THE RENT .
  • 97%
  • 14 Aug 2013 MUTASEM USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »