See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 225 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wonderful place. Better than any other place I've stayed in the city. The food was especially better than expected, and I wouldn't have survived this time of year without the window unit AC. That was a very pleasant bonus. In addition, the staff was always super cheerful, helpful, and pleasant. I did kill 2 roaches in the shared bath over the course of 12 days. But seeing ONLY two roaches (both tiny) is an impressive feat in old buildings in the city. Good thatmyou keep food out of the rooms!
  • 97%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, booked last minutes so choice was limited. Despite mixed reviews I opted for this option. Initially had two nights booked, private room with en suite. Terrible first night's sleep due to a outer door constantly slamming. I had to chase reception three times to fix it. In all fairness, it was sorted and a slept well. I actually extended my stay for two more nights.
  • 74%
  • 25 May 2015 andy England
  • Would definitely stay again for my next visit. Paul
  • 94%
  • 24 May 2015 PAUL USA
  • Felt fairly safe due to lock on the room door, availability of locker inside the room for storing valuables, and a locker system in the lower level to store suitcases prior to check-in so I could sight-see for a few hours. It was reassuring that a local police precinct office was less than half a block away. Be prepared to carry your luggage up one or two flights of steep stairs. Simple but filling breakfast. Internet only available until 11:00 PM. Room air conditioners are a huge plus!
  • 74%
  • 22 May 2015 AnneMarie USA
  • I think it is great that there is a simple, reasonable alternative to the high priced NYC hotels. I am NYC to be in the city, not to sit around my hotel. The hostel had everything I needed.
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Larry was fantastic! Our first night he gave us a few recommendations for dinner and going out the the highline. All were just what we were looking for
  • 100%
  • 20 May 2015 Samantha USA
  • The staff are not so polite. It is very well located.
  • 57%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • It was an okay Hostel, nor good nor bad. A little bit pricey but then again it is New-York. There was no A/C in the rooms which made my sleep uncomfortable. Wifi only in common area, theres none in the rooms, thats the only thing that could be improved.
  • 60%
  • 12 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The isn't a ventilator and air conditioning in the room, the noise of the street almost don't let you sleep. The staff are very kind.
  • 60%
  • 09 May 2015 ALBERT Brazil
  • Great locations but some of the staff were not very friendly. The rooms were tiny but clean. I had a good stay all in all!
  • 71%
  • 02 May 2015 Maria Victoria Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »