See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 200 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My girlfriend spent a long weekend in New York and I felt as if was the most ideal place to stay. The room was nice (A/C and sink), the bathroom was clean, and the noise level was next to none. It was located between the Statue of Liberty/ 9/11 Memorial Museum and Times Square/Empire State Building. There was also food very close by which was also a nice bonus. Lastly the area is very, very safe, as there's a police precinct right outside the hostel. It's an affordable, nice place for travelers.
  • 83%
  • 18 Sep 2015 Mark USA
  • I enjoyed Chelsea Hostel. Good location, near the subway, quiet street and many stores around the hostel. The frontdesk was very polite. Good location for visit many amazing places.
  • 77%
  • 15 Sep 2015 OMAR Brazil
  • Very dirty and old, the air conditioning extrememely old and NOISY!From the street awful noise,impossible to sleep
  • 54%
  • 15 Sep 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • First time in NY and I thought the hostel was an excellent location with easy access to public transport to get you to wherever you want to go around town. Front desk was all very friendly and helpful. Rooms and general facilities are standard and all you need, nothing flashy. Overall great place for the value.
  • 80%
  • 13 Sep 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Good: location, breakfast, hot shower, Soso: WiFi, Bad: dirty bathroom, uncomfortable bed, smelly blanket, no-open window
  • 66%
  • 11 Sep 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • A few things will annoy you when coming to this hostel. Those little attention to detail things are just not present. 1) If you are an American citizen, why do you need to show your passport? What is the point of being a American citizen in the United States if you have to show your passport. A state ID should be suffice. 2) Late night hostel staff guy was very rude. 3) Although hostel is maintained and cleaned, some of the bathrooms need to be upgraded.
  • 49%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Abbesi USA
  • I had a great time staying at Chelsea. Their staff are really nice especially David.
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • Had single room. Everything was decent. Nothing to complain about. Will come back
  • 97%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Milada Czech Republic
  • there is no WiFi in the rooms, only in the general area. WiFi was not working all the time. there are not enough plug-in in the room, there should be two for each bed.
  • 89%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Anonymous Switzerland
  • It is very good placr to stay in, staff is very kind, area is quiet safe and central
  • 89%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Bunyamin Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »