See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 214 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff is not welcoming. The guy who work at night is rude.
  • 69%
  • 13 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Spacious bedroom with 4 separated beds. Neighborhood with pleasant bars and restaurants.
  • 74%
  • 13 May 2014 Margarida Brazil
  • Great place, 100% recommended. Close to High Line, Chelsea Market and 3 blocks from line blue.
  • 97%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous Chile
  • It's good for this price and the location, and the staff there is very nice. But the problem is that you need to pay for if you need to store your luggage and it's very noisy - I can hear clearly when other walking, closing the door.
  • 83%
  • 09 May 2014 Yanwei China
  • Room and common areas were neatly kept. Breakfast was simple, but good. There was a good pizza place and laundry service nearby. Subway was also not that far away. The only downsides were the beds, which were a bit uncomfortable, and the fact that the wifi only worked on the common areas until 11 pm and didn't reach the rooms. Also, the hot/cold water mixer needs some adjusting. Water kept turning super cold while showering and never settled in the mix you set when you started showering.
  • 83%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I have stayed in the Chelsea International Hostel 4 or 5 times and have been very pleased each time. The location is simply the very best in NYC! That alone is worth the price of admission, but the whole experience is positive. The staff is accommodating even when the patrons are being jerks. Enough toilet and bathing facilities, I've never had to wait and they are cleaned every day, as are the hallway floors. hot water (and heat and air conditioners, if needed) forever! All age groups.
  • 100%
  • 06 May 2014 Donna USA
  • The place is quite nice and what is more important: clean. It´s one of the few that offers breakfast and it´s close to different subway entrances what makes it very easy to get to everywhere. The staff is always willing to help you with anything you need and recommend places to visit.
  • 91%
  • 01 May 2014 Daiana Argentina
  • The staff are nice and helpful, no air-con which made me sweating in night. The location is perfect and really safe in night.
  • 91%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • 2 floors no elevator, old building very ruined
  • 29%
  • 24 Apr 2014 Pablo Argentina
  • Staff was abrupt and rude. They didn't even try to hide their contempt for their guests. Found a better place, will never go back.
  • 49%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Neil USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »