See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 159 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fantastic location, wasn't aware it came with free breakfast which was really good. Easy and simple to get everything sorted.
  • 97%
  • 18 Mar 2016 Andrew New Zealand
  • The staff was the worst ever, specially this guy called Larry, I came over to the front desk to complain about the WI-FI and He told me that I wanted to check out the door was right there, so rude and such a bad behaviour, Avoid This Hostel To The Max because They Can barely offer Internet, definetely my worst experience in New York City and I have been there more than 10 times, the good part is location and that's it nothing more !
  • 40%
  • 11 Mar 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • Thanks for providing good stay at Chelsea !! It's worth to stay at this place only for resting at night. Rooms are good and clean. We had good breakfast as well.
  • 83%
  • 04 Mar 2016 Raghunath India
  • What a wonderful place! Beautiful courtyard, great neighborhood, staff is friendly and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 03 Mar 2016 Lee USA
  • The wifi is the problem, doesn't work in the dorms.
  • 77%
  • 15 Feb 2016 caroline
  • I stayed at the Chelsea International Hostel for 2 nights. It was definitely an experience. If you're looking for somewhere just to sleep, then this place is great other than the fact that our room was freezing and there was a draft. It wasn't quite the hostel experience I hoped for. Many hostels advertise as somewhere to meet new people and go to events (pub crawls) but there was absolutely nothing listed here. Very clean though.
  • 60%
  • 12 Feb 2016 Anonymous Philippines
  • I had an amazing stay here. Was beyond impressed!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2016 Leah USA
  • Clean place at a low price with a perfect location! Would def go back
  • 89%
  • 10 Feb 2016 Jenny
  • Much more room with far Fewer Beds in each room than when I've stayed there in the Past, Also added a Bagel, Cereal and either an Apple or Banana for Breakfast. Mattresses and Pillows were comfortable, Had some issues with Hot Water a couple times but all in a Good Stay.
  • 91%
  • 14 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Having in mind that it is Manhattan, the price is barely decent. The staff is rude and reluctant to help. I would consider it a choice again only if there is no other decent hostel available, otherwise I would recommend to look for better options.
  • 40%
  • 07 Jan 2016 Andres Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »