See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 229 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The accommodations were what I needed: private, comfortable temperature, affordable, quiet, good bed, secure and in a good location. The amenities were not fancy, but I didn't come to New York to spend time in my room. The young, intrepid fellow travelers were friendly, worldly and interesting. Of course, as with most 20-somethings, many were focused on their cell phones. But I got several talking about their experiences at the (provided) continental breakfast in the common area.
  • 97%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very good service, nice staff, great food, and affordable price! Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 11 Jan 2015 Anonymous Armenia
  • Wifi just work in the common areas. The breakfast isn't good and if some food or drink end, they don't replace. The building is too old.
  • 54%
  • 09 Jan 2015 MARCELO Brazil
  • I am very satisfied by this Hostel. Online Booking was easier than the others Hostel required to pay for 2 or four beds. The Atmosphere was great. It is really International because I met people from Japan, Brazil, Argentina, USA and lot of Europeens. This is a grey place to stay and please do not discuss the 10.00 USD security deposit It will be return to you when checking out. For Budget Hostel in New York, I recommend Chelsea.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jan 2015 raymond USA
  • the WiFi is bad!
  • 94%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Maria Jose Mexico
  • Personal was nice, everything else were terrible!!!!!! Never never book 4 people room!!!
  • 20%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Anna Ukraine
  • The place was great for what I needed - just one night in the city between adventures that was affordable and in a good part of the city in a great neighborhood with lots to do nearby at night. The only issue I had was that even with the radiator turned completely off, the room was really hot. Not sure if I was doing something wrong but I just opened the window (although it was like 25F outside) to cool it down a bit.
  • 86%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Gary USA
  • Always love this place! Very happy too that when I arrived before 2pm that my room was already ready! Accomodations were better than expected (I forgot I had booked a single ensuite) very nice! Nice neighborhood, helpful staff...everything you could want plus a full kitchen so I could store food etc.
  • 97%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Location was really great BUT Wifi was not working at all for 3 days I stayed there.
  • 54%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Patricia Germany
  • Great location and facilities! Good breakfast and atmosphere!
  • 94%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Malka Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »