See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 231 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I called and spoke to Tim O'Reilly at Chelsea International and asked him about the two emails with different prices I received from Hostels.com and from Chelsea International. Tim then asked, “What do you want, buddy? This is not our fault, it’s your fault. I have a line out the door and I don’t have time for this.” I asked for a manager and he said Luciano would not be back until Monday and hung up on me. I must say, I have never been this disrespected from a hostel before. I do not recommend.
  • 20%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Michael USA
  • Positive: - Location in manhattan and near the subway - Location in a safe area - Bathrooms are clean - They have individual rooms - Good $ Negative: - Staff is rude, unfriendly and unhelpful - My room was smelling cigaret even if it's forbidden to smoke in the rooms - We can't open the window - The air conditioner is very noisy (we can't use it at night) - Poor breakfast and the staff giving the breakfast closes the breakfast before the time announced (10am) Go only if you want to sleep.
  • 57%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Camille Evelyne Noemie France
  • Excellent location; it's a very safe neighborhood (Chelsea) and the hostel is located just blocks away from subway stations and from various convenience stores. The facilities are a bit old, and they could use a bit more maintenance. Regarding the staff, they were a bit rude addressing the guests, although they did provide guidance and help whenever was required. Overall, I really recommend this hostel, mostly if your main concern is location.
  • 86%
  • 31 May 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • Uncomfortable, noisy rooms, and in my case the blind didn't even close fully. I was let into my room even though it hadn't yet been cleaned after the previous guest had checked out. WiFi signal is only available in the courtyard area. Very steep, narrow staircases that aren't really conducive to those travelling with large luggage. The location is the only thing I can recommend.
  • 49%
  • 30 May 2014 Iain Scotland
  • I can't recommend this hostel to you. Staff was not kind and room was inconvenient. Their rooms even do not offer free Wi-Fi. (You can use Wi-Fi only in the designated area)
  • 49%
  • 29 May 2014 Su Hwan South Korea
  • Better if wi-fi is in the Rooms as well
  • 63%
  • 29 May 2014 johanna Sweden
  • I never slept in such a soulless bedroom! When we arrived there was a paper hanging on the wall saying: do not open the window because the air conditioner will fail. We didn't manage to find where the hell the air conditioner was. Some days later we arrived to the room and an air conditioner had been "installed"/stucked on the half opened window with adhesive tape, some wood and styrofoam. We finally understood our minds had played a trick on us. The word on the warning was "faLL" not "faiL" :)
  • 74%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • It gives you what you pay for. Really simple basic accommodation incl. a little and basic breakfast: 1 roll, 1 little butter + jam, 1 fruit: apple or orange, coffee, all the cereal you can eat. The best rooms are the ones in the backyard, fx:4-bed rooms, because there you have your own shower/toilet, otherwise it is on the staircase, and you can not hear noise from the garbage truck/staircase. Notice:if you are 2 persons you can not be sure to get beds in the same room! Clean, safe/police nearby
  • 77%
  • 24 May 2014 Selma Denmark
  • The hostel served my basic purposes- a place to sleep and a decently clean shower. It is in a nice location-- not stuck in the middle of all the Times Square type tourist nonsense but also not too far out from fun things to do. My single room was tiny but clean. I just wish the hostel was more social. It felt like a ghost town and I had hoped to meet other travelers to possibly go out with. The hostel might consider ways to facilitate more social interaction. All in all a good stay though.
  • 66%
  • 24 May 2014 Kelsey USA
  • The security is really bad. Some guy had two bottles of champagne that he was planning celebrate something with by a known thief who wandered in from the street. Apparently it happens regularly.
  • 54%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »