See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 210 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a great time staying at Chelsea. Their staff are really nice especially David.
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • Had single room. Everything was decent. Nothing to complain about. Will come back
  • 97%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Milada Czech Republic
  • there is no WiFi in the rooms, only in the general area. WiFi was not working all the time. there are not enough plug-in in the room, there should be two for each bed.
  • 89%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Anonymous Switzerland
  • It is very good placr to stay in, staff is very kind, area is quiet safe and central
  • 89%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Bunyamin Turkey
  • Very clean hostel, great location and good service... The only downsize is there is no elevator so to carry luggage is a hustle, but this is very common in NY. Over all was excellent
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2015 Barbara Brazil
  • Unfortunately I cannot recommend the Chelsea International Hostel to anyone. Our experience was terrible with the people in the front desk and, about the accommodations, although the rooms were clean, they need a complete overhaul, starting from the beds and finishing in the bathrooms. The recreation area is small and inappropriate considering the number of guests. I stay very often in hostels but not in this one, I hope.
  • 63%
  • 19 Aug 2015 ANTONIO Brazil
  • Best deal in NYC!
  • 94%
  • 15 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It's just an average hostel within a good location for a bus or train ride to main attractions in Manhattan. The staffs just feel that they did good job by taking your money and handing over the hostel keys. They just don't care if you got any complains as they will have more people lining up for rooms by next morning. The rent is quite high for an average hostel in New York city. If you're willing to pay a bit extra bucks, you better off find a good 2 star hotel somewhere else!
  • 57%
  • 13 Aug 2015 Mohd Noor Malaysia
  • Very simple, but I was surprised by how incredibly clean it was. I saw no bugs or cobwebs or anything like that that I would normally sort of take for granted at a cheap hostel. I had a private room with a shared bath, but still had a handbasin in my room which was very convenient. The location in Chelsea was perfect. Lots of nice restaurants, stores, and several metro stops nearby. If you basically need an affordable place that is a roof over your head and a decent bed, this is the place.
  • 83%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Helenah Sweden
  • Improve staff hospitality.
  • 71%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Ricardo Jorge
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »