See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 221 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good location and very quiet.
  • 83%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Muito bem localizado, ambiente ótimo. acomodações simples, mas vale a pena.
  • 97%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Hugo Brazil
  • The front desk staff were 110% helpful!!!
  • 94%
  • 19 Jun 2014 sarah USA
  • Thank You e.
  • 89%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Elizabeth USA
  • There was a great hostel.
  • 91%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Soraya Thailand
  • very small rooms morelike prison cells without anything but two beds and a steel cabinet, will not return there!
  • 60%
  • 09 Jun 2014 kjell Sweden
  • location is so nice but room and bed is too small
  • 74%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Dayeon South Korea
  • I called and spoke to Tim O'Reilly at Chelsea International and asked him about the two emails with different prices I received from Hostels.com and from Chelsea International. Tim then asked, “What do you want, buddy? This is not our fault, it’s your fault. I have a line out the door and I don’t have time for this.” I asked for a manager and he said Luciano would not be back until Monday and hung up on me. I must say, I have never been this disrespected from a hostel before. I do not recommend.
  • 20%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Michael USA
  • Positive: - Location in manhattan and near the subway - Location in a safe area - Bathrooms are clean - They have individual rooms - Good $ Negative: - Staff is rude, unfriendly and unhelpful - My room was smelling cigaret even if it's forbidden to smoke in the rooms - We can't open the window - The air conditioner is very noisy (we can't use it at night) - Poor breakfast and the staff giving the breakfast closes the breakfast before the time announced (10am) Go only if you want to sleep.
  • 57%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Camille Evelyne Noemie France
  • Excellent location; it's a very safe neighborhood (Chelsea) and the hostel is located just blocks away from subway stations and from various convenience stores. The facilities are a bit old, and they could use a bit more maintenance. Regarding the staff, they were a bit rude addressing the guests, although they did provide guidance and help whenever was required. Overall, I really recommend this hostel, mostly if your main concern is location.
  • 86%
  • 31 May 2014 Anonymous Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »