See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 75% from 223 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fantastic location and good value for money. NYC is expensive and it's hard to tell when you're getting a good deal or not… Chelsea International seemed to be the right price! Bit of a pain dragging my bags up the stairs though… but that's just me being lazy!
  • 80%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Guida
  • If you can happily endure very run-down facilities, it is a great deal for a private room in Manhattan. I would stay there again.
  • 71%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The beds were good, but it was a very loud hostel you could here people talking and climbing the stairs while trying to sleep. Showers were tiny with not much pressure. Breakfast was provided and good.
  • 69%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Gemma Australia
  • When i reserved the place i thought that it would strange, i was afraid. But then, when i arrived at the hostel, it was so different and i enjoyed every minute.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • That's a nice hostel in a wonderful location. I could go walking everywhere I wished
  • 91%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • It's so unpleasant experience that I didn't like New York any more! There was a very bad man working at the front desk. He behaved like a psycho, yelled at me , and threatened me that let me sleeping in snow. Actually it was definitely his fault. It was he that didn't understand what happened and refused to listen to my explanation. I won't forget his attitude which I never met before from an employee at any hostel in the world. I promise I'll never stay in that hostel again. Horribly!
  • 43%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Lu China
  • Location is really good, there are food places near by as well as a bunch of the metro lines that can take you to heaps of places in NY. Stayed in a 2 room and it was good, lots of space and clean. Quite pricey but I guess everything is in NY.
  • 83%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Samantha New Zealand
  • The staff was not nice and unwilling to help.
  • 49%
  • 19 Jan 2014 cristina Spain
  • I will be back with these great prices and convenient location
  • 69%
  • 19 Jan 2014 zachary USA
  • breakfast was less than typical and late, after 8am. the staff looks like greek civil servants. they were at least rude. no space in front of reception, you cannot stand. no atmosphere. compare to NYC rates, the hostel is value for money though.
  • 57%
  • 17 Jan 2014 Anonymous Greece
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »