See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 183 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was in a single room, perfect! Bagels for breakfast and close to the Empire State. :) I will recommend it
  • 83%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Jennifer Spain
  • I absolutely loved my stay at Chelsea International Hostel. It is in a very safe located. There is a police station across the street, as well as a Starbucks. There are subway stations, stores, and restaurants everywhere you turn. I found the staff very pleasant, room and facility clean, and the room was very affordable.
  • 100%
  • 27 Nov 2015 Asia USA
  • This is a fine place to stay, and also a place where you can meet fellow travellers. Clean and good location. I could definitively stay here at my next exit. The hostel would probably increase visitors utility by improving the internet signals, and make more effort in common area to make it more feasible for travellers to socialize (at least when it is to cold to sit outside).
  • 71%
  • 21 Nov 2015 Jostein Norway
  • Everything was good! Our double room was perfect for us. Clean bathrooms and toilets
  • 83%
  • 21 Nov 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Couldn't have picked a better location; perfect for walking and excellent transport links, but that's what you're paying for - the accommodation is pretty basic and tired. That being said, if you're spending all your time in your room or the hostel here then you're wasting your New York experience! All rooms, including the bathrooms, are lacking in shelving and hooks. Seriously. Someone needs to do a trip to the hardware store! Having no hooks or shelving in the shower room was a nightmare!
  • 74%
  • 17 Nov 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • In case you have to be in Chelsea AND all you need is a bed - go for it. In any other case: consider spending more money or staying a litle bit futher out. The hostel is run down and literally has no ammenities.
  • 46%
  • 07 Nov 2015 Janine
  • Great place!
  • 100%
  • 03 Nov 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Very bad value for money
  • 37%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Simona
  • Worst hostel ever. We made a reservation for 5 nights and changed the 2nd night. The windows was broken and we could hear literally everything from the street.
  • 23%
  • 13 Oct 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • I love this hostel. This was the third time in the last four years that I stayed and like the times before was all perfect. Great value for money. Highly recommended. You wont be disappointed!!!
  • 100%
  • 05 Oct 2015 Anonymous Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »