See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 226 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was the my second time in the hostel and I have still been impressed as I was the first time. I just love it!!! The security is great. The location is awesome and the staff is very helpful and the place is very clean. I cant wait to get back to New York and get back in this hostel
  • 100%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Nice hostel! Good value for money. The room and toilet was clean every morning. Locker inside the room. Good location! The only problem was there was no WiFi inside the rooms... only at the common áreas and as I was in the other building, I had to go far to use... but it was fine...
  • 94%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I had a great stay. It was great being in Chelsea, steps away from subway lines on 8th and 7th and only a few blocks from the High Line. I just wish either the common room stayed open longer or why not put wifi in all areas? I stayed in a single and was accommodating enough.
  • 94%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Amanda Canada
  • NYC on the cheap. clean space, nice people, nothing fancy. best value for the money you'll find.
  • 86%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Christopher Bangladesh
  • Location is very good. You need to pay with extra tax around 16%.(official price will be charged even you paid some as a budget) There's no airconditioner in the room, so little bad for cooling. No elevator or escarlator, old bed & cabinet. Bathroom was very tight for only one person, but good facility for hot water. one pice of bed cover and tower for whole dates. Breakfast-cereal,coffee,juice-free/1 Bagle&1fruit with ticket(get when chekcin) for one day. Free pizza at night. Averagely good.
  • 80%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • No AC or fan in the room with a 81 F degrees! And if you sleep with an open window you get woken up by chit chatters out in the courtyard!
  • 60%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Ana Brazil
  • Chelsea is good, clean room and bathroom, good swimwear and bed linen. The room is small but is enough to whom wish just sleep e enjoy the city. Close to the subway station, you can go by walking to Times Square also there are good restaurants around there. I can conclude that is a comfortable hostel.
  • 77%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Aristides Brazil
  • We book and individual room, the room was definitely below our expectations. Very cold, located on the basement...
  • 69%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Alejandro Spain
  • Terrible place. The private room was a depressing cell with holes in the walls(RATS!), dirt everywhere and one of those push-button locks made for bathrooms, NOT for security. Also, this hostel has several different street doors which means that staff have no way of knowing who is going into rooms. These doors also have inadequate locks. I like hostels because they're always full of happy, excited people and their energy fills the place. This dump felt more like a homeless shelter. AVOID!!!!!
  • 43%
  • 24 Sep 2014 Dan Canada
  • The hostel is very well located. If you just want to sleep, this place is the best. If I went to NYC again, I would stay there.
  • 91%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Diana Isabel Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »