See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 77% from 102 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Best deal in NYC!
  • 100%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • It is in a great location nearby Metro station and delightful restaurants. The room was spacious and quite clean, but there was no table or dresser, which was a bit inconvenient. Also, Wi-Fi works only in the common area, which closes at 11 p.m., which was also not that great. The attendant at the reception desk was very helpful and informative, but the dining staff could've used some more smiles and friendliness. They were sullen and not welcoming.
  • 69%
  • 27 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Very disappointed with the staff! All staff working at the reception were rude and mean! Not even a smile.. They might be New Yorker, it's not a reason to be unprofessional and unfriendly with customers. They talked to me like if I was an idiot, maybe because I'm young or because I'm French but I'm definitely not stupid..! Hopefully I stayed one night. Good points : warn room and comfy bed, good location Bad points : rude and inaccessible staff, not very clean, basic breakfast.
  • 49%
  • 26 Mar 2016 Anonymous
  • Was really disappointed . There's no wifi in the room . Which is very essential for the traveller. We still have to go down in the dining areas to have Internet connection . Very troublesome!!!
  • 54%
  • 20 Mar 2016 Dante Philippines
  • Very nice .
  • 80%
  • 18 Mar 2016 Sayed USA
  • Fantastic location, wasn't aware it came with free breakfast which was really good. Easy and simple to get everything sorted.
  • 97%
  • 18 Mar 2016 Andrew New Zealand
  • The staff was the worst ever, specially this guy called Larry, I came over to the front desk to complain about the WI-FI and He told me that I wanted to check out the door was right there, so rude and such a bad behaviour, Avoid This Hostel To The Max because They Can barely offer Internet, definetely my worst experience in New York City and I have been there more than 10 times, the good part is location and that's it nothing more !
  • 40%
  • 11 Mar 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • Thanks for providing good stay at Chelsea !! It's worth to stay at this place only for resting at night. Rooms are good and clean. We had good breakfast as well.
  • 83%
  • 04 Mar 2016 Raghunath India
  • What a wonderful place! Beautiful courtyard, great neighborhood, staff is friendly and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 03 Mar 2016 Lee USA
  • The wifi is the problem, doesn't work in the dorms.
  • 77%
  • 15 Feb 2016 caroline
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »