See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 79% from 58 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fabulous for the low-maintenance guest who wants to be in the center of the universe for a reasonable price. If you are pampered, stay somewhere else.
  • 100%
  • 12 Nov 2016 Anonymous USA
  • clean clean clean-best ever-breakfast and pixxa at night-very close to 23rd st station
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2016 lori lee Canada
  • It was pretty good. Though didn't it have good wifi.
  • 71%
  • 05 Nov 2016 Alexandra Finland
  • This place was booked full for my original travel dates so I switched them so I could stay here. It's my fault it's so busy because I always give it the best reviews! My go to place in NYC. Love it! Clean, accessible to public transportation, nearby grocery stores, nice staff and fun people stay here.
  • 94%
  • 04 Nov 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I didn't like staff, rude, no manners and not hospitality. Felt uncomfortable and Mistreated by one of employees.
  • 63%
  • 05 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was great!
  • 100%
  • 26 Sep 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • The outside locker systems are horrible, and its a fortune taken out of you. I was mistreated by a worker, and the stairs are just horrible if you have a suitcase. No elevators, many floors, and the breakfast - horrible too. Never coming back again.
  • 40%
  • 21 Sep 2016 Akemi Brazil
  • A wonderful surprise after staying in two inferior hostels - one in CA, and one in NYC. Chelsea International was much more than I expected. So clean and welcoming and never a worry about safety in that neighborhood. Highly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2016 Terry USA
  • All in all, I was pleased with my decision to stay here. The hostel is in a great location. It's spartan but clean and relatively quiet. It's also unexpectedly huge, which means it may be hard to meet people if that is your goal. I would stay here again.
  • 74%
  • 14 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Any random off the street can just walk into the courtyard / common rooms without anyone knowing. WiFi restricted to common rooms, when they close at 11pm you have to stand outside them to use it. Kitchen staff are good, other staff / owners don't engage with the business at all. 4 person dorm is squishy, need to move the beds to access power sockets. Bathroom is good. Breakfast is good. Supplied free pizza one night which was nice. You'll have to find good local food/drink on your own.
  • 63%
  • 13 Sep 2016 Ben Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »