See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 222 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff very helpful and accommodating.
  • 97%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Robert USA
  • I had a great time. David and the older guy at the front desk are very friendly and
  • 80%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Glen USA
  • The staff a little bit rude, like a Russian guy. But sill, he is willing to help.
  • 71%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Anonymous China
  • For what I paid for a private double female dorm, I was expecting better facilities. Room was fine, bed was a bit springy. The towels had visible stains. The shower was most diaspointing, I discovered black mold growing in the corners. Wifi was only in one common area. Complimentary breakfast included fruits, bagels, corn flakes, and coffee/juice. And upon arrival, I recieved very rude service from an employee at the front desk. Truly the only big upside was the location. Would not visit again.
  • 43%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Nicole USA
  • The staff is so kind - and really funny. I felt entirely safe while staying in the hostel - and even met another student traveling from Macedonia! My room was impeccably clean, as was the bathroom and shower room. The air conditioning and soft bedding were perks from days and late nights spent roaming the city. Highly, highly recommend. Great idea - coffee shops, bus station, and markets all along the way.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Amanda USA
  • The first room smells bad. i changed the room n it was all ok, free from the bad smell. one of the electronic code ddidn't work but i used the other one. Bad was not hard but quite ok. The door required strong push to be closed, so i was smashing the door all the time which would have annoyed next door. Water at the sink didn't come out smoothly sometimes. These small things need improvemen. A big downside is wifi doesn't work in the room n common area equipped with strong wifi closes at 11.
  • 69%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Anonymous
  • Great location and decent room. I wish the counter had more site seeing options other than the bus tours which are quite expensive. I stayed in R6 where hot water was not there in the bathroom.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Mitaxi India
  • The location, price and common areas of the hostel are good. The person at the front desk had a proper behavior with us but I missed a smile and a warmer welcome.
  • 69%
  • 06 Jun 2015 ENRICO Chile
  • Staff was very helpful and patiently answered questions I'm sure they've heard hundreds of times already.
  • 86%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Susan USA
  • The room was good and the area was great because it is across from police. So Safe, yes. Our only issue which was unforeseen was that the hot water was turned off due to a hot water heater issue. Room was clean, people were nice and the common areas were well kept. The media area could be better because the printer wasn't working due to water damage.
  • 89%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »