See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 77% from 94 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • All in all, I was pleased with my decision to stay here. The hostel is in a great location. It's spartan but clean and relatively quiet. It's also unexpectedly huge, which means it may be hard to meet people if that is your goal. I would stay here again.
  • 74%
  • 14 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Any random off the street can just walk into the courtyard / common rooms without anyone knowing. WiFi restricted to common rooms, when they close at 11pm you have to stand outside them to use it. Kitchen staff are good, other staff / owners don't engage with the business at all. 4 person dorm is squishy, need to move the beds to access power sockets. Bathroom is good. Breakfast is good. Supplied free pizza one night which was nice. You'll have to find good local food/drink on your own.
  • 63%
  • 13 Sep 2016 Ben Australia
  • Kitchen is not really well equiped. Needs some more stuff to really cook proper. And the fridge is a catastrophy and not at all well organized (labeling!!) Beside this everything is fine!
  • 74%
  • 06 Sep 2016 Alexandra
  • Good hostel in a really fun area! everything's easygoing and breakfast gives you energy for the morning stroll through manhattan! it was my 2nd stay here and i would book again:)
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Very well located, the staff is friendly, very great place!!
  • 100%
  • 26 Aug 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Had a great stay and loved it all. Only comment was that the bed in the double en suite room we had was not at all comfortable. Think a new mattress is needed.
  • 86%
  • 31 Jul 2016 Dianne Australia
  • Overall a valuable hostel experience. Front desk staff cud be more responsive in handling emergencies such as helping convey last-min. flt changes which if missed cud result to thousands of $$ on hotel & int'l flight rebookings; instead of being overly cautious in disturbing other dorm guests in early morning hours. If d same were to happen to them they wud have wanted being informed of such cost-implicating changes & thus wud surely understand being bothered by a rare& untimely knock on d door.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jul 2016 Anonymous Philippines
  • To be fair, having a bed, roof, AC & breakfast in Manhattan at this price was a steal. That said, it is true that you get what you paid for. The rooms are smaller than they might appear in the photos, it is not five-star accommodation. I would have liked the wifi to be available in the dorms, instead of just in the common area. On the plus side, the shower's water pressure & temperature were perfect. If you're expectations aren't high and you just want a place to sleep and regroup, it's ideal.
  • 74%
  • 07 Jul 2016 Deborah USA
  • I have stayed in hostels in many countries but this was my first one in New York City. I found the staff to be extremely helpful and kind. The rooms were clean and I couldn't have been more pleased at the atmosphere. The location was close to several restaurants and not to far from Time Square. It was reasonably priced and I would highly recommend it. The only inconvince was that wifi was only available in the common area, but even that was ok. I will stay there again next year when I return.
  • 91%
  • 05 Jul 2016 Kenneth USA
  • No Wi-Fi in the Quest rooms and the building area. Wi-Fi Internet work in the kitchen area only. and all Guest must go to the kitchen area to have Wi-Fi internet access like an he-goats. No Elevator in the building. and the hostel have a huge long up stairs which all guess stress to hell to climb with their luggage. the hostel security and the staff do not give a dam about human beings. only money that´ts all.
  • 57%
  • 03 Jul 2016 Anonymous Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »