See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 214 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Perfect location to be away from the craziness of Times Square! Bed super comfy
  • 91%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Christopher France
  • It's basically a bed in a room that you're getting. Because it's NY they can pass as a cheap place to sleep, but the common areas aren't inclusive or welcoming. It isn't very good for meeting people, and the internet barely works and only in the basement common rooms, which is inconvenient! I stayed at another hostel the following few nights where they had a great layout conducive to hanging out with other hostellers, that had events suggested and was a lot more sociable. Bathrooms were gross.
  • 49%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Good location. This is an average hostel. The kitchen is too small for the amount of people that are in the hostel. No mirrors in the bathrooms that are diveded by shower in one room, sink in another. Room are good enough to sleep.
  • 66%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • Great steal for the location. A little cramped, but still clean. Fresh towels given, and bathroom is cleaned every morning. Only 10 minutes walk from the nearest subway!
  • 80%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The location of hostel is really good. Reasonable price including breakfast. Very recommendable!
  • 100%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • This place is awesome. They clean everyday and the staff is awesome. There is a police station across the street from you. It's in the gay neighborhood which shouldn't be a problem because that leads to less crimes. Pizza parties on Wednesday hosted by the staff. The free breakfast is bagels, fruit, corn flakes, juice and coffee. The E train is just west and north 3 blocks and the 1 train is east and south 2 blocks. Great location only 20 min walk to times square. I recommend this place fully.
  • 91%
  • 26 Feb 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • This place was amazing. we were so happy, and we are totally coming back Great location, the room was always clean and members of the staff are seen cleaning everyday. Great staff (they even booked a shuttle for us) the rooms were what promised. Downsides: The shades on the windows dont work really well a lot of light came in during the morning so it was hard to sleep. A bit noisy and we saw some guys going out to the roof one night, rules are not really followed.
  • 94%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Florencia Argentina
  • Great location. Not noisy at all, in the middle of manhattan, near the subway, was very easy to move everywhere. Breakfast was fine. The room was clean but the lockers were too small. The atmosphere was nice but some members of the staff (just some of them) were not that nice or helpfull. The common area closes at 11pm: that isn't good when you are sitting on the table drinking a beer, talking or using the wifi.
  • 66%
  • 16 Feb 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • O pessoal do hostel, salvo raras exceções é muito solicito. A localização é excelente. No entanto, a limpeza dos quartos deixou a desejar.
  • 71%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Room was sufficient; however, I really wish the room had a small table (one would fit in the corner at the window). And two pillows, not just one. I needed to recoup in my room and found it difficult to work on computer or prop up without room amenities. I traveled in February and the room was plenty warm during a very cold winter.
  • 86%
  • 06 Feb 2014 SUSAN USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »