See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 222 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • These are older facilities - so they're small with quirks like two single power outlets, poor wifi and limited common area. That said, the location is wonderful, breakfast is included, the staff was helpful and if you're just needing a place to sleep (bring earplugs) in a fun part of the city this is a great deal. This is my second time to this hostel and I'm planning on coming back to it again the next time I'm in New York.
  • 89%
  • 26 Mar 2015 Ariel USA
  • Great little place if you're a single traveler just looking for somewhere to sleep and take a shower (and eat a simple breakfast) to continue your travels/exploration. The room was very warm and the shower water pressure was fantastic for a hostel. The shower is a bit on the small side, however, with "just enough" room. I would recommend if you don't plan on spending much time chilling in your room and plan on spending most of your day exploring NY this would be a great option for you.
  • 100%
  • 22 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The guy who I think is the owner was not polite at all when I came to do check-in. The WiFi is available only in the common area, which works just until 11 pm. The heater was making noise most part of the night. However, I admit the room was very clean, the location is perfect and the breakfast was good. Therefore, I classify this hostel between average and good.
  • 77%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Second time i've stayed at this hostel and it's great. We didn't really need anything the whole stay so my only interaction with the staff was during our check in/out but the guy was very friendly and helpful. the rooms are basic: bed, locker, heater but they are clean as a whistle. did not feel uncomfortable at all. we had an ensuite bathroom and there was a second sink which was very convenient for two girls getting ready in the am. perfect location, will be back.
  • 91%
  • 10 Mar 2015 ashley USA
  • very good
  • 74%
  • 07 Mar 2015 julio Argentina
  • Two bed room, F8, was excellent. There was enough room for two. One bed privates though are scary small, my friend described it as; "It looks like a prison room, I will never stay in such a room", it was for room F3. It would be great if the rest rooms also have a sink.
  • 89%
  • 28 Feb 2015 selen Turkey
  • The Hostel has a good location to explore the city. Poor breakfast, even limited to one Bagel and a fruit per Person. Very cold bathroom. If you're looking for the cheapest: that's it, but you have to live with the bad condition of the hostel. No real socializing opportunities...
  • 60%
  • 27 Feb 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • There are a few things that I dislike about this place: 1. Cleanliness, this place is kind of dirty; The toilet is terrible. My towel looked like it wasn't even washed. The bed sheet had stains on it. 2. Atmosphere, It is not a very social place 3. Facilities, The shower was terrible. The shower was barely just warm enough. It was very uncomfortable
  • 54%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I usually heard noises in the building about 6 a.m. and 7 a.m.
  • 89%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Jaime Spain
  • there is a pipe inside a 2 beds bedroom which gets really hot and then it gets cold, for some reason. and from where it comes from, i dont know, theres a noise every now and then even in the middle of the night, in which, its like someone is banging or hitting the pipe or it sounds like somebody is working on a pipe. i dont understand the noise. its just very annoying especially at midnight. we cant sleep.
  • 69%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Mufti Philippines
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »