See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 133 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Have you heard the motto “The customer is always right”? This applies to hostels an hotels that value customer satisfaction. Not the Chelsea International Hostel. Please note that if you you make a reservation there and receive an email confirming it and providing the "the amount due at arrival" - the amount may change whenever the manager thinks it is the case... A rip-off!!! Too bad, but NYC has several hostels, and some of them are honest and managed by decent people.
  • 37%
  • 18 May 2016 Eduardo Brazil
  • The manager tried to solve the situation at check in. Instead of providing a solution, this gentleman proved to be one of the rudest people I had the bad luck of knowing in my life. He thinks it is all right to yell and be discourteous to a customer who had a confirmation email from his own property that disagrees with his view of how the price of the stay is supposed to be calculated. If you want to be treated in a humiliating way by a mannerless staff, this is the hostel you're looking for!!
  • 40%
  • 14 May 2016 Eduardo Brazil
  • you got what you paid for
  • 69%
  • 14 May 2016 Gerge USA
  • I coldn't use Wifi in the room. It's important
  • 54%
  • 06 May 2016 Hyo-jae South Korea
  • Our overall experience was good, with one notable exception. After coming back from a long day out in the city, we noticed that our door was slightly open (we stayed in a private twin room). The maids had come in to collect our garbage and didn't properly close the door all the way. Luckily nothing was missing, but that really pissed me off.
  • 71%
  • 25 Apr 2016 Alex Canada
  • A good hotel for the price, the rooms are clean but need some renovation
  • 83%
  • 15 Apr 2016 Jihed Tunisia
  • great location
  • 100%
  • 08 Apr 2016 norm Canada
  • No wifi in the room 24/7 at all!!! They said there's wifi, but ONLY in ONE common area where opens ONLY from 7am to 11pm. 11PM, really?!!! To access to the ONLY wifi, I had to stay in patio in several cold winter nights with no place to sit cause they put away all cheap outdoor chairs after 11pm. Never stayed a place with NO WIFI ever before! Couldn't believe it. This place felt like 1980. A lot of weird rules, although location can't be beat, I'd rather stay in Brooklyn than exhausting myself.
  • 37%
  • 06 Apr 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • I belive adding WiFi to the actual rooms would be beneficial. Sometime I would come back and try to share some pics with family at night and I couldnt because its a little too late.
  • 91%
  • 01 Apr 2016 Ahmed Yemen
  • Best deal in NYC!
  • 100%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »