See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 219 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pricey for a hostel, but that's what NYC is. I felt that the lock of the door was not very good, but everything went ok. Room was warm, even hot, a bit too hot for my taste. Soundproof was pretty poor. Location great.
  • 69%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Virve Finland
  • Not so friendly staff. When I arrived NYC I was shocked by the staff at the reception. So rude and not friendly at all. No explanations for breakfast or other activities. When somebody leaves the hostel very early in the morning they changed the bed while I was sleeping. They could wait until 12 am but they did not. They gave me a room with a lot noise. The bathroom on the 3 floor did not work. Résumé nothing good except the price and the location. I was not happy at all.
  • 34%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Kenan Belgium
  • The hostel is really very clean. But the common areas are not cool.at 11 pm they close them although you are having dinner or using wifi!!! There is no curfew but you have to be quiet after 11 pm. It is a pity that there is not a cool area to enjoy with other guests ( at least in winter) staff is kind.
  • 80%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Anonymous Argentina
  • staff at front desk varied in skills, abilities and friendliness kitchen facilities were totally inadequate no under 18 policy not met breakfast service badly organised
  • 57%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Julie Australia
  • It was clean and the location was good but the atmosphere was cold and the staff sarcastic and not very welcoming at all
  • 60%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • Smelled terrible, bathrooms were dirty, rooms had no privacy since the walls were so thin.
  • 49%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I like that there are only two people per room and there's a sink in the room - it's a great perk for the price. Breakfast is simple but substantial. It's not a pretty place, it's a good place to stay for a few days nonetheless.
  • 83%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Anonymous Vietnam
  • Amazing location!! We walked the whole weekend, we didn't need public transportations once! And we had the bathtooms in the bedroom! + breakfast included. Only thing bring your own towels and remember your passport even if you're usa citizen. Great value for money!
  • 74%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • very secure, because right across from a police substation--the block is always full of lounging policemen.
  • 100%
  • 10 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first time to stay at Chelsea International Hostel. I had a single room, which was very spartan--a bed, a sink, some shelves, and a couple of lockers--but so what? When I walked out onto the street, I was in Chelsea! How much better than that does it get? It will definitely not be my last time to stay there.
  • 89%
  • 04 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »