See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 231 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Second time i've stayed at this hostel and it's great. We didn't really need anything the whole stay so my only interaction with the staff was during our check in/out but the guy was very friendly and helpful. the rooms are basic: bed, locker, heater but they are clean as a whistle. did not feel uncomfortable at all. we had an ensuite bathroom and there was a second sink which was very convenient for two girls getting ready in the am. perfect location, will be back.
  • 91%
  • 10 Mar 2015 ashley USA
  • very good
  • 74%
  • 07 Mar 2015 julio Argentina
  • Two bed room, F8, was excellent. There was enough room for two. One bed privates though are scary small, my friend described it as; "It looks like a prison room, I will never stay in such a room", it was for room F3. It would be great if the rest rooms also have a sink.
  • 89%
  • 28 Feb 2015 selen Turkey
  • There are a few things that I dislike about this place: 1. Cleanliness, this place is kind of dirty; The toilet is terrible. My towel looked like it wasn't even washed. The bed sheet had stains on it. 2. Atmosphere, It is not a very social place 3. Facilities, The shower was terrible. The shower was barely just warm enough. It was very uncomfortable
  • 54%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I usually heard noises in the building about 6 a.m. and 7 a.m.
  • 89%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Jaime Spain
  • there is a pipe inside a 2 beds bedroom which gets really hot and then it gets cold, for some reason. and from where it comes from, i dont know, theres a noise every now and then even in the middle of the night, in which, its like someone is banging or hitting the pipe or it sounds like somebody is working on a pipe. i dont understand the noise. its just very annoying especially at midnight. we cant sleep.
  • 69%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Mufti Philippines
  • Reasonable price and perfect location!
  • 86%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great location, friendly staff, wifi works only in the common area and the breakfast is not the best, but for the value is a great deal. I certainly would stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 11 Feb 2015 Patricia Brazil
  • Bit of a tight squeeze but the location was great, and the price was good for a couple nights stopover. Bathrooms were interesting, but at the price paid I wasn't expecting a spa bath, just maybe something a little cleaner. Otherwise was fairly happy with it. Glad for the lockers
  • 71%
  • 04 Feb 2015 Keilah Australia
  • I've stayed in a number of hostels across a number of countries and continents; this was the worst of them. After one night at Chelsea International I decided to check out, five nights earlier than planed. I was able to get a refund for nights I did not spend at the hostel, which surprised me because previously staff had been so deeply unhelpful, brisk, and disinterested.
  • 43%
  • 01 Feb 2015 Daniel Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »