See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 133 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had an amazing stay here. Was beyond impressed!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2016 Leah USA
  • Clean place at a low price with a perfect location! Would def go back
  • 89%
  • 10 Feb 2016 Jenny
  • Much more room with far Fewer Beds in each room than when I've stayed there in the Past, Also added a Bagel, Cereal and either an Apple or Banana for Breakfast. Mattresses and Pillows were comfortable, Had some issues with Hot Water a couple times but all in a Good Stay.
  • 91%
  • 14 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Having in mind that it is Manhattan, the price is barely decent. The staff is rude and reluctant to help. I would consider it a choice again only if there is no other decent hostel available, otherwise I would recommend to look for better options.
  • 40%
  • 07 Jan 2016 Andres Colombia
  • For the most part I enjoyed my stay in the Chelsea International Hostel, the room was a little smelly but it was clean at least, shower had good pressure! Breakfast was very basic but that's all you need right?
  • 69%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • I very much enjoyed my stay at the Chelsea International Hostel. Having never stayed in a hostel before I had my doubts and concern but with friendly staff, great fellow travellers and wonderful facilities and events, made it a very comfortable stay. The best thing about this hostel is it's location - just off 8th Avenue, made it very easy to get into Times Square, while having enough in the surrounding streets to entertain stayers for days. Would definitely stay here again :)
  • 83%
  • 29 Dec 2015 Caitlyn Australia
  • Everything was perfect, location, service, price.
  • 100%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • They can put soap in toilets. Otherwise it was great.
  • 83%
  • 23 Dec 2015 BERKAY Turkey
  • 2 bugs appeared first day under my bed, staff is unfriendly and nobody inform us that hostel doesnt accept credit card payment some of my friends had no cash the day we arrived. Basically hotel staff is not helpfull at all.
  • 20%
  • 23 Dec 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • No hot water in shower/bathroom any time of the day for the three days. Wi-fi signal was never strong enough to hold a connection at any time, even for standard web page searching.
  • 77%
  • 23 Dec 2015 John USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »