See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 231 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Bad things : Administrator is really grumpy and don't have patience with intetnational people, They close the common areas at 1100 so you cannot share with the other people of the hostel too much time
  • 69%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Anonymous Chile
  • WiFi signal coverage needs a lot of work. The Wednesday night free pizza was very as was the free stand up comedian on Tuesday.
  • 71%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Theodore USA
  • The desk boy actually told me to f... My self after I asked him something he already told me, at 2am, that was after scolding me for ringing the bell door (even with the sign at the door saying "please ring the bell"). The blanket was full of people hair.
  • 43%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Tiago Brazil
  • great value for ny good posistion
  • 80%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • This is basic accommodation but fine for the price! Breakfast is included which is adequate, bagel (lovely toasted twice!) piece of fruit,butter and jam. There is also unlimited coffee or tea and cereal (corn flakes) and milk, which was absolutely fine for me. Hostel is only 2 blocks from a metro so you can start your adventure there. Also there are plenty of places to eat nearby if you want to be closer to home after food/drink, just look around to find something that suits!
  • 83%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Anonymous England
  • That hostel is definitely not used to its full potential. The problem is the lack of vision. It would not take much to change the appearance of the rooms: Freshen up the walls with a new coat of paint, add some pictures, exit the ugly old metal lockers and above all, exit the old beds in iron with old spring mattresses, so discomfortable that I had to sleep on the floor, this is unacceptable! Why not buy comfortable and inexpensive beds with foam mattresses? Continue below...
  • 86%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Christine Canada
  • Hotel and location was fine. But no internet other than in one little room seems a bit old school. Other than that is was fine but the price was the issue. For a hostel is was really expensive. So fine hostel, but no value for money
  • 63%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • friendly staff, good atmosphere. thanks for the hospitality.
  • 89%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • Tiny room but what can you expect in NYC :)
  • 71%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Anonymous Israel
  • The people in the front office were helpful and kind. The others staying at the hostel were loud in the halls. My room was on the street so my stay included street noises that in NYC do not stop. Bathrooms and showers were clean and cleaned. I felt safe. My room was warm as it got cold during my time in the city, so that was good.
  • 83%
  • 17 Oct 2014 tracey USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »