See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 243 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location, great train connections, affordable... I'll book it again when I come to NY next time.
  • 86%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Djordje Serbia
  • Hi there, Basically the only good point of this hostel is the location. Apart from that, we had few issues in terms of security. Even though our room was private someone broke into it when we weren't in there and tried to steal from our suitcases (both of them well locked!!!) The staff wasn't helpful at all when we reported our situation, not taken responsability for anything happening in their own hostel and also not giving us any facilities. Cleanliness is average and breakfasts quite por.
  • 49%
  • 19 Oct 2013 MARIA Spain
  • The two bed rooms should have watercloset
  • 60%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Pablo Argentina
  • Very comfortable setting. I especially liked the courtyard open to guests in the middle of the hostel. Nice area to get fresh area and chat with other people. I had the unfortunate experience of being in the same room with someone who woke me up at 2:30am asking for sexual favors. Needless to say, i did not get much sleep, but this does not cloud my judgement of the rest of my experience. I would definitely stay here again, just probably not in a dorm style room. The bathroom was not clean.
  • 77%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Bait-and-switch hostel. I requested a private room (And the invoice they gave me says "private room"!), but when I open the door to the room, there are 3 other guys in there (The room smelled like gym's locker room, nasty). I got to the hostel late (2am), so I just went to sleep... In the morning I went to talk to the guy in reception, and with a very rude attitude (And yelling in front of other customers) he says they don't give any money back and there's nothing they can do. Avoid.
  • 37%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • No television, shelf, or chair in room, nowadays that would be a small cost and would have made the room much better. Also, quite noisy having room next to the floor's convenience.
  • 71%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Anyone who is looking for just a bed to sleepn in should go to this hostel.besides that,it doesnt offer so much.i paid the same price for the hostel in boston and i cant compare the two.here u will have just basic stuff;bed ,towel(for which they take 10$ deposit lol), and poor breakfast.everything is very old and ut doesnt seem clean,u cant open the room windows becouse ac is gonna fall apart,no elevators(if u have a lot of bags this can be anoying).for breakfast is like in booth camp.
  • 54%
  • 13 Oct 2013 olga Serbia
  • I loved that when I was checking in there were also two single women travelers checking in, both older than me. The facilities were exactly as promised. We loved the location. I'd recommend it and stay there again. Best NYC hostel I've stayed in.
  • 100%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Leila USA
  • The location of this hostel is very good. Near by metro station. Room is small, but clean and it has airco. Good shower. Little bit noisy neighborhood.
  • 77%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Alex Netherlands
  • The location was great, the rooms are not beautiful at all but to stay for 3 nights was alright. The guy from Spain at the reception is really nice and helped a lot with airport transfers and other small things. If you need to check out but need to leave your bags they locker is really good and safe.
  • 83%
  • 07 Oct 2013 Juliana Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »