See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 230 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel has a high security level, which is good. But it comes on the expense of other things, like Internet. Unfortunately in the 21th century the internet in the hostel is just in the breakfast area and it closes at 11pm - which means no internet after this hour! That's very inconsiderate for tourists from other countries who want to call their families and can't. In addition all the common areas close at 11pm and if you want to put/take something from the fridge its impossible as well.
  • 71%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Vered Israel
  • I and my friend stayed at a double-bed room. the room was clean. There was AC. No TV. The bathroom and toilette was very clean. We had to buy our soap though. Location wise, it was great. We also fouind free parking on 20th avenue. If i visit nyc again, I might consider staying at a private room again.
  • 83%
  • 30 Aug 2014 SERDAR Canada
  • While the Staff was nice, the breakfast tasted good and the courtyard was acceptable, the room was really bad. The A/C was taped under the window, but you could still stick your hand outside. Bathrooms are really old and pretty dirty. There was nothing to hang your towel or something in the room. Bed was lower than average (squeaky and uncomfortable) compared to other hostels we used in our trip. Early checkout (because we couldn't stand the room) was easy and professionally handled.
  • 57%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I've cancelled my booking about 1 month prior to travel and up to now I did not receive my money back.
  • 20%
  • 27 Aug 2014 VITOR Brazil
  • I enjoyed my stay in Chelsea International Hostel. The facilities were clean and everything was ordered. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location was great it was very easy to get to the main parts of town and also it was easy to get to the airport JFK. I enjoyed everything except that my room had view to the street and sometimes it was hard to sleep with so much noise but other than that it was a nice place to stay
  • 83%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Gabriela
  • Simple, just ok.
  • 80%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I've stayed here multiple times. Works every time. Rooms are basic and beds are reasonably good. Good hostel for a reasonable price. Thanks again!
  • 86%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Elias Finland
  • Kinda grubby. I only stayed there because it was the only place available on a last minute booking. Its not necessarily unsanitary, but the building and beds and lockers are just pretty old and run down. No bed bugs or anything real gross. I'll never stay there again. For that kind of money I can go to a half-dozen other hostels that are cleaner and a bit nicer for LESS money. Wi-fi decent. Location is decent, but with the subway system I'd go somewhere nicer and just commute.
  • 54%
  • 14 Aug 2014 BRanon Canada
  • I thought accommodation would be quite basic and had some concern re security and cleanliness. The facilities were not only cleaned every day, but the shared toilets and showers were disinfected daily, no trash anywhere, staff was polite and helpful and the overall atmosphere was inviting and friendly. Breakfast every day was sufficient and free pizza occasionally. Wi-Fi in the common area is a good way to stay connected to the outside, as well as to other guests. Great experience; will be back!
  • 86%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Corina USA
  • Adequate for my minimalist travel needs. The bed was firm and comfy, the shower and bathroom were very clean, and the location was perfect walking distance from the subway and the Flatiron building. Will definitely consider returning to this hostel whenever I return to NYC.
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Emmanuel Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »