See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 232 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very well located hostel, close to Penn Station. Rooms are in different buildings, which increases privacy but reduces security since nobody checks who enters individual buildings. Individual rooms are clean but very spartan: a metal frame bed, a locker, 3 shelves, a sink. Common facilities are kept clean. The main downpoint of the hostel is the staff: they would substantially add to the value if customers were not treated as a nuisance.
  • 71%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Anonymous Austria
  • Internet wasn t working.
  • 74%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Stephane France
  • The place is horrible, The walls were not painted and has tons of stains. The floor is not even, we were falling all of the time; the beds are old, dirty and noisy; lockers did not work; we could not open the window because the AC would fall!; instead of glass, a part of the "window" had a piece of wood, no idea why. It's obvious that they do not care at all about their guests, the place says it all by itself, with a little bit of effort they could make of it a decent place! It felt like prison!
  • 37%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Andrea Ecuador
  • I've stayed there for two nights. The staffs were very friendly. The room was not bad, but the washroom and shower room were really small. The position was really convenient to every attractions. If your budget is fine, I strongly recommend this hostel.
  • 71%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Very rude management!! horrible breakfast from 8-10 am just bagel, one fruit and coffee. Rooms are exactly like a prison soooooo small that you can hardly move, I'm not exaggerating, very uncomfortable mattress, I couldn't sleep well in that room. Horrible place!!!
  • 34%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Gloria USA
  • The hostel is perfect for young people like me who they just want a place to sleep and have a shower after a long day walking in New York. The staff is very nice, the rooms are neat and clean and the free breakfast (even if it is not a buffet) it makes it better. I totally recomed it and I will come back to the hostel when I go to New York.
  • 91%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I think it is a surprisingly great hostel, absolutely worth it booking there. The location is great, there is a police station near. I liked the common areas and the 2 bed rooms are comfortable and bearable.
  • 83%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Laszlo Hungary
  • Had a positive experience.Staff at the front desk:ok.Not too customer service oriented but not rude neither-friendlier to some girls than to solo travelling guys.Room: modest(a bit stinky) but still ok.There was a funny note in the room:"Don't open window cause the a/c will fall". A/C was good.Unclear instructions on the lockers was theonly bad thing.To all those ppl who leave bad comments:this is a HOSTEL and don't expect top notch customer service or facilities or compare them to hotel chains.
  • 71%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Ante Croatia
  • Rooms smell horrible. beds were never made. to expensive for the quality. not very social as you turn the social rooms off at a certain time.
  • 40%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous
  • Wifi never works, or when it does it is very weak. So you buy a room with NO internet. FYI
  • 63%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous Portugal
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »