See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 231 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • You're not going to love the place, but it's not terrible and the location is pretty convenient. It's a little overpriced for anywhere else, but Manhattan the pricing is acceptable. And that seems to be the ultimate goal of the place, to be acceptable. It doesn't always reach that goal, but if all you want is somewhere to sleep and a central base for a few days, it should do the job.
  • 57%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Dean Canada
  • there is a paper from the hotel saying they are not responsible for all the security issue. Location is good because it is almost in the center of New York City. Staff, they changed a lot. some are good, some not. Atmosphere is good, not created by the staff, but by the roomate in the entire hotel. in the common area, every night, people gather together and chat, that is a lot of fun! Cleanliness is good except the strange smell of the towel. Facilities are really old.
  • 60%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I twisted my ankle during my trip and asked for a room on the first floor to avoid the stairs, but it seemed like the guy at the reception didn't care about it and just said there was no room. The room (2-bed dorm) is SO small that I could barely walk with other person beside and my bed was a little bit crooked, awful room. The breakfast was just ok. The hostel is located in a central area and it's very close to the subway 18th station (red line) or 23th station (blue line).
  • 57%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great value and location.
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Victoria USA
  • The location is the best thing, if I'll go back in NY I would go there again. The hostel is pretty clean, I mean, it is always an hostel. The Wifi works only in the shared area and is pretty slow. The breakfast is ridiculous, few basic stuff. I had a double private room. It was very essential but it served me pretty well. There was air conditioning and it was pretty silent. Considering the prices in NY I think it is really convenient.
  • 86%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Giorgio Italy
  • The hostel is near the subway, which allows you to go anywhere! The rooms are clean and staff are really helpful. There's a lot of places around, where you can buy anything you might need; such as pharmacies, restaurants, markets... Great hostel!
  • 91%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I found the staff to be singularly unhelpful. They had a breakfast every morning from 8 am to 10 am. I had got held up one morning, and could make it down only at 10:02 am and was not allowed to eat, with the person there pointing at his watching saying I am 2 minutes late. I mentioned it at the reception as well, to see if it was an isolated individual, but they again said, that since it was 10: 03 am by this time, they can't let me take any of the food. Within their rights, but poor service.
  • 63%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anindya India
  • The location is great. Staff was nice & helpful. YET, when I entered the hostel an elderly man stood at the reception and complained about bedbugs. He babbled about blood and squishing the bugs, which was pretty disturbing. To be fair, I found NO bugs in my room. The room was very small which did not bother me. I just had a hard time sleeping because it was quite noisy in the building. The sanitary facilities were not great but okay. Altogether: a cheap option and passable for 2 nights.
  • 66%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Alexandra Germany
  • Decent hostel with basic facilities. Helpful staff. Breakfast was not that great. Wifi only worked from the common area, which was a cozy backyard containing benches. Stayed in a private single-bed room that was very spartan with a bed, sink and airconditioning.
  • 66%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Nilaus
  • Thank you to the kind staff!
  • 80%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Stephanie Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »