See other New York properties

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 73% from 237 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The place is quite nice and what is more important: clean. It´s one of the few that offers breakfast and it´s close to different subway entrances what makes it very easy to get to everywhere. The staff is always willing to help you with anything you need and recommend places to visit.
  • 91%
  • 01 May 2014 Daiana Argentina
  • The staff are nice and helpful, no air-con which made me sweating in night. The location is perfect and really safe in night.
  • 91%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • 2 floors no elevator, old building very ruined
  • 29%
  • 24 Apr 2014 Pablo Argentina
  • Staff was abrupt and rude. They didn't even try to hide their contempt for their guests. Found a better place, will never go back.
  • 49%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Neil USA
  • The staff is friendly and responsive. The room and bed are clean. Everything you need for good night's rest.
  • 80%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • this is not a good choice to save some money in NYC. AC was not working, old and noisy bed, dirty bathroom, unsafe lockers and the breakfast is terrible...
  • 49%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Tiago Andres Brazil
  • The rooms are separated in a variety of buildings with different entrances. The reception was also closed during points of the day so you had to detour through other areas to get to common space. The lounge was closed and kitchen/dining room cramped for number of guests. The staff weren't very friendly and didn't explain anything on arrival.
  • 63%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Jessica England
  • + very good location: close to the subway station, centr of manhattan! very polite staff. include breakfast and wifi! - very small room. general bath, but not very clean!!
  • 86%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Natalia Russia
  • Everything was great. Clean bedrooms, nice staff and a very good location. You can go everywhere from thr hostel. I would definetly come back.
  • 100%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Murilo Brazil
  • It's a simple place. The room is equipped with bed(s), sink and locker. It's not made for comfort but it is a cheap place to sleep! I liked the location. The staff were really nice.
  • 80%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Jacob USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »