See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 76% from 201 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The room was good and the area was great because it is across from police. So Safe, yes. Our only issue which was unforeseen was that the hot water was turned off due to a hot water heater issue. Room was clean, people were nice and the common areas were well kept. The media area could be better because the printer wasn't working due to water damage.
  • 89%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Upon our first day arrival, the way that front desk agent talked is like a police officer! But, he does answered all the questions we asked, about airport shuttle bus and metro maps. We only stayed for 2 nights, the cleaning lady is really nice, she did a very good job, the restroom is actually very clean. However, the cleanliness of bed sheets are so so/ tolerance. I recommended to bring personal bed sheets, if you are particular with details alike me. overall, I think money we paid worth
  • 69%
  • 02 Jun 2015 XI China
  • I had single room. Everything was clean. Decent place if you need just place to stay overnight while exploring NY City.
  • 97%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Milada Czech Republic
  • Wonderful place. Better than any other place I've stayed in the city. The food was especially better than expected, and I wouldn't have survived this time of year without the window unit AC. That was a very pleasant bonus. In addition, the staff was always super cheerful, helpful, and pleasant. I did kill 2 roaches in the shared bath over the course of 12 days. But seeing ONLY two roaches (both tiny) is an impressive feat in old buildings in the city. Good thatmyou keep food out of the rooms!
  • 97%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, booked last minutes so choice was limited. Despite mixed reviews I opted for this option. Initially had two nights booked, private room with en suite. Terrible first night's sleep due to a outer door constantly slamming. I had to chase reception three times to fix it. In all fairness, it was sorted and a slept well. I actually extended my stay for two more nights.
  • 74%
  • 25 May 2015 andy England
  • Would definitely stay again for my next visit. Paul
  • 94%
  • 24 May 2015 PAUL USA
  • Felt fairly safe due to lock on the room door, availability of locker inside the room for storing valuables, and a locker system in the lower level to store suitcases prior to check-in so I could sight-see for a few hours. It was reassuring that a local police precinct office was less than half a block away. Be prepared to carry your luggage up one or two flights of steep stairs. Simple but filling breakfast. Internet only available until 11:00 PM. Room air conditioners are a huge plus!
  • 74%
  • 22 May 2015 AnneMarie USA
  • I think it is great that there is a simple, reasonable alternative to the high priced NYC hotels. I am NYC to be in the city, not to sit around my hotel. The hostel had everything I needed.
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Larry was fantastic! Our first night he gave us a few recommendations for dinner and going out the the highline. All were just what we were looking for
  • 100%
  • 20 May 2015 Samantha USA
  • The staff are not so polite. It is very well located.
  • 57%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »