See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 125 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • 2 bugs appeared first day under my bed, staff is unfriendly and nobody inform us that hostel doesnt accept credit card payment some of my friends had no cash the day we arrived. Basically hotel staff is not helpfull at all.
  • 20%
  • 23 Dec 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • No hot water in shower/bathroom any time of the day for the three days. Wi-fi signal was never strong enough to hold a connection at any time, even for standard web page searching.
  • 77%
  • 23 Dec 2015 John USA
  • loaction was pretty good. quite near to the subway, so you can go to most of the attractions in NY by subway. but the hostel was really really old: small, narrow,dark and no wifi in your room, so you have to go to the public area to use the wifi. the bathroom was small. one of the workers i met the first day was not patient and friendly. but in NY, everything is expensive, so the price is reasonable anyway.
  • 57%
  • 17 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • The staff in the reception are a little rude. The clean could be better. If you only want a place to sleep for a low price it ok.
  • 69%
  • 03 Dec 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • the staff here is always very accommodating, and the location cannot be beat!
  • 83%
  • 01 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was in a single room, perfect! Bagels for breakfast and close to the Empire State. :) I will recommend it
  • 83%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Jennifer Spain
  • I absolutely loved my stay at Chelsea International Hostel. It is in a very safe located. There is a police station across the street, as well as a Starbucks. There are subway stations, stores, and restaurants everywhere you turn. I found the staff very pleasant, room and facility clean, and the room was very affordable.
  • 100%
  • 27 Nov 2015 Asia USA
  • This is a fine place to stay, and also a place where you can meet fellow travellers. Clean and good location. I could definitively stay here at my next exit. The hostel would probably increase visitors utility by improving the internet signals, and make more effort in common area to make it more feasible for travellers to socialize (at least when it is to cold to sit outside).
  • 71%
  • 21 Nov 2015 Jostein Norway
  • Everything was good! Our double room was perfect for us. Clean bathrooms and toilets
  • 83%
  • 21 Nov 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Couldn't have picked a better location; perfect for walking and excellent transport links, but that's what you're paying for - the accommodation is pretty basic and tired. That being said, if you're spending all your time in your room or the hostel here then you're wasting your New York experience! All rooms, including the bathrooms, are lacking in shelving and hooks. Seriously. Someone needs to do a trip to the hardware store! Having no hooks or shelving in the shower room was a nightmare!
  • 74%
  • 17 Nov 2015 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »