See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 146 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • For the most part I enjoyed my stay in the Chelsea International Hostel, the room was a little smelly but it was clean at least, shower had good pressure! Breakfast was very basic but that's all you need right?
  • 69%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • I very much enjoyed my stay at the Chelsea International Hostel. Having never stayed in a hostel before I had my doubts and concern but with friendly staff, great fellow travellers and wonderful facilities and events, made it a very comfortable stay. The best thing about this hostel is it's location - just off 8th Avenue, made it very easy to get into Times Square, while having enough in the surrounding streets to entertain stayers for days. Would definitely stay here again :)
  • 83%
  • 29 Dec 2015 Caitlyn Australia
  • Everything was perfect, location, service, price.
  • 100%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • They can put soap in toilets. Otherwise it was great.
  • 83%
  • 23 Dec 2015 BERKAY Turkey
  • 2 bugs appeared first day under my bed, staff is unfriendly and nobody inform us that hostel doesnt accept credit card payment some of my friends had no cash the day we arrived. Basically hotel staff is not helpfull at all.
  • 20%
  • 23 Dec 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • No hot water in shower/bathroom any time of the day for the three days. Wi-fi signal was never strong enough to hold a connection at any time, even for standard web page searching.
  • 77%
  • 23 Dec 2015 John USA
  • loaction was pretty good. quite near to the subway, so you can go to most of the attractions in NY by subway. but the hostel was really really old: small, narrow,dark and no wifi in your room, so you have to go to the public area to use the wifi. the bathroom was small. one of the workers i met the first day was not patient and friendly. but in NY, everything is expensive, so the price is reasonable anyway.
  • 57%
  • 17 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • The staff in the reception are a little rude. The clean could be better. If you only want a place to sleep for a low price it ok.
  • 69%
  • 03 Dec 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • the staff here is always very accommodating, and the location cannot be beat!
  • 83%
  • 01 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was in a single room, perfect! Bagels for breakfast and close to the Empire State. :) I will recommend it
  • 83%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Jennifer Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »